For details, click here.
| Online access | Main Library, 1/F Old Wing (Library Use Only) | |
|
Grove Music Online comprises New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians (2001), New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992) and New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2002), which provide scholarly articles and biographies. These are considered the most authoritative reference materials for its full-text scholarly writings and bibliographies. |
 |
New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians (2001) 29 volumes Call number: MuR 780.3 G88 Location: Music Western Reference Books
|
 |
New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992) 4 volumes Call number: MuR 782.103 N53 Location: Music Western Reference Books
|
|
 |
New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2002) Call number: MuR 781.6503 N532 k 3 volumes Location: Music Western Reference Books
|
|
|
|
 |
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG) is an authoritative encyclopedia of music, written in German. It offers in-depth articles on every aspect of music as well as many related areas such as literature, philosophy, and visual arts. Call number: MuR 780.3 B6 29 volumes Location: Music Western Reference Books |
The Oxford history of Western Music is written by Richard Taruskin
Volume 1 The earliest notations to the sixteenth century
Volume 2 The seventeenth and eighteenth centuries
Volume 3 The nineteenth century
Volume 4 The early twentieth century
Volume 5 The late twentieth century
Volume 6 Resources: chronology, bibliography, master index
Call number: MuR 780.9 T19 o9
Location: Music Western Reference Books
New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments describes Western and non-Western musical instruments
of all ages in the context of instrument families. Photos are accompanied by brief illustrations.
Call number: MuR 781.9103 N5
3 volumes
Location: Music Western Reference Books
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music provides full-length scholarly articles of the following continents.
Volume 1 Africa
Volume 2 South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean
Volume 3 The United States and Canada
Volume 4 Southeast Asia
Volume 5 South Asia: the Indian subcontinent
Volume 6 The Middle East
Volume 7 East Asia: China, Japan, and Korea
Volume 8 Europe
Volume 9 Australia and the Pacific Islands
Volume 10 The world's music: general perspectives and reference tools
Call number: MuR 780.9 G23 N4
Location: Music Western Reference Books
For the accompanying CDs of musical examples, search at Find@HKUL.
Encyclopedia of Popular Music features topics of jazz, rap and techno. Entries of biographies and
groups include record labels, release dates and a 5-star album rating system for reference.
