Criteria and considerations to choose a research topic:
Relevance and significance:
Choose a topic that is relevant to your field of study and has practical importance. Consider whether the review will address a gap in knowledge, inform decision-making, or contribute to the existing evidence base.
Research interest:
Select a topic that aligns with your research interests and expertise. It is crucial to be genuinely interested and motivated to carry out a comprehensive review.
Feasibility:
Assess the feasibility of conducting a systematic review on the chosen topic. Consider factors such as the availability of relevant studies, access to necessary data, time constraints, and available resources (including budget and expertise).
Research question clarity:
Ensure that the research question is clear, specific, and answerable. A well-defined question will guide the entire review process and help maintain focus.
Scope and manageability:
Define the scope of your review by considering the population, intervention/exposure, comparison, and outcomes (PICOS) criteria. This will help narrow down the research question and ensure the review is manageable within the available resources.
Existing evidence base:
Assess the current literature to determine if there are already systematic reviews or meta-analyses available on the topic. Analyze their findings to identify potential research gaps or areas that need further exploration. If a systematic review on a particular topic already exists, it is essential to evaluate whether it is worth revisiting the topic and consider the quality of the existing systematic review.
Practical implications:
Consider the practical implications of your review. Will the findings have implications for policy-making, clinical practice, or future research? Evaluating the potential impact of the review can help prioritize topics with real-world applications.
Time and resources:
Evaluate the time and resources available for conducting a systematic review. Keep in mind the scope of the topic, the size of the literature, and the complexity of the review process. Ensure that the topic is manageable within the allocated time frame and available resources.
PICO
PICO is an acronym that stands for Population, Intervention, Comparison, and Outcome. PICO is used as a framework to define the key elements of the research question and guide the search strategy for identifying relevant studies. Here's a breakdown of each component:
| P | Patients or Populations |
-the target group of people (age, gender, ethnicity) e.g. Asian women aged 20-40 |
| I | Intervention |
-treatment, exposure, stimulation e.g. Injection of HPV vaccine |
| C | Comparison or Control |
-control treatment, pre-exposure, standard control e.g. Without injection of HPV vaccine |
| O | Outcome |
-result of comparison e.g. The efficacy of HPV vaccine protecting Asian women aged 20-40 from HPV exposure. |
To effectively formulate a research topic, it is recommended to search for relevant publications and assess their suitability for conducting a systematic review. To specifically search for systematic reviews and meta-analyses, you can utilize the "ARTICLE TYPE" filter. By selecting the corresponding checkboxes, the search results will display articles categorized as systematic reviews and meta-analyses.
Medline is a bibliographic database maintained by the United States National Library of Medicine (NLM) that covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and healthcare. It provides access to a vast collection of biomedical literature, including journal articles, research reports, conference proceedings, and more. Medline includes publications from around the world and is updated daily, making it a valuable resource for healthcare professionals, researchers, and students seeking the latest evidence-based information on medical and healthcare topics. Its sophisticated search features allow users to filter and refine their search results and easily access full-text articles through linkages to other online resources. Medline is widely recognized as a valuable and trusted source of biomedical information.
Web of Science is an online academic citation database that provides access to a vast collection of scholarly literature across multiple disciplines, including science, social sciences, arts, and humanities. It indexes high-quality journals, conference proceedings, and books, and also offers citation analysis tools that allow users to track citation patterns and identify influential articles, authors, and institutions. Web of Science is widely used by researchers, students, and professionals seeking to stay up-to-date on the latest research trends and developments in their fields. Its advanced search features, inclusion of a wide range of literature sources, and citation analysis tools make it a valuable resource for scholarly research and discovery.
Scopus is a comprehensive abstract and citation database that covers a wide range of academic disciplines, including science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and humanities. It provides access to a vast collection of scholarly literature, including journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, and patents. Scopus offers powerful search capabilities, allowing users to easily locate relevant research articles, track citations, and identify key authors and institutions in their respective fields. It also provides metrics such as citation counts, h-index, and SJR to assess the impact and quality of research publications. Scopus is widely used by researchers, academics, and professionals to discover new research, monitor scholarly trends, and evaluate the impact of their own work. With its comprehensive coverage and advanced features, Scopus is a valuable tool for academic research and analysis.
| Contact Info: |
| Yu Chun Keung Medical Library 21 Sassoon Road, Pokfulam Hong Kong, China Tel: 3917-9215 Fax: 2855-9343 |
| Email-a-Librarian |
