Skip to Main Content

Music: Course Guides: World Music

Featured books in various areas

Africa
 

   Barz, Gregory F.

   Music in East Africa: experiencing music, expressing culture.

   New York: Oxford University Press, 2004.

   Call number: Music 781.629676 B29

   Call number: Music 780.9519 M98  DVD

 

    Muller, Carol Ann.

   Focus: Music of South Africa.

   New York: Routledge, 2008.

   Call number: Music 780.968 M95

   Call number: Music 780.968 M95 CD

 

 

   Stone, Ruth M.

   The Garland handbook of African music.

   New York: Garland, 2000.

   Call number: Music 780.96 G23 S87

   Call number: Music 780.96 G23 S87 CD

 

 

    Stone, Ruth M.

   Music in West Africa: experiencing music, expressing culture.
   New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.

   Call number: Music 780.966 S87

   Call number: Music 780.966 S87 CD

 

 

China

    Lau, Frederick.

   Music in China: experiencing music, expressing culture.

   New York: Oxford University Press, 2008.

   Call number: Music 780.951 L366 m98

 

 

 

   Liang Mingyue.

   Music of the Billion: An Introduction to Chinese
   Musical Culture.

   New York: Heinrichshofen, 1985.

   Call number: Music 781.751 L69

 

 

    Thrasher, Alan R.

   Chinese musical instruments.

    New York: Oxford University Press, 2000.

   Call number: Music 784.1951 T529 c

 

 

 

 

India and Islamic World

   Mutatkar, Sumati.

   Aspects of Indian music.

   New Delhi: Sangeet Natak Akademi, 2006.

   Call number: Music 780.954 A83

 

 

 

    Ruckert, George.

   Music in North India: experiencing music, expressing culture.
   New York: Oxford University Press, 2004.

   Call number: Music 780.954 R912 m

   Call number: Music 780.954 R912 m CD

 

    Sarrazin, Natalie Rose.

   Indian music for the classroom.

    Lanham, MD.: Rowman & Littlefield Education:
   Published in partnership with MENC, 2009.

   Call number: Music 780.954 S247 i39

 

 

    Wade, Bonnie C.

   Music in India: the classical traditions.

   New Delhi: Manohar, 2001.

   Call number: Music 780.954 W11 m9

 

 

 

    Viswanathan, T., and Matthew Harp Allen.

   Music in South India: the Karṇāṭak concert tradition
   and beyond: experiencing music, expressing culture.

    New York: Oxford University Press, 2004.

   Call number: Music 780.9548 V83 m9

   Call number: Music 780.9548 V83 m9 CD

 

 

Indonesia

   Gold, Lisa.

   Music in Bali: experiencing music, expressing culture.

    New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.

   Call number: Music 780.95986 G61 m9

   Call number: Music 780.95986 G61 m9 CD
   [HKU Music has a Balinese Gamelan]

 

 

    Harnish, David D., and Anne K. Rasmussen.

   Divine inspirations: music and Islam in Indonesia.

    New York: Oxford University Press, 2011.

   Call number: Music 780.9598 D61

 

 

 

    Spiller, Henry, and Henry Spiller.

   Focus: Gamelan music of Indonesia.

   New York: Routledge, 2008.

   Call number:  Music 780.9598 S75 f

   Call number:  Music 780.9598 S75 f CD

 

 

Inner and Central Asia

   Harris, Rachel.

   The making of a musical canon in Chinese Central
   Asia: the Uyghur Twelve Muqam.

    Aldershot, England; Burlington, VT: Ashgate, 2008.

   Call number: Music 780.8994323 H313 m23

   Call number: Music 780.8994323 H313 m23 CD

 

    Light, Nathan.

   Intimate heritage: creating Uyghur muqam song in
   Xinjiang.

  Berlin: Lit, 2008.

   Call number: Music 780.8994323 L72 i6

 

 

   Rees, Helen.

   Lives in Chinese music.

   Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2009.

   Call number: Music 780.92251 L78  

   This books has chapter articles on Muqam and
   Mongolian musicians.
 
 
 
Japan
 

   Wade, Bonnie C.

   Music in Japan: experiencing music, expressing
   culture.

    New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.

   Call number: Music 780.952 W11 m9

   Call number: Music 780.952 W11 m9 CD
 
 

 

    De Ferranti, Hugh.

   Japanese musical instruments.

    New York: Oxford University Press, 2000.

   Call number: Music 784.1952 D31 j3

 

 

 

    Malm, William P., and William P. Malm.

   Traditional Japanese music and musical instruments.

