This guide is developed to help you find selective library resources for your study or research in History. Click on the tabs above to locate different types of resources or for more information.
An overview of Gale Primary Sources available under HKU Libraries' subscription (click here to know more about primary and secondary sources):
| Title | Context |
| American Historical Periodicals from the American Historical Society | The collection offers multiple perspectives on the thought, culture, and society of North America through the eyes of those who lived it, showing how history affected citizens from all walks of life |
| Archives of Sexuality and Gender | Research a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender |
| Archives Unbound | Gain access to rare primary source documents related to 20th century China, WWI and WWII; For instances, Papers of Old Shanghai: Miscellanies, 1853-1945 and Papers of American Missionaries to Asia) |
| British Library Newspapers | A collection of 160+ influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society from the 18th to 20th Centuries |
| Burney Newspapers Collection | 1000+ early English newspapers and pamphlets from the 17th and 18th centuries, the collection of Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) |
| Chatham House Online Archive | Publications and meeting records of UK think-tank on international affairs 1920-2008 |
| China and the Modern World | Research China during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries; coverage includes diplomacy, economics, imperialism, and more |
| Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture | Various material from the long 19th Century related to crime, punishment, police, detectives, prisons, criminal law, detective fiction, and other topics from French, German, Spanish, Australian, British, and U.S. sources |
| Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004 | First successful UK tabloid, including the Atlantic Editions |
| Declassified Documents Online: Twentieth Century British Intelligence: An Intelligence Empire | The collection allows researchers to explore the role of signals intelligence, human agents, diplomats, politicians and the armed forces in the gathering of intelligence from across this empire and beyond, and to explore the impact this had on crucial events and decisions throughout a turbulent century |
| Eighteenth Century Collections Online | An enormous collection of 18th century English/British books: more than 207,000 volumes |
| Financial Times Historical Archive | Top UK business daily with global readership among business elites, 1888-2021 |
| International Herald Tribune | US-owned global paper based in Paris with an international readership, 1887-2013 |
| Mirror Historical Archive | Featuring more than 800,000 pages of brand-new, full text searchable, scans of the complete run of the Mirror from 1903-2000, including the Sunday Mirror |
| National Geographic Magazine Archive | With standard library features and functionality common to many Gale resources, this collection is a powerful tool for research through the 100+ years of quality publications, from 1888-2020 |
| Nineteenth-Century Collections Online | Discover primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. Sourced from almost one hundred major world libraries |
| Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals | 170+ periodicals on women, children, sports, humor, travel, imperialism, science, etc, in 2 pts |
| Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers | With 1.8 million pages available, the collection features publications of all kinds, from the political party newspapers at the beginning of the nineteenth century to the mammoth dailies that shaped the nation at the century's end |
| Punch Historical Archive | The greatest satirical weekly magazine, offering political and cultural insights, in the UK 1841-1992 |
| State Papers Online Colonial: Asia | Digitisation of the British Government’s Colonial Office series of files concerning Asia |
| The Economist Historical Archive | Top UK business weekly with global readership among business elites, 1843-2020 |
| The Independent Historical Archive | Archival records (1986-2016) of a major British daily national newspaper, first launched in 1986 as an antidote to its often overtly political rivals |
| The Illustrated London News | The great illustrated weekly newspaper in the UK 1842-2003 |
| The Listener Historical Archive | Enhance your study of twentieth-century British culture as reflected in BBC broadcasts, 1929-1991 |
| The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises | Academic and practical books about UK/US law and its practice 1800-1926 |
| The Sunday Times Historical Archive | Analysis and investigative reporting, 1822-2016 |
| The Telegraph Historical Archive | Largest circulation UK broadsheet, conservative, upper-middle class, includes Sunday editions, 1855-2016 |
| The Times Digital Archive | Top UK quality paper with the longest history and enormous influence, 1785-2019 |
| The Times Educational Supplement Historical Archive | With every issue of Times Educational Supplement from its first in September 1910 until December 2000 |
| The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive | Famous and influential weekly literary review, 1902-2019 |
| U.S. Declassified Documents Online | Declassified US government documents, mainly from post-WWII 20th century |
| Women’s Studies Archive | Historical, social, political, and professional aspects of women’s lives during the 19th and 20th centuries |
At HKU, accessible teaching and learning are essential to offer an all-round support to our users. To know more, visit our LibGuide on SEN Support.
One-to-one Research Consultation Service
Provides a personal research consultation service to registered HKU / HKU SPACE academic staff and postgraduate students on effective information research pertaining to their research projects. To book an appointment, please click here.
Subject-specific Library Instruction Courses
Groups of staff or students can request library instruction courses according to their information needs. For details, please contact your Subject Librarian