LibGuides: Library Guide for MBA and Business School Taught Postgraduate Students: Business Databases

(1) Country Analysis

		Business source complete 🌟 After login to the database, search by country and limit to Country Reports User guide: EBSCO training videos
		EIU viewpoint (selected countries) 🌟 Economist Intelligence Unit Current information, analysis and forecasts of the political, economic and business environment in selected countries User Guide: EIU tutorials EIU viewpoint Excel Add-in: User guide
		EMIS Emerging markets Internet securities News and financial information sources from emerging market countries User guide
		IMD World Competitiveness Online Database on the competitiveness of nations
		OECDiLibrary Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Books and Reports by Theme, Periodicals, and Statistics User guide
		Web CEIC Data Manager 🌟 Macro economic data
		中國經濟社會大數據研究平台 formerly CNKI 中國統計年鑒數據庫 China statistical yearbooks database
		搜数 Soshoo : 中国统计数据专家匯集中國資訊行自92年以來收集的所有統計和調查數據

For more resources on Country information, please look at: Country Information

(2) Industry/ Market Information (on a product or service)

		Business source complete User guide: EBSCO training videos
		BCC Research: Market research reports and technical publications 🌟 HKU VPN only, see VPN setup guide
		EMIS Emerging markets Internet securities News and financial information sources from emerging market countries User guide
		IBISWorld China China industry reports Help center
		Mintel Global New Product Database Monitors worldwide product innovation and new product activity in consumer packaged goods markets
		Orbis Asia Pacific (Oriana) Covers more than 10 million companies information in Asia Pacific
		Passport 🌟 Demographic, economic and marketing statistics for more than 210 countries worldwide
		SPEEDA M&A data with industry research Company financials, sharholders'information, M&A deals, stock prices and earning forecasts Obtain username and password here FAQ
		中國資訊行 China InfoBank 中國新聞, 商業及法律資訊 Online guide

(3) Company Information

		Capital IQ 🌟 Obtain username and password here. Information on investment banking, private equity, corporations, investment management, professional services, and brokerage Individual login can be arranged for full-time teaching/research staff and students of Business School, please complete the application form HERE or contact the Social Sciences, Business and Economics Librarian (ckitman@hku.hk) for further details. Unauthorized use (such as for commercial purposes), access will be terminated without prior notice. User Guide
		Business source complete After login to the database, click 'Company Information' on the top toolbar for searching User guide: EBSCO training videos
		Company Profiles from Business source complete by MarketLine Company & business description, history, key employees, leading competitors, and daily company share and financial data
		ESG manager on campus Hosts MSCI ESG Research's three core products: MSCI ESG IVA Ratings, MSCI ESG Impact Monitor and MSCI ESG Business Involvement Screening Research Online help
		Orbis Asia Pacific (Oriana) Covers more than 10 million companies information in Asia Pacific
		Passport Demographic, economic and marketing statistics for more than 210 countries worldwide

For resources on Company annual reports, please look at: Company Annual Reports

(4) ESG (Environmental, Social, Governance)

ESG manager on campus

Hosts MSCI ESG Research's three core products: MSCI ESG IVA Ratings, MSCI ESG Impact Monitor and MSCI ESG Business Involvement Screening Research
Online help

Wharton Research Data Services

MSCI ESG KLD STATS: Social ratings (Full)
ISS: Directors
As of December 2022, WRDS is upgrading account security by utilizing Two-Factor Authentication (2FA) by Duo Security. See How to Log In to WRDS Using Two-Factor Authentication (2FA).
HKU Faculty, research assistants and students can register to apply for a personal account at WRDS login page; please note we do not subscribe to all datasets that are available from WRDS.

Refinitiv workspace

Financial data, news and content coverage in customized workflows
ESG data is available at individual company record page
Self registration required, please refer to Refinitiv Libguide

(5) Trade Statistics

United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database

Annual international trade statistics, provided by over 130 countries, detailed by commodity and partner country to the United Nations

