The University of Hong Kong takes pride in its academic excellence and its outstanding students. In your academic journey, honesty is the foundation of your pursuit of knowledge. Whether in classrooms, laboratories, field sites, studios, or online, you, as students, are expected to conduct yourselves honestly and with integrity. One of your key responsibilities is to ensure that you properly credit the materials you use to develop your ideas and academic work. So, cite properly and avoid plagiarism. This is central to the value of academic honesty.
Join the online course ILT01 Information Literacy Training: Academic Honesty to learn:
Also take a look at the HKU Plagiarism webpage for more information and learning resources on plagiarism.
For different subjects, you may be required to use different citation styles. For example MLA is commonly used in humanities while APA is commonly used in social sciences. Check with your instructors about which citation style to use before you write your papers.
Need more information on the different citation styles? Check out this reading list for resources on various citation styles.
EndNote is a bibliographical management software package designed to help you organize bibliographic references and create a bibliography. Endnote allows you to search, retrieve relevant citations, and build your bibliography, all within one program.
HKU has signed a site licence agreement with EndNote, which permits all current HKU staff and students to use the software both on campus and at home.
For more information and downloading, check out the Endnote@HKU webpage.
Zotero is a free, open-source citation management tool renowned for its user-friendly interface and seamless integration with web browsers. It allows users to easily collect, organise, and cite sources from the web. Zotero also offers collaborative features, making it a preferred choice for those working in team settings or across multiple devices.
For more information and downloading, check out the Zotero LibGuide.
Turnitin offers Similarity Check on students' work for proper citation or potential plagiarism. Once a paper is submitted to Turnitin, it will be compared with documents in a continuously updated database consisting of current and archived web pages, millions of student papers worldwide, and collections of newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals, e-Books and e-Texts.
Draft Coach is a tool for prior checking on documents created using Microsoft Word Online at HKU. It includes three main functions: Similarity Check, Citation Check, and Grammar Guide. It can display an overall percentage of the similarity score in the document, as well as provides writing suggestions and citation guidelines in real-time.
Take a look at the Turnitin@HKU webpage for more information.