Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sources of Law - Case Law: Malaysia Case Law

Introduction

This page aims to serves as a quick guide on where you can locate sources of Malaysian cases with various categories of resources, including:

Search in FIND@HKUL

Please be reminded that cases or judgments are not indexed in FIND@HKUL. To look for full text cases, you will have to search in relevant legal databases, or search by the full title of a law report in FIND@HKUL with "Books+" search scope. 

Alternatively, you may change to Advance Search and enter the following search terms for all available law reports within the HKUL Collection:

Database Training

At the beginning of first semester of each academic year, the Law Library will invite specialist trainers from LexisNexis and Thomson Reuters to conduct trainings for all law students to re-visit and familiarize the resources available from Lexis Advance Hong Kong and Westlaw Asia, and how to use them. Reserve a seat to master the skills in using these databases!

Help

If you find the images blur, you may zoom in the webpage for a better view.

 

Need help from us? Approach us via the following methods:

 Information Counter   (within opening hours only)

 3917-2914             (within opening hours only)

 lawlib@hku.hk

 Make appointment with our Law Librarian via Research Consultation Services (eligible for HKU academic staff and postgraduate students only)

HKU Libraries' Resources

eLaw.my

Being one of the biggest legal databases covering Malaysian cases, more than 80,000 judgments from all courts of Malaysia can be found on this platform, dating back to 1900s. Check out the video below on how to search for cases.

 

To access full archive of cases with summaries and headnotes, you are reminded to obtain login information via the path indicated in the FIND@HKUL record. HKUL Authentication is also required via login to your HKU Portal account. 

 

Westlaw Asia

A wide range of resources on case law of Malaysia can be found in Westlaw Asia. They include but not limited to All Malaysia Reports (A.M.R.), All Malaysia Commercial Reports (A.M.C.R.), All Malaysia Tax Cases (A.M.T.C.), unreported judgments and etc.

To look up for law reports, follow the steps below:

  • Access Path: Content Type > Cases > Malaysia Case Law 

            

            

 

Lexis Advance Hong Kong

In Lexis Advance Hong Kong, you are able to find cases published under the Malayan Law Journal Reports, from 1932 to present.

To browse for law report, follow the steps below:

  • Access Path: Browse > Publications > Malaysia > By Content Type > MY Cases

           

All Malaysia Reports [AMR]

Published by Sweet & Maxwell, this title covers reporting of appellate and High Court decisions made by the Malaysian courts. Headnotes, catchwords and case summaries can be found.

Current Law Journal [CLJ]

Published by the Malaysian Current Law Journal Sdn Bhd, C.L.J. provides comprehensive coverage on all courts in Malaysia with reputable recognition from the community.

Malayan Law Journal Reports [MLJ]

Another major law report in Malaysia, M.L.J. covers report of cases from all courts with case summaries and catchwords.

Official Sources

Office of The Chief Registrar Federal Court of Malaysia (click to visit)

Maintained by the Federal Court of Malaysia, the highest court in Malaysia, this official portal provides comprehensive information and resources, where judgments are also available. Please note that judgments are mostly reported in Malay (https://www.kehakiman.gov.my/en/judgmentment).

Open Access Resources

Asian Legal Information Institute (AsianLII) (click to visit)

With promotion to the free access of legal information, a wide range of resources can be easily found here with categorized of subjects and materials. AsianLII also works and connects with WorldLII and CommonLII in presentation of resources.