Music: Disciplinary

Music Periodicals Database

RILM

RIPM

For details, click here.

1.  How to get full-text articles and citations?

Click on the following icons on result pages of relevant databases.

2. How to search Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM), RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Online and Music Index Online?

Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM), RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Online and Music Index Online are provided by the same vendor. You can search these three databases simultaneously.

The route: Choose Databases > Select either one > OK

3.  Why "Print/Save" button cannot function in RIPM document  viewer?

Select statement “allow all site to show pop-ups” by clicking the block pop-ups icon  on the right hand corner of the address.

The HKU Libraries has subscribed these two electronic databases, which allow current students and staff to access a very wide coverage of writings on music, from 1760 to the present.

• RIPM (Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals) includes music articles published before 1967. 
• RILM Abstracts of Music Literature includes music publications issued in 1967 and after.

 “The 18th- and 19th-century periodicals treated by RIPM are often in a newspaper or magazine format with articles containing sections and subsections, and with many news items on a single page. The periodicals indexed in RILM Retrospective—the earliest of which date from the first half of the 19th century and continued to be published up to or after 1967—are often in a format similar to the scholarly journals of today, with articles containing a single title, a running head and footnotes. The different journal formats have led RIPM and RILM to choose different methods of providing access to their content.” (Source from http://www.ripm.org/index.php?page=RIPMandRILM)