LibGuides: Landscape Architecture: Internet Resources

Resources on Hong Kong

China and the Modern World

The digital archive collections source from preeminent libraries and archives across the world.

Hong Kong, Britain, and China, Part I: 1841–1951

Digitized from the British Colonial Office records grouped under the CO 129 Series, the collection consists of despatches and correspondence between the governors of Hong Kong and the Colonial Office, as well as letters and telegrams of other government departments and organizations. It provides detailed and valuable information on the political, military, social, economic, and external development of Hong Kong.

Hong Kong, Britain, and China, Part II: 1965–1993

Primarily from the records of British Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO 40), this collection continues where Hong Kong, Britain and China Part I, 1841–1951 left off, and documents the process of Hong Kong maneuvering, surviving, thriving, and transforming into a modern international metropolis and financial center in the wider context of the Cold War.

Resources on Materials

TAL-L

TAL-L is a database and teaching tool for landscape materials. It provides a tool to sample the varied materials that make up Hong Kong's terrain and its built landscapes; to record the layered alterations in this physical composition over time; and to track the material flows, extractions and accumulations that accompany its development.

Resources on Plant Materials

Digital Arboretum

Digital Arboretum features hundreds of short videos about Hong Kong's fascinating diversity of trees and other plants. The videos focus on how plants are used functionally in a design sense, how they naturally populate the landscape and how they contribute to the local ecology, rather than studying them from a strictly botanical point of view.