Western Music in Context: A Norton History Series divide each period in a single handy book. Each anthology includes scores and analytical commentary. Use this when you want to have one specific period and its contents are cultural and social perspectives.
 |
Fassler, Margot. 2014. Music in the Medieval West. Call no.: Music 780.902 F249 m98 and its anthology
|
 |
Heller, Wendy. 2014. Music in the baroque. Call no.: Music 780.9032 H47 and its anthology
|
 |
Freedman, Richard. 2013. Music in the Renaissance. Call no.: Music 780.9031 F85 and its anthology
|
Oxford History of Western Music: college edition, a single thick one, is based on the six-volume work by Richard Taruskin.
| Textbook | Anthologies | CDs |
|
Taruskin, Richard, and Christopher Howard Gibbs. 2013. The Oxford history of Western music. New York: Oxford University Press. Call no.: Music 780.9 T19 o9 G
|
Rothenberg, David J., Robert R. Holzer, Klára Móricz, and David E. Schneider. 2013. Oxford anthology of Western music. New York: Oxford University Press. Call no.: Music 780.9 O98 R v.1-3 anthology Volume 1: The Earliest Notations to the early eighteenth Century Volume 2: The Mid-Eighteenth Century to the Late Nineteenth Century Volume 3: The Twentieth Century |
Taruskin, Richard. 2013. The Oxford recorded anthology of western music. Oxford: Oxford University Press. Call no.: Music 780.9 O98 r3 v.1-3 CD Volume 1: The Earliest Notations to the Early Eighteenth Century 2 CDs Volume 2: The Mid-Eighteenth Century to the Late Nineteenth Century 3 CDs Volume 3: The twentieth century 2 CDs |
"Taking a critical perspective that challenges the received wisdom of the field, Richard Taruskin sets the details of music, the chronological sweep of figures, works, and musical ideas, within the larger context of world affairs and cultural history."
 |
Taruskin, Richard. The Oxford History of Western Music. New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.
Call number: MuR 780.9 T19 o9 v.1-6
|
 |
Volume 1 The earliest notations to the sixteenth century
|
 |
Volume 2 The seventeenth and eighteenth centuries
|
Cattin, Giulio, and F. Alberto Gallo.
Music of the Middle Ages.
Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1984.
Christensen, Thomas Street.
The Cambridge History of Western Music Theory.
Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2002.
Everist, Mark.
The Cambridge Companion to Medieval Music.
Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2011.
Fenlon, Iain.
Studies in Medieval and Early Modern Music.
Cambridge: Cambridge University press, 1985.
Fiero, Gloria K.
The Humanistic Tradition, vol. 1.
Boston: McGraw Hill, 2015.
McKinnon, James W.
Antiquity and the Middle Ages: From Ancient Greece to the 15th Century.
Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Prentice Hall, 1991.
Palisca, Claude, and Donald J. Grout.
Norton Anthology of Western Music.
New York: Norton, 2014.
7th ed.
Strunk, W. Oliver, et al.
Source Readings in Music History.
New York: Norton, 1998.
Butt, John.
Playing with History: The Historical Approach to Musical Performance.
Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2002.
Kelly, Thomas Forrest.
Early Music: A Very Short Introduction.
New York: Oxford University Press, 2011.
Kenyon, Nicholas, ed.
Authenticity and Early Music: A Symposium.
Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 1988.
Leech-Wilkinson, Daniel., Mervyn.
The Modern Invention of Medieval Music: Scholarship, Ideology, Performance.
Cambridge; New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 2002.
Sherman, Bernard D.
“ Inside Early Music: Conversations with Performers.”
New York: Oxford University Press, 1997.
Barker, Andrew.
Greek Musical Writings.
Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1984.
Bundrick, Sheramy D.
Music and Image in Classical Athens.
New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 2005.
Comotti, Giovanni.
Music in Greek and Roman culture.
Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 1989.
Halliwell, Stephen.
The Aesthetics of Mimesis: Ancient Texts and Modern Problems.
Princeton, N.J. ; Oxford: Princeton University Press, 2002.
Heller-Roazen, Daniel.
