Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Japanese Studies: Databases

Subject guide to Japanese Studies resources for study or research of the subject

Quick Links

To view complete list of materials related to Japanese Studies, please select from below:

Core Databases

Academic Search Complete Offers an enormous collection of the most relevant full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it is the leading source of peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more. It includes more than 8800 full text journals.

Bibliography of Asian studies "This on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains 787,165 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present... In addition to entries compiled since 1997, the online BAS includes the full data of all of the printed volumes of the BAS issued from the 1971 up to the 1991 volumes (published in 1997)... Through the 1991 printed volume, the BAS included citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Monographs published since 1992, however, have not been added to the database, and users seeking such monographs are urged to consult other general resources and databases such as WorldCat." --About page.

J-STAGE: Japan Science and Technology Information Aggregator, Electronic. Presents the Japan Science and Technology Information Aggregator, Electronic (J-STAGE), a system developed by the Japan Science and Technology Corporation (JST) that helps academic societies create and publish electronic journals. Allows users to browse and search participating journals.

Japanese text initiative Collaborative project of the University of Virginia Library and the University of Pittsburgh East Asian Library to present texts of classical Japanese literature online. Texts include "Manyoshu" and "Genjimonogatari," Japanese-English dictionaries, and a search engine.
 

JapanKnowledge Lib = : ジャパンナレッジ Lib "JapanKnowledge Lib is an online web archive that boasts the largest corpus of encyclopedia, dictionaries, reference compilations, and periodical resources (approximately 50 different sources) in Japan"--JapanKnowlege Web site.

JSTOR Provides fulltext online access to electronic archive of scholarly journal literature, with an emphasis on the retrospective conversion of selected journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. The site also provides access to selected ebooks.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.

Meiji Japan: the Edward Sylvester Morse collection Edward Sylvester Morse Papers were given to the Peabody Museum in 1926 and consist of 99 boxes of personal and professional papers including diaries, correspondence, research files, drawings, lecture notes, publications, scrapbooks and manuscripts. Collection digitized in its entirety. Papers (ca. 1858-1925, 40 cubic feet), document the numerous and valuable contributions made by Morse to the areas of malacology, zoology, ethnology, archaeology and art history. Included are diaries,scrapbooks, correspondence, research files, drawings, manuscripts, publications and teaching materials and drawings.

MLA international bibliography This database is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926. The electronic version includes the Bibliography's entire print run and currently contains more than 2 million records.

The portal site of statistical data in Japan The offical site of statistical data in Japan.

聞蔵IIビジュアル for libraries : 朝日新聞記事データべース A newspaper database for Asahi shinbun containing 12 million articles (as of Aug. 2010) published from 1879 to present. Also includes articles from the weekly magazines Aera as well as Shūkan Asahi, from the annual new-word dictionary Chiezō, Asahi shinbun jinbutsu dētabēsu, and Aashi shinbun rekishi shashin ākaibu.

To view a complete list of databases, please click here.