Searching library resources
Once you have added sections in your reading list, you can start adding citations to each section by searching library resources.
1. Click the ADD ITEMS + button and then select Library Search.
2. Type in the title, authors or keywords at the box to retrieve results from FIND@HKUL.
3. Select the relevant resource, use the drop down menu to locate the section you want to add the item to, and click Add to list and then ADD.
Alternatively, drag and drop the relevant item to the reading list so they appear in the order you desire.
4. The resource has been added to the reading list.
5. Drag citation up and down to arrange the order you desire on the list.
Tagging citations
You can add tags to a citation as additional notes of citations to students. All tags are set and managed by the Libraries.
1. Go to a citation and click Add tags to item.
2. Select a tag from the drop-down menu and click Save.
Leaving comments in Library Discussion
Leave a comment on the item in the Library Discussion if you would like the library staff to take action. For example, the item should be placed in course reserve collection or extra copies of the title are recommended. Students will not be able to see this part.
The library staff will also respond to your comment in Library Discussion. You will be alerted by the Notification on the left panel of ReadingList@HKUL to read the new comment. Comment can either be left on an item under Library Discussion or on the reading list level.
Using Cite It!
The "Cite It!" bookmarklet allows you to add a web page or an item on a web page directly to your reading list. You need to add the bookmarklet to your web browser first.
1. Go to your username on the top right corner of the page and click the drop-down menu, and select Cite It!.
Notes on using the Cite It! Bookmarklet:
- You need to sign into ReadingList@HKUL when using the bookmarklet
- Check your browser window to ensure that pop-ups are enabled
2. Here you can see the list of all the sites supported by the bookmarklet. This list gets updated on a regular basis. Simply drag and drop the CITE IT! button to your bookmark panel and you are ready to start adding web citations.
3. Go to the website you would like to add to your reading list, click the "Cite It!" bookmarklet and a pop-up appears with the website's details. Edit the item details and choose either add to My Collection, making it available to add to your lists later, or add directly to a particular reading list and section.Select ADD AND CLOSE.
Leaving comments in Library Discussion
Leave a comment on the item in the Library Discussion if you would like the library staff to take action. For example, the item should be placed in course reserve collection or extra copies of the title are recommended. Students will not be able to see this part.
The library staff will also respond to your comment in Library Discussion. You will be alerted by the Notification on the left panel of ReadingList@HKUL to read the new comment. Comment can either be left on an item under Library Discussion or on the reading list level.
Adding your files into the reading list
You may choose to upload your own files to ReadingList@HKUL.
1: Click the ADD ITEM + con and select Blank Form. Fill out the relevant fields.
2: Click the drop-down menu under Type to indicate the type of resource you are adding. If it is an online resource, add the URL in the Source field.
3: Upload your local file by drag and drop. Once uploaded, you will be prompted to declare the copyright status.
4: Optionally, add a student note for the resource, which can be viewed by students.
5: Select the section you want to add the file to and click ADD.
2. The file can be downloaded or viewed online (If the URL is put in the Source field). Public note will be shown under the title.
Leaving comments in Library Discussion
Leave a comment on the item in the Library Discussion if you would like the library staff to take action. For example, the item should be placed in course reserve collection or extra copies of the title are recommended. Students will not be able to see this part.
The library staff will also respond to your comment in Library Discussion. You will be alerted by the Notification on the left panel of ReadingList@HKUL to read the new comment. Comment can either be left on an item under Library Discussion or on the reading list level.
Importing to My Collection
You can import a list of resources from reference management software by exporting the citations in RIS format. The RIS file can be added to My Collection before adding to the reading list.
1. Go to Collection at the top left corner.
2. Click on the ellipsis button and select Import at the top left of the reading list page.
3. Drag and drop the RIS file to the batch import and click CONFIRM.
4. To add the imported file from My Collection to the reading list, open the reading list, and click the ADD ITEMS + icon and select Collection. Drag and drop the item to the relevant section of the list.
Leaving comments in Library Discussion
Leave a comment on the item in the Library Discussion if you would like the library staff to take action. For example, the item should be placed in course reserve collection or extra copies of the title are recommended. Students will not be able to see this part.
The library staff will also respond to your comment in Library Discussion. You will be alerted by the Notification on the left panel of ReadingList@HKUL to read the new comment. Comment can either be left on an item under Library Discussion or on the reading list level.
Add Directly to a Section
The RIS file can be imported directly to a section of your list.
Go to the section that you would like to add the RIS file. Click on the ellipsis button and then select Import and upload the file.
Leaving comments in Library Discussion
Leave a comment on the item in the Library Discussion if you would like the library staff to take action. For example, the item should be placed in course reserve collection or extra copies of the title are recommended. Students will not be able to see this part.
The library staff will also respond to your comment in Library Discussion. You will be alerted by the Notification on the left panel of ReadingList@HKUL to read the new comment. Comment can either be left on an item under Library Discussion or on the reading list level.
Using My Collection
My Collection is an area where you can save citations for future use.
There are a few ways to add citations to My Collection:
- 1. Add items via the "+" icon, which allows you to search library recourses or upload your own files
- 2. Import RIS file to My Collection (Refer to the page RIS file)
- 3. Select Add to Collection when adding the web resources using Cite It! Bookmarklet​
Leaving comments in Library Discussion
Leave a comment on the item in the Library Discussion if you would like the library staff to take action. For example, the item should be placed in course reserve collection or extra copies of the title are recommended. Students will not be able to see this part.
The library staff will also respond to your comment in Library Discussion. You will be alerted by the Notification on the left panel of ReadingList@HKUL to read the new comment. Comment can either be left on an item under Library Discussion or on the reading list level.
Removing Items in My Collection
To remove an item from My Collection, tick the box to select the unwanted item. Then click the ellipsis button on the top and select Delete selected items .
Leaving comments in Library Discussion
Leave a comment on the item in the Library Discussion if you would like the library staff to take action. For example, the item should be placed in course reserve collection or extra copies of the title are recommended. Students will not be able to see this part.
The library staff will also respond to your comment in Library Discussion. You will be alerted by the Notification on the left panel of ReadingList@HKUL to read the new comment. Comment can either be left on an item under Library Discussion or on the reading list level.
Using Tags in My Collection
You can also create tags for items saved in My Collection, which can be used for filtering or searching. These tags are only visible to you, and will not be shown when the items are moved to a reading list.
Leaving comments in Library Discussion
Leave a comment on the item in the Library Discussion if you would like the library staff to take action. For example, the item should be placed in course reserve collection or extra copies of the title are recommended. Students will not be able to see this part.
The library staff will also respond to your comment in Library Discussion. You will be alerted by the Notification on the left panel of ReadingList@HKUL to read the new comment. Comment can either be left on an item under Library Discussion or on the reading list level.