Skip to main content

History: Databases

Subject guide to History resources for study or research of the subject

Quick Links

To view complete list of materials related to History, please select from below:

Core Databases

Adam Matthew digital : creative online resources for teaching & research Its digital collections make available manuscripts and rare printed sources. As of Jul 2009, there are 21 databases available.

America, history and life A bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. The coverage of the database includes all key English-language historical journals, selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Also includes in-process English-language article entries prior to their completion and inclusion in the print and CD-ROM versions.

Arts & humanities citation index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. It provides access to current information and retrospective data from 1975 forward.

Historical abstracts Contains annotated bibliographic references to books, articles, and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Indexes the world's literature in history and the related topics, social sciences and humanities.

Humanities index is an international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, covering over internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.

JSTOR Provides fulltext online access to electronic archive of scholarly journal literature, with an emphasis on the retrospective conversion of selected journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.

Making of America A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8500+ books and journal volumes with 19th century imprints.

Oxford bibliographies. Atlantic history provides access to information related to Atlantic history for students and scholars.

Oxford bibliographies. Renaissance and reformation is an innovative online reference tool for doing online research on different aspects of the period of renaissance and Reformation

Readex digital collections. Archive of Americana 

中国当代政治运动史数据库 Includes primary source materials relating to the Chinese Anti-Rightist Campaign (1957-) and the Chinese Cultural Revolution (1966-1976) and Great Leap and the Great Famine (1958-1962), such as government documents, directives, bulletins, speeches by Mao Zedong and other officials, major newspaper and magazine editorials, and other types of documents.

中國期刊全文數據庫 This databases contains more than 10000 Chinese journals with full text. They are categorized into 10 subsets.

文淵閣四庫全書 收錄圖書 3,460多種, 約八億字, 36,000餘册, 分為經, 史, 子, 集四部, 共四十四類, 七十屬. 內容覆蓋甚廣, 包括哲學, 歷史, 文藝, 政治, 社會, 經濟, 軍事, 法律, 醫學, 天文, 地理, 算學, 生物學, 農業, 占卜等, 是硏究中華五千年歷史文化的重要文獻.

漢籍電子文獻資料庫 資料庫內容包括經、史、子、集四部, 其中以史部為主,經、子、集部為輔。若以類別相屬, 又可略分為宗教文獻、醫藥文獻、文學與文集、政書、類書與史料彙編等, 累計收錄歷代典籍已達九百二十五種.

To view a complete list of databases, please click here.