Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sources of Law - Case Law: India Case Law

Introduction

This page aims to offer a guidance on where you can locate sources of Indian cases with various categories of resources, including:

Search in FIND@HKUL

Please be reminded that cases or judgments are not indexed in FIND@HKUL. To look for full text cases, you will have to search in relevant legal databases, or search by the full title of a law report in FIND@HKUL with "Books+" search scope.

 

Alternatively, you may change to Advance Search and enter the following search term for all available law reports within the HKUL Collection:

Database Training

At the beginning of first semester of each academic year, the Law Library will invite specialist trainers from LexisNexis and Thomson Reuters to conduct trainings for all law students to re-visit and familiarize the resources available from Lexis Advance Hong Kong and Westlaw Asia, and how to use them. Reserve a seat to master the skills in using these databases!

Help

If you find the images blur, you may zoom in the webpage for a better view.

 

Need help from us? Approach us via the following methods:

 Information Counter   (within opening hours only)

 3917-2914             (within opening hours only)

 lawlib@hku.hk

 Make appointment with our Law Librarian via Research Consultation Services (eligible for HKU academic staff and postgraduate students only)

HKU Libraries' Resources

Manupatra

Manupatra is a useful legal database that offers the search of legal, statutory, regulatory and procedural materials of India. Law reports, legislations and statutory materials can be searched and found that offers insights on different aspects of law in India.

To understand how the database works, visit Manupatra’s Training Manual for more details.

To access the database, you are reminded to obtain login information via the path indicated in the FIND@HKUL record. HKUL Authentication is also required via login to your HKU Portal account. 

 

Lexis Advance Hong Kong

In Lexis Advance Hong Kong, you are able to find reported cases, orders and miscellaneous orders of High Courts of different states in India. For instances, the Allahabad High Court, Delhi High Courts, Madras High Court and etc. Relevant materials of the Supreme Court of India can also be obtained. Coverage of materials are updated to the present.

To look up for law reports, follow the steps below:

  • Access Path: Browse > Publications > India > By Content Type > IN Cases

            

 

Westlaw Asia

Judgments of the High Court and Supreme Court can be easily accessed via Westlaw Asia. In addition, judgments are also categorized according to their relations to different Tribunals and Commissions in India. Please note that Indian cases available on Westlaw Asia are archived up until 31 March, 2021.

To browse different law reports, follow the steps below:

  • Access Path: Content Type > Cases > India Case Law

           

            

All India Reporter [AIR]

Regards as one of the major law reports in India, A.I.R. covers all reportable judgments of the Courts in India, from High Courts to Supreme Court. Yearly referencer and annual index of the Supreme Court can also be found. In general, total number of volumes varies year by year, from 8 to 15 volumes per year.

 

Supreme Court Reports [SCR]

Published under the authority of Supreme Court of India by the Manager of Publications, Civil Lines, Delhi, this title contains cases determined by the Supreme Court of India starting from mid-20th century.

 

Law Reports, Indian Appeals [LR Ind App]

Published by the Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for England and Wales, this title focused appeal cases in the Privy Council during the time of being a British Colony.

Official Sources

Supreme Court of India (click to visit)

The official website of the Supreme Court of India provides judgments made under the Supreme Court, with fruitful information about the institution, its history, and legal materials on different subjects. You may also find annual reports, starting from early 21st century, and the Supreme Court Reports (S.C.R.) of selected years on this website.

 

E-courts Service (click to visit)

Maintained by the National Informatics Centre, Ministry of Electronics & Information Technology, Government of India, this site provides a very comprehensive consolidation of cases and judgments made under the High Courts, District and Taluka Courts of India. Here, you are able to obtain directional instructions to different courts and useful legal materials.

Open Access Resources

Legal Information Institute of India (LIIofIndia) (click to visit)

With it aim in promoting free access of law, LIIofIndia serves as an all-in-one platform for you to access to cases made by different courts. With its connection to the LII movement, resources available via other LIIs (e.g. AsianLII, CommonLII and WorldLII) can also be easily directed and accessed.