Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Journalism

E-News Databases

Databases User guide
Factiva - Worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data. User guide
ProQuest newspapers, International newsstand - A collection of more than 660 of the world's top newspapers and wire feeds. User guide
WiseNews - A database of full-text newspaper clippings with search capabilities. Hong Kong newspapers cover 1998 onwards. China, Taiwan and Macau's newspapers cover from 2000. WiseSearch User guide
中國重要報紙全文數據庫 Includes full text of 400 China newspapers.  
台灣新聞智慧網 - Provides article searching for Lian he bao, Lian he wan bao, Jing ji ri bao, Min Shang bao, Zhongguo Shi bao, Zhong yang ri bao, Gond Shang shi bao, Ren jian fu bao, Zhonghua ri bao, Ping duo ri bao, Zhi you shi bao, Xing bao.Provides article searching for 聯合報,聯合晚報, 經濟日報, 民生報, 中國時報, 中央日報, 工商時報, 人間福報, 中華日報,蘋果日報, 自由時報, 星報. User guide

To view more e-news databases, please click here.

Subject Specific Databases

Databases User guide
Alexander street video - It brings together on a single cross-searchable platform a completely integrated online repository of Alexander Street video titles, including VAST: Academic Video Online, along with individual discipline collections in history, art and architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, opera, theatre, musical performance, anthropology, health and rehabilitation, opera, nursing, science, women's studies, black studies, LGBT studies, and more. Includes newsreels, award-winning documentaries, field recordings, interviews, lectures, training videos, and exclusive primary footage becoming a collection of 22,000 full-length videos by 2013.. Help
Communication & mass media complete Online tutorials
CQ Researcher Plus Archive - It covers current and controversial issues with summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and more FAQ
NewsBank : a world of information  
中國資訊行  

Historical Newspapers Databases User guide
Gale newsvault - HKUL's subscription includes 17th and 18th Century Burney collection newspapers; 19th Century British Library newspapers ; Financial Times historical archive ; Times digital archive ; and Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive  
ProQuest historical newspapers. Chinese Newspapers Collection User guide
ProQuest historical newspapers. South China morning post User guide
ProQuest historical newspapers. The New York times User guide
ProQuest historical newspapers. Washington post  User guide

 

To view more databases on Journalism, please click here.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Databases User guide
EBSCOhost - The site includes databases available from EBSCOhost, such as Academic Search premier, ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials, Business Source Complete, CIHAHL Plus, Communication & Mass Media Complete, MAS Ultra-School Edition, Primary search, ERIC, Serials directory, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia and EBSCO Animals. Online tutorials
ProQuest - Periodicals and newspapers articles from over 5,000 publications in various subject disciplines, with many in full text. User guide
ScienceDirect - A database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1,000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet. It also contains abstracts from the core journals in the major scientific disciplines. Support Center
ScopusThe database offers access to 14,200 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 international publishers. Support Center
Web of science - Composed of Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. It provides access to over 12,000 leading journals. Some of the articles have direct links to full text. Help
中國知​網 - 此數據庫是一個大型動態知識總庫,目前擁有中國大陸8200多種期刊、700多種報紙、600多家博士培養單位優秀博碩士學位論文等等各類知識資源。  

To view more key databases, please click here.