|
Learning and Research Services HKUL
|
|
Session 1: Cut Your Study Time in Half: Mastering AI Study Tools like Memo (memo.cards) and OthersTime and Date: 25 November 2025 (Tuesday), 12:00 – 13:00 Speakers:
Registration Link: https://hku.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_x3oyCfYVSt-AofPBHP_9Dg Abstract: This session introduces students to cutting-edge AI-powered learning techniques using appMemo (memo.cards), alongside proven study methodologies. Students will learn how to leverage artificial intelligence to transform their study materials into effective learning resources while cutting study time in half. It combines practical demonstrations of appMemo’s features with evidence-based learning principles, including active recall and spaced repetition. HKU students will receive exclusive 3-month pro access to appMemo and learn transferable skills applicable across various learning platforms. This session is ideal for students looking to optimize their study efficiency and embrace modern learning technologies. |
Session 2: Supercharge Group Projects & Presentations with Copilot and Azure AITime and Date: 26 November 2025 (Wednesday), 12:00 – 13:15 Speakers:
Registration Link: https://hku.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_B0k81sotSleZb2vPXz8Zng Abstract: Explore how AI tools like Copilot can revolutionize group projects and presentations. Learn to generate impactful visuals, automate research, and streamline content creation for coursework and group assignments. This session covers strategies for image generation, building AI agents for market research, and leveraging Copilot for exam prep in resource-limited courses. Demos will include interactions with Copilot in Word, PowerPoint, and Chat Web, discovering strategies to create practice questions, manage budgets, and present with confidence. Ethical AI use, critical thinking, and practical tips for maximizing productivity and collaboration will also be mentioned. |
Session 3: AI for Research, Career, and in the Arts: Practical ApplicationsTime and Date: 27 November 2025 (Thursday), 12:00 – 13:30 Speakers
Registration Link: https://hku.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_1dnm4nKvRWumZZGj7rc8sg Abstract: This session showcases diverse AI applications in academic research, career development, and use AI as cultural echo to honor cultural heritage. Participants will learn about how AI can assist in qualitative research, resume building, and prompt engineering for generative art. It includes using Copilot for thematic coding of interview data, resume enhancement, and ethical image generation to honor underrepresented artists. Participants will develop practical skills in data analysis, career preparedness, and the responsible use of AI, with a focus on critical thinking, ethical considerations, and amplifying the voices of underrepresented groups. |
Session 4: Building Personalized AI Study Agents for Exam SuccessTime and Date: 28 November 2025 (Friday), 12:00 – 13:15 Speakers
Registration Link: https://hku.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_BXqA7FLWTKeiKPNjtH1LFQ Abstract: Discover how to create and customize AI-powered study agents using Copilot and M365 tools, with no coding required. This session guides participants through building agents that integrate course-specific resources, generate quizzes, and transform notes into structured study guides. Learn prompt engineering techniques, iterative refinement, and strategies for maximizing study efficiency. The session aims to empower participants to streamline exam preparation, collaborate on group projects, and leverage university resources like GitHub Education. |
We look forward to welcoming you to Exam Boost Week! Whether you are seeking to optimize your study routine, collaborate more effectively, or explore new AI applications, these sessions offer valuable insights and practical skills for your academic journey. Bring your lunch, join us online, and let’s boost your exam success together!
Best regards,
Learning and Research Services
The University of Hong Kong Libraries
Disclaimer: HKU Libraries supports students and respects their personal insights and sharing. The views expressed by speakers do not represent the position of the Libraries. HKU Libraries firmly upholds academic integrity.
Learning and Research Services HKUL
|
Dear researchers and students,
We warmly invite you to participate in an upcoming sharing session on scholarly publishing and becoming an editor, hosted by Ms Catherine Liu (Publisher in Economics Journals, Elsevier). Scholarly Publishing & an Introduction to becoming an Editor Date: 25 November 2025 (Tue) Time: 14:30-15:30 Venue: E-Learning Lab (G/F, Main Library) Speaker: Ms Catherine Liu (Publisher in Economics Journals, Elsevier) The session would cover:
Registration https://lib.hku.hk/cgi-bin/course/list_gp_m.cgi?category=8#12918
For enquiries, please Email-a-Librarian (To: Library Training).
Best regards, |
Learning and Research Services HKUL
Library Support in Academic Integrity
Dear Faculty Members and Students,
University Libraries is an essential part of the educational hub at HKU. We uphold academic integrity by offering training and workshops, resources, and guidance to the HKU community.
Here we provide you with highlighted library support in academic integrity.
Research Integrity in GenAI Week
A series of activities was recently held in collaboration with the Faculty of Education to enhance your awareness of research integrity in GenAI.
ILT01 Information Literacy Training: Academic Honesty
A self-paced online course on upholding academic integrity, avoiding AI plagiarism, citing properly, and using Turnitin.
AI-Empowered Research Tools Are Available with HKU Access
A range of AI-powered research tools and AI-enhanced features in HKU-subscribed databases to support your research.
Turnitin
An online tool that detects potential plagiarism, flags AI-generated content, and streamlines grading with targeted feedback.
Note: Since the tool may have limitations (e.g. false positive) in AI writing detection, instructors are advised to use it as a reference tool only but not as direct evidence of academic misconduct.
How to Cite GenAI Usage
Proper citation strengthens integrity and transparency. Usage of GenAI should be acknowledged and documented appropriately. EndNote and Zotero help organize and manage references throughout your writing process.
Copyright and Gen-AI
The guide offers a comprehensive overview of emerging copyright issues related to generative AI.
Publishers’ Policies on AI
AI tools are generally not considered authors in academic publishing, and their use must be transparently disclosed according to the respective publisher’s policy.
Researcher Connect
Latest trends on research related topics are shared via the Researcher Connect blog, including publication ethics, research tools, and more. Recent posts include:
- GPT (Ghost-Penman-Typist): Has Generative Artificial Intelligence (GenAI) Paved Its Way into Scholarly Writing?
- Unmasking and Combating Publishing Malpractices 1: Paper Mills
- Unmasking and Combating Publishing Malpractices 2: Citation Manipulation
The Libraries welcomes discussion on further support regarding academic integrity. Please don't hesitate to contact us at libis@hku.hk.
Learning and Research Services
The University of Hong Kong Libraries
Learning and Research Services HKUL
AI‑Empowered Research Tools Are Available with HKU Access
Artificial Intelligence (AI) is reshaping the way we learn, teach, and conduct research. HKU Libraries now offers a range of AI‑powered research tools and AI‑enhanced features in subscribed databases to make your research journey smarter, faster, and more insightful, whether you're a novice researcher or an experienced academic.
Primo Research Assistant – Kickstart Your Research
An AI-powered search companion integrated directly into HKU's library catalogue. Get instant summaries, discover related research, and navigate complex academic literature with intelligent recommendations tailored to your research needs.
AI Assistant by Scite – Smarter Citations
Go beyond citation counts with Scite's AI Assistant. It provides Smart Citations that indicate whether a paper supports, disputes, or merely mentions another study, enabling you to assess credibility and comprehend scholarly conversations. HKU sign-in is required to keep your chat history.
Consensus – Trial Access Until 31 August 2026! [New]
Ask research questions in plain language and get evidence-based answers extracted from millions of peer-reviewed papers. Consensus uses AI to synthesize findings across studies, helping you quickly understand scientific consensus on any topic.
AI-Enhanced Features in Academic Databases
Academic databases provide more disciplinary-focused resources for researchers. Many of the subscribed databases now include AI-driven functionalities to improve your search experience, from intelligent AI summary of search request and article summary to relevant and reliable article recommendations with analysis.
Copyright and Gen-AI
This online guide provides an overview of key copyright issues related to generative AI. It addresses key topics, including copyright protection eligibility, infringement liability, the use of copyrighted works for AI training, and considerations for licensing content for AI training. The guide also explores emerging topics such as the proposed Text and Data Mining exception in Hong Kong, the implications of using Creative Commons (CC) licensed works for AI training, and CC Signals, a new Creative Commons initiative that enables content owners to ethically and transparently express their preferences for AI training use.
Learn More and Stay Ahead
For more tools, guidelines for citations and copyright issues of using generative AI contents, learning resources and tips on integrating AI into your research workflow, visit our comprehensive AI Literacy guide at https://libguides.lib.hku.hk/AI-literacy.
Ready to Elevate Your Research?
Start exploring these AI tools today and experience the future of academic discovery with HKU Libraries. Transform your research process with intelligent search, automated summaries, and evidence-based insights.
Your feedback matters. Please send us your comments and recommendations at libis@hku.hk.
Learning and Research Services
The University of Hong Kong Libraries
Learning and Research Services HKUL
|
Learning and Research Services HKUL
|
Dear Staff and Students, Ever wondered how to use AI tools responsibly in your studies, what Turnitin really checks, and how strong your research integrity knowledge is? Join our upcoming activities to get practical answers, try an interactive quiz, and build confidence in ethical, effective learning and research. A series of activities will be held from 10 to 14 November to enhance your awareness of research integrity in GenAI:
Join us to learn and help strengthen our culture of integrity!
Best regards,
(“Research Integrity Awareness Quiz” and “Turnitin Workshop for Students: Ethical Use of GenAI” are funded by the Research Integrity Funding Scheme 2024/25 under the project title “Research Integrity in GenAI”, jointly led by the Faculty of Education and the University Libraries.) |
Dear Staff and Students,
Please find the webinar by De Gruyter Brill in December 2025 below.
Book Publishing with De Gruyter Brill: Leading Research Areas and Success Strategies
Date: 02 December 2025, Tuesday
Time: 1:00 pm (HKT)
Registration link: https://shorturl.at/bRIsG
Join Karin Sora (Vice President STEM, De Gruyter Brill) , Hélène Chavaroche (Acquisition Editor in Physical Sciences, De Gruyter Brill) and Damiano Sacco (Acquisitions Editor in Technology, De Gruyter Brill) as they share science publishing insights, break down aligning your work with our priorities, and answer questions to ease your path from manuscript to publication.
This webinar will cover:
For enquiries, please directly contact the respective publisher(s).
Learning and Research Services
HKU Libraries
Disclaimers:
The training session(s) or event(s) is/are organised by the corresponding publisher(s). Any enquiries should be directly addressed to the corresponding publisher(s) respectively.
Information collected by the publisher(s) for training session(s) or event(s) is NOT subject to the Privacy Policy of the HKU Libraries.
The HKU Libraries shall not be held responsible for any dispute, loss or damage which may arise as a result of using the information provided on this page.