Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sources of Law - Case Law: Singapore Case Law

Introduction

This page aims to offer a guidance on where you can locate sources of Singaporean cases with various categories of resources, including:

Search in FIND@HKUL

Please be reminded that cases or judgments are not indexed in FIND@HKUL. To look for full text cases, you will have to search in relevant legal databases, or search by the full title of a law report in FIND@HKUL with "Books+" search scope.

 

Alternatively, you may change to Advance Search and enter the following search term for all available law reports within the HKUL Collection:

Database Training

At the beginning of first semester of each academic year, the Law Library will invite specialist trainers from LexisNexis and Thomson Reuters to conduct trainings for all law students to re-visit and familiarize the resources available from Lexis Advance Hong Kong and Westlaw Asia, and how to use them. Reserve a seat to master the skills in using these databases!

Help

If you find the images blur, you may zoom in the webpage for a better view.

 

Need help from us? Approach us via the following methods:

 Information Counter   (within opening hours only)

 3917-2914             (within opening hours only)

 lawlib@hku.hk

 Make appointment with our Law Librarian via Research Consultation Services (eligible for HKU academic staff and postgraduate students only)

HKU Libraries' Resources

LawNet

Serve as Singapore’s leading platform for legal research, LawNet offers many resources to its users. Primary legal materials, such as Singapore Law Reports and Legislations, and secondary materials like latest legal news can be easily accessed. Check out LawNet User Guide for more details on how it works.

To access full archive of cases with summaries and headnotes, you are reminded to obtain login information via the path indicated in the FIND@HKUL record. HKUL Authentication is also required via login to your HKU Portal account. 

 

Westlaw Asia

Westlaw Asia offers the Singapore Company and Securities Law Cases and Singapore Law Reports Case Analysis for accessing Singapore Case Law.

To look up for law reports, follow the steps below:

  • Access Path: Content Type > Cases > Singapore Case Law 

            

            

 

Singapore Law Reports [SLR] 

SLR was originally published by the Singapore Government Printer in 1950-1957, law library holds the series below in its collection:

 

Singapore Law Reports [SLR] 

Published with authority of the Singapore Academy of Law, serving as the official law-reporting agency in Singapore, cases are selected with importance for Singapore’s jurisprudence. Headnote, summaries of cases with catchwords, a summary of facts and holdings and list of cases and legislations being referred to in the judgment could be found.

  • Print: 1993 - 2011 (PR KT3658.2 S6)
  • Electronic: 1992 – Current (via LawNetUsername and Password can be obtain via FIND@HKUL record

 

Singapore Academy of Law Annual Review of Singapore Cases [SAL Ann Rev]

This title is an annual digest that encloses and evaluates selected cases of the Singapore courts in the previous year. Comments and analysis by leading practitioners and reputable academics are also contributed to the title.

Official Sources

The Singapore Judiciary (click to visit)

The Singapore Judiciary serves to uphold legal justice and accessible of law in the country. The institution consists of three major courts – The Supreme Court, State Courts and Family Justice Courts. You may obtain judgment and related documents via the official website - https://www.judiciary.gov.sg/judgmentments.  

Open Access Resources

Singapore Law Watch (click to visit)

Supported by the Singapore Academy of Law, the Singapore Law Watch provides free daily legal news service for the community. Unreported decisions can also be located here. Please note that court judgments from 2000 and onwards are archived on the platform permanently.

Asian Legal Information Institute (AsianLII) (click to visit)

Serve to promote free access of law and legal information for the community, AsianLII offers a consolidated platform databases, catalogues and web-searches on Singapore’s legal system and materials.