Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chinese Language and Literature: Internet Resources

Subject guide to Chinese resources for study or research of the subject

Internet Resources

Chad Hansen's Chinese philosophy pages Presents a compilation of Web sites related to Chinese philosophy, in particular Daoism, also known as Taoism, and Classical Chinese theories of language and mind. Notes that this listing is provided by Chad Hansen, a professor of philosophy at the University of Hong Kong. Includes links to Web sites on Chinese philosophy articles. Offers access to the home page for the Philosophy Department.

China Biographical Database 中國歷代人物傳記資料庫 A freely accessible relational database with biographical information initiated by the Harvard Yenching Institute on the basis of datasets and a software program created by Robert M. Hartwell (1932 – 1996). As of 2016, it contains approximately biographical references of 370,000 individuals, primarily from the 7th through 19th centuries. In addition to its biographical value, the data is also useful for statistical, social network, and spatial analysis. It could be accessed both in online and offline versions.

A Chinese talking syllabary of the Cantonese dialiect: an electronic repository A "talking dictionary", this site provides pronunciation of Chinese characters in Cantonese (Mandarin pronunciation & English translation are also provided). Users can search by either character or Cantonese Romanization. Information on structure and coding for machine readability are also provided.

East Asia Digital Library (EADL) is a portal site focusing on East Asian cultural and scientific resources. The National Library of Korea and the National Diet Library, Japan develop and operate the site collaboratively. Some resouces with scanned images, others have bibliographic data only.

Internet guide for China studies: the China WWW Virtual Library Comprehensive metasite for information on China and East Asia. Besides information on politics and international relations the site links to web resources on social, cultural, environmental and economic topics with a Chinese or Asian focus.

Marjorie Chan's China links Presents a directory of Web sites on Chinese language and linguistics, compiled by Marjorie Chan. Links to electronic texts, Chinese language software, cultural information, and online publications.

網路展書讀 由臺灣元智大學主辦 , 包括了詩經、唐詩三百首、全唐詩、宋詞三百首、全宋詞、紅樓夢、三國演義、水滸傳等數據庫。