Skip to Main Content

Conservation: Research resources

Research resources to support courses offered by Division of Architectural Conservation Programme

Find Articles

The below list out the core databases for Conservation. To view a complete list of databases on Architecture, please click here.

  • Avery index to architectural periodicals indexes more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture.​
  • IEA statistics offers data on energy production, prices, trade, stocks, consumption, taxes and greenhouse gas emissions. This data is provided by the International Energy Agency (IEA).
  • International bibliography of art (IBA) covers history of art, decorative arts, museum studies, conservation - journal articles, monographs, exhibition catalogues and more.
  • JSTOR provides full text online access to electronic archive of scholarly journal literature, with an emphasis on the retrospective conversion of selected journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. The site also provides access to selected ebooks.
  • RIBA Library online catalogue Catalog of books, journals, drawings, photographs, slides, manuscripts, audio-visual and other material in the British Architectural Library, and an index to approximately 300 architectural periodicals. Includes a biographical database of British architects.
  • Taylor and Francis Online contains more than 1,300 titles in humanities, social sciences and applied sciences.

Click here to view a complete list of databases on all subjects.

Google Scholar is available to search across worldwide publisher’s webpage, databases, and resources. However, the online resources in Google scholar may not come with full text. Follow the below steps to configure Google Scholar to HKUL:

► Step 1. Go to the settings page of Google Scholar
► Step 2. Click on Library links
► Step 3. Enter "HKU" into the search box
► Step 4. Choose "The University of Hong Kong: View It@HKUL"
► Step 5. Save the settings

Google scholar_step 1 - 5

► Step 6. When you search in Google Scholar, you will see the link View It@HKUL against each record. Click on this link to check for full text availability through HKU Libraries.

Google scholar_step 6

Guidelines for evaluation

CARE

  • Currency: Timeliness of the information, date of the publication
  • Accuracy and authority: reliability and correctness of the content
  • Relevance: Relatedness to your topic
  • Equitable and impartial: Whether it’s fact, opinion or propaganda