HKU Libraries Blog

5 Key E-Resources Pathways for You

by Learning and Research Services HKUL on 2025-09-25T09:46:00+08:00 in 5 Tips Newsletter | 0 Comments

Dear staff and students,

Welcome to the new academic year! This guide spotlights 5 essential e‑resource pathways, each with handpicked platforms to help you discover impactful research, stay informed, prepare for exams, and write with confidence.

1) Literature and Research Discovery

Find the right literature and track research influence

Database List → Full list of databases the HKU Libraries subscribes to
Scopus → Literature discovery and impact analysis
Web of Science → Citation tracking, alerts, and trend mapping

2) Dissertations and Theses

Go beyond abstracts. Discover methods, results, and in‑depth scholarship

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) → Dissertations and theses from around the world
HKU Scholars Hub: Theses@HKU → HKU theses

3) News, Media and Context

Build context for assignments, cases, and policy analysis with timely news

WisersOne → HK/China news and social media coverage
Factiva → Global newspapers, magazines, and wires
Current e‑Newspapers at Main Library (ReadingList) → More e-newspapers

4) Writing and Citing

Write clearly, cite correctly, and format papers with confidence

Academic Writer → Learn APA style and generate citations
Citation Styles ReadingList → Learning materials for different citation styles

5) Past Papers and Exam Prep

Practice smarter and align your revision with real assessment formats

ExamBase → New Interface Past HKU exam papers for targeted practice

For enquiries, Email‑a‑Librarian (To: Information Search).

Best regards,
Learning and Research Services
The University of Hong Kong Libraries

Stay updated with us!

Learning and Research Services | Training | Library Guides | E-Resources Supporting Teaching | EndNote

Add a Comment

0 Comments.

Search this Blog

Subjects

5 Tips Newsletter
Database news
Database of the month
General
Multidisciplinary
Research Support

Return to Blog

5 Key E-Resources Pathways for You

1) Literature and Research Discovery

2) Dissertations and Theses

3) News, Media and Context

4) Writing and Citing

5) Past Papers and Exam Prep

0 Comments.

Search this Blog

Recent Posts

Archive

Subjects

This post is closed for further discussion.

HKU Libraries Blog

5 Key E-Resources Pathways for You

1) Literature and Research Discovery

2) Dissertations and Theses

3) News, Media and Context

4) Writing and Citing

5) Past Papers and Exam Prep

0 Comments.

Search this Blog

Recent Posts

Subscribe

Archive

Subjects

This post is closed for further discussion.