   Tokyo: Kodansha International, 2000.

   Call number: Music 784.1952 M256 t7

   Call number: Music 784.1952 M256 t7 CD

 

 

Korea

   Howard, Keith.

   Korean musical instruments.

   Hong Kong: Oxford University Press, 1995. 

   Call number: Music 784.19519 H85

 

 

 

   Lee, Byong Won, and Yong-sik Yi.

   Music of Korea.

   Seoul, Korea: National Center for Korean Traditional  Performing Arts, 2007.

   Call number: Music 780.9519 M98

   Call number: Music 780.9519 M98  DVD

 

   Kwon, Donna Lee.

   Music in Korea: experiencing music, expressing culture.
    New York: Oxford University Press, 2012.

   Call number: Music 780.9519 K98

   Call number: Music 780.9519 K98 CD

 

 

Latin America

   Baker, Geoffrey, and Tess Knighton.

   Music and urban society in colonial Latin America.

   Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2011.

   Call number: Music 306.4842098 M98

 

 

 

   Brill, Mark.

   Music of Latin America and the Caribbean.

   Boston, MA: Prentice Hall, 2011.

   Call number: Music 780.98 B85

 

 

 

   Olsen, Dale A., and Daniel Edward Sheehy.

   The Garland handbook of Latin American music.

   New York: Garland Pub, 2000.

   Call number: Music 780.98 G23 O5

   Call number: Music 780.98 G23 O5 CD

 

 

Southeast Asia

   Douglas, Gavin.

   Music in mainland Southeast Asia: experiencing music, expressing culture.

   New York: Oxford University Press, 2010.

   Call number: Music 780.959 D73

   Call number: Music 780.959 D73 CD

 

   Miller, Terry E., and Sean Williams.

   The Garland handbook of Southeast Asian music.

    New York: Routledge, 2008.

   Call number: Music 780.959 G23 M

   Call number: Music 780.959 G23 M CD

 

 

 

   Taylor, Eric Robert.

   Musical instruments of South-East Asia.

   Singapore: Oxford University Press, 1989.

   Call number: Music 784.1959 T23

 

 

Audio & Video

Listening Online
 
Smithsonian global sound for libraries provides the world’s musical traditions in collaboration with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings.
 
Naxos Music Library has world music and folk music.
 
 
Watching Video
 
The JVC/Smithsonian Folkways video anthology of music and dance of Africa.
 
    Yamamoto, Hiroshi, Stephen McArthur, Hiroshi

   Yoshida, Katsumori Ichikawa, and Yuji Ichihashi.

   [Japan]: JVC, Victor Co. of Japan, 2005.

                      with booklets

 

 

 

 

Repercussions a celebration of African-American music.

   Haydon, Geoffrey, Dennis Marks, and Penny Corke.

   Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities & Sciences,

   2003.

   Call number: Music 781.6296073 R42  v.1-7

 

 

 
Volume 1. Born musicians: traditional music from the Gambia
Volume 2. The drums of Dagbon
Volume 3. On the battlefield: gospel quartets in Jefferson County, Alabama
Volume 4. Legends of rhythm and blues
Volume 5. Sit down and listen: the story of Max Roach
Volume 6. Caribbean crucible
Volume 7. Africa come back: the popular music of West Africa

 

 

The JVC/Smithsonian Folkways video anthology of music and dance of the Americas. 

   Ohta, Hiroaki, Katsumori Ichikawa, Yuji Ichihashi, Hiroshi
   Yamamoto, and Yuki Okada.
 
 

   [Tokyo]: JVC, Victor Co. of Japan, 2005.

                      with booklets

 

 

 

 The JVC/Smithsonian Folkways video anthology of music and dance of Europe.

    Nakagawa, Kunihiko, Yuji Ichihashi, and Katsumori
   Ichikawa.
 
   [S.l.]: JVC, Victor Co. of Japan, 2005.
   
   Call number: Music 781.6294 J98  v.1-2 DVD
                      with booklets

 

 

 

 

Gagaku an important intangible cultural property of Japan.

   Tsuge, Genʼichi, Steven G. Nelson, Kazuo Okado,
   and Tōru Endō.
 

   Tokyo: Shimonaka Memorial Foundation, 2000.

                       with booklets
 
 
 
 
 
 
 The JVC video anthology of world music and dance.
 
    Ichikawa, Katsumori, Kunihiko Nakagawa, Yuji
   Ichihashi, and Tomoaki Fujii.
 

