Auner, Joseph Henry.
A Music in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.
New York : W. W. Norton & Company, 2013.
Call number: Music 780.904 A926 m98
Burkholder, J. Peter, Claude V. Palisca, Donald Jay Grout, and Barbara Russano Hanning, eds.
A History of Western Music.
New York and London: W.W. Norton & Company. 9thed., 2014.
Call number: Music 780.9 G88
Hanning, Barbara Russano.
Concise History of Western Music.
New York: W. W. Norton & Company. 5thed., 2014.
Call number: Music 780.9 H24 c7
Morgan, Robert P., ed.
Twentieth-century music: a history of musical style in modern Europe and America.
New York: Norton, 1991.
Call number: Music 780.904 M84 t9
Taruskin, Richard.
The Oxford History of Western Music. Vol. 4. Music in the Early Twentieth Century.
New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.
Call number: MuR 780.9 T19 o9 v.4
Taruskin, Richard.
The Oxford History of Western Music. Vol. 5. Music in the Late Twentieth Century.
New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.
Call number: MuR 780.9 T19 o9 v.5
Taruskin, Richard, and Christopher Howard Gibbs.
The Oxford History of Western Music.
New York: Oxford University Press, 2013.
Call number: Music 780.9 T19 o9 G
Watkins, Glenn.
Soundings: Music in the Twentieth Century.
New York : Shirmer Books, 1988.
Call number: Music 780.904 W33
Cook, Nicholas, and Pople, Anthony, eds.
The Cambridge History of Twentieth-century Music.
Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2004.
Call number: Music 780.904 C17 C77
Griffiths, Paul.
Modern music and after.
New York: Oxford University Press, 2010.
Call number: Music 780.904 G85 m6m
Kostelanetz, Richard, Joseph Darby, and Matthew Santa.
Classic essays on twentieth-century music: a continuing symposium.
New York: Schirmer Books, 1996.
Call number: Music 780.904 C61 K8
Palisca, Claude V. and J. Peter Burkholder, eds.
A History of Western Music.
New York and London: W.W. Norton. 8thed., 2010.
Call number: Music 780.9 G88
Simms, Bryan R.
Music of the twentieth century: style and structure.
New York: Norton, 1996.
Call number: Music 780.904 S592 m
Whittall, Arnold.
Exploring Twentieth-century Music: Tradition and Innovation.
Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2003.
Call number: Music 780.904 W62 e9
Auner, Joseph Henry.
Anthology for Music in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.
New York: W.W. Norton & Company, 2013.
Call number: Music 780.904 A62 anthology
Morgan, Robert P., ed.
Anthology of twentieth-century music.
New York: W.W. Norton, 1992.
Call number: Music 781.0904 A62 t9
Palisca, Claude V. and J. Peter Burkholder, eds.
Norton Anthology of Western Music. 5h ed. Vol. 2, Classic to Twentieth Century.
New York and London: W.W. Norton, 2006.
Call number: Music 780.82 N88 P
Palisca, Claude V. and J. Peter Burkholder, eds.
Norton Recorded Anthology of Western Music. 6th ed. Vol. 2, Classic to Twentieth Century.
New York and London: W.W. Norton, 2010.
Call number: Music 780 N88 P1
Palisca, Claude V., and J. Peter Burkholder.
Norton recorded anthology of western music. Vol. 2, Classical to Romantic.
New York: Norton, 2014.
Call number: Music 780 N88 P1 v.2 DVD-ROM
Palisca, Claude V., and J. Peter Burkholder.
Norton recorded anthology of western music. Vol. 3, The Twentieth century and after
New York: Norton, 2014.
Call number: Music 780 N88 P1 v.3 DVD-ROM
Rothenberg, David J., Robert R. Holzer, Klára Móricz, and David E. Schneider.
Oxford anthology of Western music. Vol. 3, The Twentieth Century.
New York: Oxford University Press, 2013.
Call number: Music 780.9 O98 R v.3 anthology
Stolba, K Marie, and K Marie Stolba.
The development of Western music: an anthology.
Boston: McGraw-Hill, 1998.
Call number: Music 780.9 S87
New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians / New Grove Dictionary of Opera
| Online access | Music Collection, 1/F Main Library Old Wing (Library Use Only) | |
| Grove Music Online comprises New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians (2001), New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992) and New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2002), which provide scholarly articles and biographies. These are considered the most authoritative reference materials for its full-text scholarly writings and bibliographies. |  |
New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians (2001) 29 volumes Call number: MuR 780.3 G88 Location: Reference Collection
|
 |
New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992) 4 volumes Call number: MuR 782.103 N53 Location: Reference Collection
|
|
|
MGG Online, an online platform enables full functionality on mobile & tablet devices and provides automatic translations from German into over 100 languages via Google Translate integration. It also provides cross references linking related content throughout MCC Online. |
 |
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG) is an authoritative encyclopedia of music, written in German. It offers in-depth articles on every aspect of music as well as many related areas such as literature, philosophy, and visual arts. Call number: MuR 780.3 B6 29 volumes Location: Reference Collection |
Photos are accompanied by brief illustrations.
