Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Japanese Studies: Internet Resources

Subject guide to Japanese Studies resources for study or research of the subject

Internet Resources

CiNii (Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator, pronounced like "sigh-knee") is a database service which can be searched with academic information of articles, Books, Journals & Dissertations.

e-Stat A portal site for Japanese Government Statistics

J-STAGE Japan Science and Technology Information Aggregator, Electronic A system developed by the Japan Science and Technology Corporation (JST) that helps academic societies create and publish electronic journals. Allows users to browse and search participating journals.

Japanese text initiative Collaborative project of the University of Virginia Library and the University of Pittsburgh East Asian Library to present texts of classical Japanese literature online. Texts include "Manyoshu" and "Genjimonogatari," Japanese-English dictionaries, and a search engine.

近代デジタルライブラりー : National Diet Library Digital Collections A digital collection of books published during the Meiji era of Japan (1868-1912) and about 15,700 volumes published in the Taisho era (1912-1926) from the holdings of the National Diet Library of Japan in total, about 143,000 volumes are now available. In addition, 327 volumes of photographic collections in the Meiji era have now been posted with clearer images.

青空文庫 Internet publishing project to make freely available electronic versions of Japanese literary works whose copyright has expired (50 years after the death of the author) or for which the project has otherwise obtained copyright permission. The site includes listings of works included by author and by title, as well as a searchable index. Information about the status of the project is also available.

アジア歴史資料センター : Japan Center for Asian Historical Records JACAR is an archive of digitalized images of Japanese historical records related to Asia from the Meiji period to the end of WWII. Original records are held in the National Archives of Japan, the Diplomatic Record Office of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and the Library of the National Institute for Defense Studies of the National Defense Agency. Digital images of the full text are available in Japanese and can be searched in English.