   Tokyo: JVC, Victor Co. of Japan, 2005.

                      with booklets
 
  
 
 
 

v. 1-2. Korea

v. 3-4. China

v. 5. China/Mongolia 

v. 6. Vietnam/Cambodia 

v. 7. Thailand/Burma 

v. 8. Malaysia/Philippines

v. 9-10.Indonesia

v. 11-13. India

v. 14. Pakistan/Bangladesh 

v. 15. Sri Lanka/Nepal/Bhutan

v. 16. Turkey/Iran/Iraq/Lebanon/Qatar

v. 17. Egypt/Tunisia/Morocco/Mali/Cameroon/Zaire/Tanzania

v. 18. Chad/Cameroon

v. 19. Ivory Coast/Botswana/Republic of South Africa

v. 20. Ireland/England/France/Switzerland/West

         Germany/Spain/Italy/Greece 

v. 21. Poland/Czechoslovakia/Hungary

v. 22. Romania/Yugoslavia/Bulgaria/Albania 

v. 23. Russia 

v. 24. Latvia/Estonia/Lithuania/Belorussia/Ukraine/Moldavia 

v. 25. Azerbaijan/Armenia/Georgia/Dagestan 

v. 26. Kazakh/Uzbek/Turkmen/Tajik/Kirgiz/Kalmyk/Mari/Bashkir/Siberia 

v. 27. North American Indians 

v. 28. Mexico/Cuba/Bolivia/Argentina

v. 29. Micronesia/Melanesia/Australia

v. 30. Polynesia/New Zealand

For other regions, the Music Library has audio and video materials. You
may search FIND@HKUL for your desired items.
 

 

How to cite your sources

When you cite resources properly, readers can follow your thoughts and your meticulous research work is shown as well. There are some citation styles and you may wish to seek your professor’s preference before getting started. Once you have chosen a style, it is important to be consistent.

   The Chicago Manual of Style, 16thed.

   Call number: MuR 808.0270973 C53

   For online version, the Quick Guide features two basic documentation          systems:
   1. notes & bibliography
   2. author-date.

 
 

Other citation styles, e.g. APA, MLA

How to Cite Film, Video and Online Media (from UC Berkeley)

(from the Yale Writing Center)

 

How to write

   Irvine’s writing about music.3rd ed.

   Call number: MuR 780.72 I72 w9

   Online version

 

 

 

General

   Bakan, Michael B.

   World music: traditions and transformations.

   New York: McGraw-Hill, 2012.

   Call number: Music 780.89 B16

 

 

 

    Bohlman, Philip Vilas.           

   World Music: a very short introduction.         

   Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2002.

   Call number: Music 780.9 B67 w9

 

 

 

    Broughton, Simon, Mark Ellingham, and Richard Trillo.

   World music: the rough guide.

   London: Rough Guides, 1999.

   Volume 1. Africa, Europe and the Middle East

   Volume 2. Latin and North America, Caribbean, India,

   Asia and Pacific.

   Call number: MuR 780.9 W92 B8

 

   Miller, Terry E., and Andrew C. Shahriari.

   World music: a global journey.

   New York: Routledge, 2012.

   Call number: Music 780.9 M65

   Call number: Music 780.9 M65 CDs

 

 

   Nettl, Bruno.

   Excursions in world music.

   Upper Saddle River, N.J.: Pearson, 2012.

   Call number: Music 780.89 E96 N4

 

 

 

   Titon, Jeff Todd, and Timothy J. Cooley.

   Worlds of music: an introduction to the music of the

   world's peoples.

   Belmont, CA: Schirmer Cengage Learning, 2009.

   Call number: Music 780.9 W92 T6

 

 

 

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

   The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music provides full
   -length scholarly articles of the following continents.

 

 

 

 

Volume 1. Africa 
Volume 2. South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean
Volume 3. The United States and Canada
Volume 4. Southeast Asia
Volume 5. South Asia: the Indian subcontinent
Volume 6. The Middle East
Volume 7. East Asia: China, Japan, and Korea
Volume 8. Europe
Volume 9. Australia and the Pacific Islands

Volume 10. The world's music: general perspectives and reference tools

Call number: MuR 780.9 G23 N4

For the accompanying CDs of musical examples, search at FIND@HKUL. 

 

   Grove Music Online comprises New Grove Dictionary
   of Music & Musicians (2001), New Grove Dictionary of
   Opera (1992) and New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2002),
   which provide scholarly articles and biographies. These
   are considered the most authoritative reference materials

   for its full-text scholarly writings and bibliographies. 

   New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians (2001)

   29 volumes, an entry of China is in volume

   Call number: MuR 780.3 G88