Call number: MuR 781.9103 N5
3 volumes
Location: Reference Collection
|
|
|||
|
Year Coverage |
1760-1966 |
1967-present |
1874-present |
|
Subject Coverage |
|
|
|
|
Strengths |
|
|
|
FAQs
Click on the following icons on result pages of relevant databases.
|
|
Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) |
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (RILM) |
Music Periodicals Database |
|
Full-text icons
|
|
|
|
|
|
|||
|
Cite icons |
|
||
Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) and RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Online are provided by the same vendor. You can search these three databases simultaneously.
The route: Choose Databases > Select either one > OK
Select statement “allow all site to show pop-ups” by clicking the block pop-ups icon 
on the right hand corner of the address.
An overview of RIPM & RILM
The HKU Music Library has subscribed these two electronic databases, which allow current students and staff to access a very wide coverage of writings on music, from 1760 to the present.
“The 18th- and 19th-century periodicals treated by RIPM are often in a newspaper or magazine format with articles containing sections and subsections, and with many news items on a single page. The periodicals indexed in RILM Retrospective—the earliest of which date from the first half of the 19th century and continued to be published up to or after 1967—are often in a format similar to the scholarly journals of today, with articles containing a single title, a running head and footnotes. The different journal formats have led RIPM and RILM to choose different methods of providing access to their content.” (Source from http://www.ripm.org/index.php?page=RIPMandRILM)
 |
Journal of Musicological Research “publishes original articles on all aspects of the discipline of music: historical musicology, style and repertory studies, music theory, ethnomusicology, music education, organology, and interdisciplinary studies.” ~ Print v.3, no.3 (1981)-v.10 (1990), v.11 (1991)-v.27, no.1 (2008); v.27, no.3 (2008)-v.27, no.4 (2008) ~ Online via Academic Search Complete v.18, no.1 (Nov 1998)-with a 18 month delay via Taylor & Francis v.1, no.1 (1973)- ~ BrowZine
|
|||||
 |
Journal of Musicology “is a peer-reviewed journal in the discipline, offering articles in every period, field and methodology of musicological scholarship.” ~ Print v.1 (1982)-v.19 (2002); v.22 (2005)-v.25 (2008) ~ Online via Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest) v.1, no.1 (1982)- via JSTOR v.1, no.1 (1982)-v.32, no.4 (2015) via ProQuest v.1, no.1 (1982)- via University of California Press Journals v.1, no.1 (1982)- ~ BrowZine
|
|||||
 |
Journal of the American Musicological Society (JAMS) “covers from historical musicology, critical theory, music analysis, iconography and organology, to performance practice, aesthetics and hermeneutics,ethnomusicology, gender and sexuality, popular music and cultural studies. Each issue includes articles, book reviews, and communications.” ~ Print v.1 (1948)-v.54 (2001); v. 56 (2003)-v.60 (2007) ~ Online via JSTOR v.1, no.1 (1948)-v.68, no.3 (2015) via ProQuest v.1, no.1 (1948)-v.65, no.3 (2012) via Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest) v.1, no.1 (1948)-v.65, no.3 (2012) via University of California Press Journals v.1 (1936)- ~ BrowZine
|
|||||
 |
Music & Letters “publishes articles on topics ranging from antiquity to the present day and embracing musics from classical, popular, and world traditions.” ~ Print v.72 (1991)-v.88 (2007) ~ Online via EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service v.83 (2002)-v.84 (2003) via Oxford Journals v.10, no.1 (1929)- via JSTOR v.1, no.1 (1920)-v.9, no.4 (2011) via Academic Search Complete v.77 (1996)- with a 12 month delay
|
|||||
 |
Twentieth-century Music “disseminates research on all aspects of music in the long twentieth century to a broad readership.” ~ Print v.1 (2004)- v.5 (2008) ~ Online via Cambridge Journals Online v.1, no.1 (Mar 2004)- via Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest) v.1, no.1 (2004)- ~ BrowZine |
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I (since 1861) is the most comprehensive source of its kind. It offers abstracts, citations and 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.
Digital Dissertation Consortium (since 2001) provides abstracts, citations and full-text dissertations.
When you cite resources properly, readers can follow your thoughts and your meticulous research work is shown as well. There are some citation styles and you may wish to seek your professor’s preference before getting started. Once you have chosen a style, it is important to be consistent.
The Chicago Manual of Style, 16thed.
Call number: MuR 808.0270973 C53
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6thed.
Call number: MuR 808.06615 P9
An online version visit here for quick reference.
Eco, Umberto.
How to write a thesis.
Cambridge, MA: The MIT Press, 2015.
Call number: Music 378.242 E19
Pinker, Steven.
The sense of style: the thinking person's guide to writing in the 21st century.
London: Allen Lane, an imprint of Penguin Books, 2014.
Call number: Music 808.042 P65
Music & Performing Arts, provided by Alexander Street Press, combines audio and video that spans all time periods.
Music Online: Classical Music Library, provided by Alexander Street Press, contains recordings from Gregorian Chant to contemporary composers’ works.
Naxos Music Library has classical music, historical recordings, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music.
IMSLP/Petrucci Music Library provides free public domain scores
allows you to track down full-text articles at HKU Libraries 
allows you to choose your desired citation styles, e.g. Chicago or APA.