Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sources of Law - Legislation: Home

Welcome

This guide gathers key resources for legislation and related research available through the Libraries' subscriptions or open access, with a focus on major jurisdictions relevant to the research needs of HKU law students and researchers.

Where to find these materials in Law Library?

All legislative materials are held in the Primary Materials Collection on 2/F of the Law Library, with a call number prefix PR.

Not sure where it is located? Visit us via the virtual tour for a better idea!

Help

If you find the images too blur, you may zoom in the webpage for a better view.

 

Need help from us? Approach us via the following methods:

 Information Counter          (within opening hours only)

 3917-2914                           (within opening hours only)

 lawlib@hku.hk

 Make appointment with our Law Librarian via Research Consultation Services (eligible for HKU academic staff and postgraduate student only)

Sources for a Quick Start

 

                                                                                                  

Lexis Advance Hong Kong (LAHK)
Lexis Advance Hong Kong offers a wide range of resources such as legislation and relevant commentaries. Besides a large selection of Hong Kong materials, the HKU Libraries subscription offers access to legislation and legislative materials of Australia, Canada, India, Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore, United Kingdom and United States.

Access path: Browse > Publications > Jurisdiction (e.g. Hong Kong) > By Content Type > HK Legislation

 

 

                                                                    

Westlaw Asia

Westlaw Asia is an online legal research service which provides worldwide legal and regulatory information. The collection includes case law, legislation, treaties, law reviews, journals, news and directories from Hong Kong, United Kingdom, Australia, Canada, etc.

Access path: Content Type > Legislation

 

                                                                                      

Westlaw Classic
Westlaw Classic focuses on the provision of access to statutes, regulations, legislative materials on federal and state level of the United States. It also contains a selection of law reference for other international jurisdictions, such as European Union, Australia, Canada, offshore jurisdictions, etc.

Access path: Browse > "All Content" tab > Regulations / Statutes & Court Rules
Access path (other than US): Browse > All Content > International Materials > Content Types > Legislation

 

                                                                                      

PrimeLaw
Wolters Kluwer PrimeLaw provides handy search fields to facilitate research in legislation of Hong Kong and mainland legislation, available both in English and Chinese. Hong Kong legislation contains current and past ordinances and subsidiary legislation, together with relevant legal supplements in Gazette.

Access path: Select "PrimeLaw" > HK/Mainland Legislation

 

                           

Foreign Law Guide

Foreign Law Guide is an essential database offering relevant information on sources of foreign law, including complete bibliographic citations to legislation.

Legislation sources cover approximately 190 jurisdictions.

Access path: Jurisdictions are listed from A to Z under the header “Jurisdictions”.

Provides abstracts and indexing for over 3,200 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education and more. Also offers full text for over 1,000 journals with many dating back to 1990. Includes coverage of over 1,700 peer-reviewed journals.1,000 journals with many dating back to 1990. Includes coverage of over 1,700 peer-reviewed journals.

Elgaronline provides scholarly research monographs, handbooks, companions, dictionaries and encyclopedia across Law, Business & Management, Economics and Social & Political Science.

Provides full-text online access to legal journals, rare and out-of-print collections and converts all back issues of indexed legal journals into a searchable electronic format. Established by William S. Hein & Co., Inc.

Provides access to law reports, journal articles and texts on the area of Arbitration, Competition, Construction, Financial Crime, Insurance, Re-insurance, Intellectual Property, Maritime & Commercial Law, and Professional Negligence. Key titles included: Lloyds Law Reports, Lloyd's Maritime & Commercial Law Quarterly, Building Law Reports.

Full text of journals from Kluwer Law International. Includes searchable tables of contents and abstracts.

Contains journals published by the Oxford University Press, with 28 law related journal titles are included in the Oxford Journals Law Collection.

This database includes periodicals and newspapers articles from over 5,000 publications, with many in full text. It comprises of various databases

          Contains a searchable collection of more than 28,000 Chinese electronic books published in China since 2000.

China Academic Journals full-text database (also known as CNKI) is the largest and continuously updated Chinese journals database in the world. Provides full-text articles from more than 2000 Chinese journals.

Airiti Library is a search platform, combining academic resources of both Taiwan and Mainland China, features full-text scholarly contents, containing over 1800 Law resources. 

 

                                         

WorldLII

The World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII) is a free, independent and non-profit access to worldwide law, including case-law, legislation, treaties, law reform reports and law journals.

Legislation sources cover approximately 123 jurisdictions.

Access path: Catalog > All Categories > Legislation

A Dictionary of Law (Oxford Reference) 

An authoritative and comprehensive source of jargon-free legal information with entries clearly defining the major terms, concepts, processes, and the organization of the English legal system.