WTO iLibrary

World Trade Organization's key research material on global trade
User Guide

(6) Financial Information

		Capital IQ Obtain username and password here. Information on investment banking, private equity, corporations, investment management, professional services, and brokerage Individual login can be arranged for full-time teaching/research staff and students of Business School, please complete the application form HERE or contact the Social Sciences, Business and Economics Librarian (ckitman@hku.hk) for further details. Unauthorized use (such as for commercial purposes), access will be terminated without prior notice. User Guide
		國泰安數據庫 CSMAR Annual Financial Statements (General Industry), Corporate Governance, CSRC's Enforcement Actions, Financial Statements, IPO, Merger & Acquisition, Asset Restructurin, Seasoned Equity Offering, Stock Trading Introduction Data Query
		Genius Finance 巨灵财经金融服务平台 Previous title: GTIOne Information on securities, funds and bonds in China Help Center
		International offshore financial centres Outline of the basic tax-saving techniques that can be utilised when incorporating offshore financial centres into international tax planning
		Orbis Bank Focus Detailed information on 38,000 banks, sourced from a combination of annual reports, information providers and regulatory sources
		Refinitiv workspace Financial data, news and content coverage in customized workflows ESG data is available at individual company record page Self registration required, please refer to Refinitiv Libguide
		Risk.net Full content from Risk magazine, including all special reports and topical supplements, as well as a searchable archive of past issues of Risk
		SDC Platinum Available via PC82 at Level 3, Main Library only Access to three databases: Global New Issues, Mergers & Acquisitions and Joint Ventures User guide Data Definitions and Glossary Data Definitions for New Issues Refinitiv has notified us that the SDC Platinum desktop application will be retired at the end of 2023. For accessing to SDC Mergers & Acquisition and New Issues, please use Wharton Research Data Services (HKU Faculty, research assistants and students can register to apply for a personal account at WRDS login page)
		Capital IQ Pro Previous title: SNL Financial Covers industry-specific private and public companies worldwide Obtain username and password here
		Wharton Research Data Services 🌟 MSCI ESG KLD STATS: Social ratings (Full) ISS: Directors As of December 2022, WRDS is upgrading account security by utilizing Two-Factor Authentication (2FA) by Duo Security. See How to Log In to WRDS Using Two-Factor Authentication (2FA). HKU Faculty, research assistants and students can register to apply for a personal account at WRDS login page; please note we do not subscribe to all datasets that are available from WRDS. FAQs Dataset lists and data dictionary Manuals and overviews Programming at WRDS (available after logged in to WRDS) WRDS Cloud support (available after logged in to WRDS) Data update calendar (available after logged in to WRDS) Video support - training videos
		Wind资讯金融终端 WIND Financial Terminal Real-time online financial information terminal, based on Wind financial database to provide Chinese financial market data and information to analyst Available at PC83, 86, 87 and 88 Level 3, Main Library There are other WIND terminals available at Business School's Computer Lab, KK1104 and they are exclusively for current staff and students of HKU Business School
		Bloomberg Terminal at Bloomberg Lab Only for current staff and students of HKU Business School

(7) News Articles

		Factiva 🌟 Worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data User guide
		International newsstream Collection of more than 1200 of the world's top newspapers and wire feeds User guide
		WisersOne Chinese newspaper clippings with search capabilities WiseSearch User guide
		Regional business news EBSCOhost online tutorials
		SIRS knowledge source Articles from more than 1,200 newspapers, magazines, journals, and government publications.
		台灣新聞智慧網 Taiwan news smart web Provides article searching for 聯合報,聯合晚報, 經濟日報, 民生報, 中國時報, 中央日報, 工商時報, 人間福報, 中華日報,蘋果日報, 自由時報, 星報 User guide
		中國重要報紙全文數據庫 Includes full text of 400 China newspapers User guide
		中國資訊行 China InfoBank 中國新聞, 商業及法律資訊 Online guide
		The Economist historical archive Copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2015
		Financial times historical archive Complete run of the London edition of the Financial Times from its first issue (1888) through 2010

For resources on newspapers and magazines, please look at: Newspapers and Popular Business Magazines.

(8) Articles (trade journals, academic journals)

		EconLit Index of economic articles in Journals and collective volumes EBSCOhost online tutorials
		Business source complete User guide: EBSCO training videos
		ProQuest 🌟 Periodicals and newspapers articles from over 5,000 publication User guide
		Emerald Insight Full text database of journals, book series, case studies published by Emerald

(9) Case Study

Business source complete

After login to the database, search by Case Study and Limit to Full text
User guide: EBSCO training videos

Emerald emerging markets case studies

Collection of peer reviewed case studies focusing on business decision making and management development throughout key global emerging markets

(10) Research Papers/ Conference Papers / Preprints

		SSRN: Economics research network Published papers with abstracts and full bibliographic descriptions relating to research in various area of economics FAQ
		SSRN: Financial economics network Published papers with abstracts and full bibliographic descriptions relating to research in various area of financial economics FAQ
		SSRN: Management research network Published papers with abstracts and full bibliographic descriptions relating to research in various area of management research network FAQ
		SSRN: Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) Research Paper Series Open access
		CEPR Discussion Papers Centre for Economic Policy Research (Great Britain)
		NBER working paper series National Bureau of Economic Research Full text embargo: 3 years

(11) Major e-book collections

		Cambridge books online eBooks from our world-renowned publishing programme, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as humanities and social sciences
		Elgaronline : the online content platform for Edward Elgar Publishing
		Emerald insight Full text database of journals, book series, case studies published by Emerald
		IG Library
		JSTOR Archive of scholarly journal literature, with an emphasis on the retrospective conversion of selected journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences
		OECDiLibrary Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Books and Reports by Theme, Periodicals, and Statistics User guide
		ScienceDirect, Books Full range of scientific disciplines, including those published by Elsevier, Pergamon, Academic Press, plus Woodhead Publishing, and Gulf Professional Publishing imprints
		SpringerLink, Books Electronic versions of books published by Springer
		World Scientific books

Library Guide for MBA and Business School Taught Postgraduate Students

Texting mining or Bulk download

Readings Lists (Online)