Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Legal Research and Writing: Set-up Alerts

Introduction

Want to keep yourself up-to-date of the latest published work in a particular journal? Want to know the newest piece of work published by a specific author? Want to keep track of how many times a specific article has been cited? The setting up of alerts in different databases helps you obtain stay ahead of your interested topics and keep yourself up-to-date.

You may visit the Libraries’ LibGuide entitled Keep updated on research information covering Browzine, Database alerts and Pre-print services.

Help

If you find the images too blur, you may zoom in the webpage for a better view.

 

Need help from us? Approach us via the following methods:

 Information Counter (within opening hours only)

 3917-2914              (within opening hours only)

 lawlib@hku.hk

Make appointment with our Law Librarian via Research Consultation Services (eligible for HKU academic staff and postgraduate student only)

Set-up Alerts

You may find below a summary of alerting tools offered by different databases and platforms often used by law researchers and students:

Databases/ Platforms Features & Points to Note How to create Alerts?

Index to Legal

Periodicals & Books

(supports by EBSCOhost)

  • Wide coverage of international law journals, mainly on North America, UK, Aus, NZ law journals (more than 1000 titles)

 

HeinOnline

HeinOnline YouTube channel
  • Good in coverage: 2500+ titles;

  • Note “embargo period” of full text contents varies. E.g. full text for Hong Kong Law Journal is not available for most recent 2 years, but with indexing only;

  • ScholarCheck works only when using Bluebook citations.

BrowZine

  • Covering more than 500 journals on law and legal studies, you may access full-text of the latest and past issues.
  • Note “embargo period” of full text contents may apply to selected journal.

JournalTOCs

  • Contains Tble of Content (TOC) updates of more than 1300 law journals, this free service offers constant update of latest published articles from active open access, peer-reviewed and non-open access journals.
  • To stay tuned for latest update: set up Email Alerts when new issues are published in the journals you Follow by creating a personal account.
Individual database
  • Need to set up separate alerts in different databases
  • Each database covers a limited no. of law journals and focusing area

New issues or e-TOC alerts, e.g.

 

Starting from November 2022, the HKU Libraries’ subscription to Westlaw Asia has changed from IP Access to SSO Login. Thus, HKU students and staff can now enjoy setting up of personalised alerts for interested publications. You may visit this video created by Thomson Reuters on how it works: https://traus.wistia.com/medias/7bmtry234z.

 

*Tip on SSO login:

After HKUL Authentication login, you will first be directed to the Client Identifier page. Just leave the box empty and click “Continue” for access.

Starting from June 2022, HKU students and staff can now set up personalised alerts in Westlaw Classic. Below are some steps to set up your own updates on a customised search results in pre-defined content via WestClip (a Westlaw Classic update service):

1. After logged into Westlaw Classic, select Advanced Search

2. Enter the search terms in corresponding field and click Enter (make use of Boolean connectors as listed on the right)

3. Select and expand your desired content type (e.g. Cases > click View all to expand all search results)

4. Select the Bell button, and click Create WestClip Alert (You may then follow the steps given by the platform to create alerts for this search result)

 

All alerts created can be viewed under the Alerts folder at the top right of the platform.