In-depth reference materialsLooking for concise informationOpera and Musical
DisciplinaryJournal articles in ChineseInterdisciplinary
Listening and Viewing OnlineCDs / DVDs
Introduction to Arts Administration
Film Music
Music and the Mind
World Music
Beethoven facsimiles
Brahms facsimiles
Novels & biographical novels about Music & Musicians
Topics in Western Music History I
Fundamentals of Tonal Music
Jazz: History and Appreciation
Popular Music
The Opera
Rare Scores
Schubert facsimiles
Mozart facsimiles
Topics in Western Music History III
e-books
e-journalse-journals with BrowZine
GuQin
GuQin BooksGuQin ScoresAudiovisual materials
This is the "Music and the Mind" page of the "MUSIC" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MUSIC   Tags: music  

Last Updated: Sep 22, 2017 URL: http://libguides.lib.hku.hk/music Print Guide RSS Updates

Music and the Mind Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General

   Aiello, Rita, and John Sloboda, eds.

   Musical Perceptions.

    New York: Oxford University Press, 1994. 

   Call number: Music 781.11 M98 a2 

 

 

 

    Butler, David.

   Musician's Guide to Perception and Cognition.

    New York: Schirmer Books, 1992.

   Call number: Music 781.11 B98 m9

 

  

 

    Clarke, Eric.

   Ways of Listening: An Ecological Approach to the

   Perception of Musical Meaning.

    New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.

   Call number: Music 781.17 C59 w3

 

 

    Clarke, Eric, and Nicholas Cook, eds.

   Empirical Musicology: Aims, Methods, Prospects.

    Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2004.

    Call number: Music 780.72 E55 C5

 

 

 

    Davies, John Booth.

   The psychology of music.

    London: Hutchinson, 1980.

    Call number: Music 781.15 D25

 

 

 

   Deliège, Irène, and John A. Sloboda.

   Perception and cognition of music.

   Hove, East Sussex: Psychology Press, 1997.

   Call Number: Music 781.11 P42 and ebook

 

 

 

   Deutsch, Diana, ed.

   The psychology of music.

   Amsterdam : Academic Press. 3rd ed., 2013.  

   Call Number: Music 781.15 D48

 

 

 

   Dowling, W. Jay, and Dane L. Harwood.

   Music cognition.

   San Diego: Academic Press, 1986.

   Call Number: Music 781.15 D74  

 

 

 

   Francès, Robert.

   La perception de la musique.

   Paris: J. Vrin, 1984.

   Call Number: X 780.1 F8

 

 

 

    Krumhansl, Carol.

    Cognitive Foundations of Musical Pitch.

    Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1990.

    Call Number: X 781.11 K9

 

 

 

    Lehmann, Andreas C., John Sloboda, and Robert H.
    Woody.

   Psychology for musicians: understanding and
   acquiring the skills. 2007.
 

    Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2006.

   Ebook 

 

 

   Seashore, Carl Emil.

   The Psychology of Music.

   New York: McGraw-Hill, 1938.

   Call Number: Music 781.15 S43 p

 

 

 

   Sloboda, John.

   The Musical Mind: the cognitive psychology music. 

   Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1985.

   Call Number: Music 781.15 S63  

 

 

 

   Sloboda, John.

   Exploring the Musical Mind: Cognition, Emotion, Ability,

   Function.

   Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2005.

   Call Number: Music 781.11 S63 e9

 

 

   Thompson, Bill.

   Music, Thought & Feeling: Understanding the Psychology

   of Music.

   New York: Oxford University Press, 2009.

   Call Number: Music 781.11 T47 m9

 

 

 

   Yi, Suk Won, ed.

   Music, Mind and Science.

   Seoul: Seoul National University Press, 1999.

   Call Number: Music 781.11 M98 Y

 

 

 

 

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

   Grove Music Online comprises New Grove Dictionary
   of Music & Musicians (2001), New Grove Dictionary of
   Opera (1992) and New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2002),
   which provide scholarly articles and biographies. These
   are considered the most authoritative reference materials

   for its full-text scholarly writings and bibliographies.

   New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians (2001)

   Call number: MuR 780.3 G88   

   Location: at the back of the Reserve Collection

 

   A Dictionary of Psychology features coverage of key
   areas, like cognition, sensation, perception, and emotion,
   in concise explanations.
       

 

 

 

 

 

Theses & Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I (since 1861) is the most comprehensive source of its kind. It offers abstracts, citations and 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.

Digital Dissertation Consortium (since 2001) provides abstracts, citations and full-text dissertations.

 

Online databases

RILM abstracts of Music Literature Online, a core music databases, features citations, abstracts, scholarly articles, festschriften, conference proceedings and reviews.

ERIC provides scholarly articles of pedagogy in musical instruments (e.g. piano pedagogy or Suzuki method) and music education.

JSTOR features well-known scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, research areas include music in China, Japan, Korea and Southeast Asian countries. The latest 5 years published issues are not available.

PsycINFO provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books and dissertations.

Science Direct contains full-text journal articles in the life, physical, and social science, as well as music cognition and emotion.

Web of Science includes scholarly full-text articles in multidisciplinary contents, where you can find e.g. aesthetics and music, psychoacoustic and music.

Project MUSE contains full-text journal articles in the humanities and social sciences, specific areas like film studies, cultural studies, and gender as well. 

 

Journals

Musicae Scientiae: The Journal of the European Society for the Cognitive Science of Music

~ Print  v.13 (2009) - v.15 (2011)

~ Online coverage: via Sage Journals Online v.9 (2005) -
 
 

Music Perception

~ Print  v.8 (1991) - v.22, no.2 (2004)

~ Online coverage: via ProQuest v.19, no.3 (2002) -
 
                            via IIMP FullText v.1, no. 1 (1983) - v.8, no. 4 (1991); v.21,
                            no.3 (2004) -
 
                            via JSTOR v.1 (1983) - up to 5 years back from latest is
                            issued
 
  
Psychology of Music
 

~ Print  v.1 (1973) - v.36, no.4 (2008)

~ Online coverage: via IIMP Fulltext v.24, no.1 (1996) - v.34, no.4 (2006)
 
                            via Sage Journals Online v.1 (1973)-
 
  

Psychomusicology

~ Print  v.1 (1981) - v.19 (2007)

~ Online coverage: via IIMP Fulltext v.18 (2002) - v.19, no.2 (2007)
 
                            via PsycARTICLES (ProQuest) v. 1 (1981)-
 
 

Musica Humana

~ Print  v.1 (2009)

 

 

How to cite your sources

When you cite resources properly, readers can follow your thoughts and your meticulous research work is shown as well. There are some citation styles and you may wish to seek your professor’s preference before getting started. Once you have chosen a style, it is important to be consistent.

   The Chicago Manual of Style, 16thed.

   Call number: MuR 808.0270973 C53

   For online version, the Quick Guide features two basic
   documentation systems: 1. notes & bibliography
   2. author-date.

 

 

 

   Publication Manual of the American Psychological

   Association, 6thed.

   Call number: MuR 808.06615 P9 

    For online version, please visit here for reference.

 

 

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip