Music: Course Guides: Fundamentals of Tonal Music

   Kostka, Stefan M., and Dorothy Payne.

   Tonal Harmony: With an Introduction to Twentieth-century Music.

   New York: McGraw-Hill, 2009.

   Call number: Music 781.25 K86 t6

   Aldwell, Edward, and Carl Schachter. 

   Harmony & Voice Leading.

   Australia: Thomson/Schirmer. 4^thed., 2011.

   Call number: Music 781.25 A36 h2

   Cadwallader, Allen, and David Gagné.

   Analysis of Tonal Music: A Schenkerian Approach.

   New York: Oxford University Press, 1998.

   Call number: Music 781 C12 a5

   Caplin, William Earl.

   Analyzing Classical Form: An Approach for the Classroom.

   New York: Oxford University Press, 2013.

   Call number: Music 784.18 C244 a5

   Gauldin, Robert.

   Harmonic Practice in Tonal Music.

   New York: W.W. Norton, 2004.

   Call number: Music 781.25 G26 h2

   Turek, Ralph.

   Theory for Today's Musician.

   Boston: McGraw-Hill, 2007.

   Call number: Music 781 T93 t3

   Santa, Matthew.

   Hearing Form: Musical Analysis With and Without the Score.

   New York: Routledge, 2010.

   Call number: Music 781.8 S23

   Rameau, Jean Philippe.

   Treatise on Harmony.

   New York: Dover, 1971.

   Call number: Music 781.3 R17  

New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians / New Grove Dictionary of Opera

Online access	Print@ Music Collection, 1/F Main Library Old Wing (Library Use Only)
Grove Music Online comprises New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians (2001), New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992) and New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2002), which provide scholarly articles and biographies. These are considered the most authoritative reference materials for its full-text scholarly writings and bibliographies.		New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians (2001)    29 volumes    Call number: MuR 780.3 G88    Location: Reference Collection

   Music Analysis

    “is published by the Society for Music Analysis (SMA).”

    ~ Print v.1 (1982)-v.26 (2007)

    ~ Online via JSTOR v.1 (1982) up to 10 years back from latest issue published-

                     via Academic Search Premier v.22, no.1/2 (2003)-delay 12 months

                     via Wiley Online Library v.18, no.1 (Mar. 1999)-

   Music Theory Spectrum

   post-tonal theory, linear analysis, rhythm, music cognition, and the analysis of popular musics.”

    ~ Print v.1 (1979)-v.13 (1991)-v.14, no.1 (1992); v.15 (1993)-v.26 (2004)

    ~ Online via JSTOR v.1 (1979) up to 3 years back from latest issue published-

                                                  via ProQuest v.28, no.1 (2006)-v.34, no.2 (2012)

                                                  via IIMP FullText v.26, no.1 (2004)-v.34, no.2 (2012)

                                                  via Oxford Journals v.18 (1996)-

   Journal of Music Theory

    ~ Print v.27 (1983)-v.33 (1989)-v.34, no.1 (1990); v.35 (1991); v.36, no.2 (1992); v.37 (1993)-v.47 (2003); v.49 (2005)-v.51,                    no.1 (2007); v.52 (2008)

    ~ Online via JSTOR v.1 (1957) up to 5 years back from latest issue published-

                                                  via the web v.43 (1999)-

   Music Theory Online

    “includes articles, reviews, commentaries, and analytical essays.”

    ~ Online via Academic Search Premier v.18, no.1 (2012)-

                   via the Open access journal

Music Online features audio and video collections of classical music, jazz, opera and world music captured on video through live performances.