The Fifth Hammer: Pythagoras and the Disharmony of the World.
New York: Zone Books : Cambridge, Mass. : Distributed by the MIT Press, 2011.
Mathiesen, Thomas J.
Apollo’s Lyre: Greek Music and Music Theory in Antiquity and the Middle Ages.
Lincoln, Neb.: University of Nebraska Press, 1999.
Murray, Penelope, and Peter Wilson.
Music and the Muses: The Culture of ‘Mousikē’ in the Classical Athenian City.
Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2004.
Nightingale, Andrea Wilson.
Spectacles of Truth in Classical Greek Philosophy: Theoria in Its Cultural Context.
Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2004.
Pollitt, J. J.
Art and Experience in Classical Greece.
Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1972.
Bent, Margaret, and Andrew Wathey.
Fauvel Studies: Allegory, Chronicle, Music, and Image in Paris, Bibliothèque Nationale de France, MS Français 146.
Oxford; New York: Clarendon Press, 1998.
Boynton, Susan, and Diane J Reilly (eds).
Resounding Images: Medieval Intersections of Art, Music, and Sound.
Turnhout [Belgium]: Brepols, 2015.
Busse Berger, Anna Maria.
Medieval Music and the Art of Memory.
Berkeley: University of California Press, 2008.
Butterfield, Ardis.
Poetry and Music in Medieval France: From Jean Renart to Guillaume de Machaut.
Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2002.
Carruthers, Mary J.
The Book of Memory: A Study of Memory in Medieval Culture.
Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2008.
Dillon, Emma.
Medieval Music-Making and the Roman de Fauvel.
Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2008.
Dillon, Emma.
The Sense of Sound: Musical Meaning in France, 1260-1330.
New York: Oxford University Press, 2012
Gaunt, Simon, and Sarah Kay.
The Troubadours: An Introduction.
Cambridge: Cambridge Universty Press, 2003.
Page, Christopher.
The Owl and the Nightingale: Musical Life and Ideas in France, 1100-1300.
Berkeley: University of California Press, 1990.
Peraino, Judith A.
Giving Voice to Love: Song and Self-Expression from the Troubadours to Guillaume de Machaut.
New York: Oxford University Press, 2012.
Pesce, Dolores.
Hearing the Motet: Essays on the Motet of the Middle Ages and Renaissance.
New York: Oxford Univ. Press, 2009.
Treitler, Leo.
With Voice and Pen: Coming to Know Medieval Song and How It Was Made.
Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2003.
Camiz, Franca Trinchieri, and Katherine A McIver.
Art and Music in the Early Modern Period: Essays in Honor of Franca Trinchieri Camiz.
Aldershot, Hants, England; Burlington, VT: Ashgate, 2003.
Charalampous, Charis.
Rethinking the Mind-Body Relationship in Early Modern Literature, Philosophy and Medicine: The Renaissance of the Body.
New York : Routledge, 2016.
D'Accone, Frank A.
The Civic Muse: Music and Musicians in Siena during the Middle Ages and the Renaissance.
Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1997.
Gersh, Stephen, Bert Roest, and Oriental Centre for Classical Medieval, and Renaissance Studies, eds.
Medieval and Renaissance Humanism: Rhetoric, Representation, and Reform.
Leiden; Boston: Brill, 2003.
Finucci, Valeria.
The Prince’s Body: Vincenzo Gonzaga and Renaissance Medicine.
Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 2015.
Haar, James, and Paul E Corneilson.
The Science and Art of Renaissance Music.
Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University Press, c1998.
Judd, Cristle Collins.
Reading Renaissance Music Theory: Hearing with the Eyes.
Cambridge, UK; New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 2000.
Kirkman, Andrew.
The cultural life of the early polyphonic mass: medieval context to modern revival.
New York: Cambridge University Press, 2011.
Lockwood, Lewis.
Music in Renaissance Ferrara, 1400-1505: The Creation of a Musical Center in the Fifteenth Century.
Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press, 1984.
Lowinsky, Edward E, and Bonnie J Blackburn.
Music in the Culture of the Renaissance and Other Essays.
Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1989.
Meyer-Baer, Kathi.
Music of the Spheres and the Dance of Death: Studies in Musical Iconology.
Princeton : Princeton University Press, 1970.
Palisca, Claude V, Nancy Kovaleff Baker, and Barbara Russano Hanning.
Musical Humanism and Its Legacy: Essays in Honor of Claude V. Palisca.
Stuyvesant, NY: Pendragon Press, 1992.
Pirrotta, Nino.
Music and Culture in Italy from the Middle Ages to the Baroque: A Collection of Essays.
Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press, 1984.
Prins, Jacomien.
Echoes of an Invisible World: Marsilio Ficino and Francesco Patrizi on Cosmic Order and Music Theory.
Leiden: Brill, 2015.
Tomlinson, Gary.
Music in Renaissance Magic: Toward a Historiography of Others.
Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1993.
Vendrix, Philippe.
Music and the Renaissance: Renaissance, Reformation and counter-Reformation.
Farnham, England: Ashgate Publishing Ltd., 2011.
 |
Early Music History is devoted to the study of music from the early Middle Ages to the end of the seventeenth century. It gives preference to studies pursuing interdisciplinary approaches and to those developing new methodological ideas. The scope is broad and includes manuscript studies, textual criticism, iconography, studies of the relationship between words and music, and the relationship between music and society. Year coverage: 2001 – |
 |
Early Music is a stimulating and richly illustrated journal and is unrivaled in its field. Founded in 1973, it remains the journal for anyone interested in early music and how it is being interpreted today. Contributions from scholars and performers on international standing explore every aspect of earlier musical repertoires, present vital new evidence for our understanding of the music of the past, and tackle controversial issues of performance practice. Year coverage: 1973 – |
Magazine
 |
New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians
| Online access | Music Collection, 1/F Main Library Old Wing (Library Use Only) | |
|
Grove Music Online comprises New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians (2001), New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992) and New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2002), which provide scholarly articles and biographies. These are considered the most authoritative reference materials for its full-text scholarly writings and bibliographies. |
 |
New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians (2001) 29 volumes Call number: MuR 780.3 G88 Location: Reference Collection
|
 |
New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992) 4 volumes Call number: MuR 782.103 N53 Location: Reference Collection
|
|
|
MGG Online, an online platform enables full functionality on mobile & tablet devices and provides automatic translations from German into over 100 languages via Google Translate integration. It also provides cross references linking related content throughout MCC Online. |
 |
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG) is an authoritative encyclopedia of music, written in German. It offers in-depth articles on every aspect of music as well as many related areas such as literature, philosophy, and visual arts. Call number: MuR 780.3 B6 29 volumes Location: Reference Collection
|
Music Databases
|
|
||
|
Year Coverage |
1760-1966 |
1967-present |
|
Subject Coverage |
|
|
|
Strengths |
|
|
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I (since 1861) is the most comprehensive source of its kind. It offers abstracts, citations and 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.
Digital Dissertation Consortium (since 2001) provides abstracts, citations and full-text dissertations.
Do you know you need to cite sources in writing your academic papers? Otherwise, your readers would begin to doubt that you would have plagiarized. Academic honesty and academic excellence go hand in hand. You may watch the following videos to learn what constitutes plagiarism, how to cite sources using practical tools and how to check for originality with Turnitin. The videos are produced jointly by the HKU TELI and HKU Libraries.
What is Plagiarism? (a handbook)
Turnitin checks your work for potential plagiarism.
When you cite resources properly, readers can follow your thoughts and your meticulous research work is shown as well. There are some citation styles and you may wish to seek your professor’s preference before getting started. Once you have chosen a style, it is important to be consistent.
The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th ed.
Call number: MuR 808.0270973 C53
For online version, the Quick Guide features two basic documentation systems: 1. notes & bibliography 2. author-date.
Other citation styles, e.g. APA, MLA
How to Cite Film, Video and Online Media (from UC Berkeley)
How to Cite Miscellaneous Sources: Music or Sound Recording (from the Yale Writing Center)
