Class PageCourse Reserve MaterialsPast Exam Papers
DatabasesElectronic BooksElectronic JournalsReference MaterialsTheses
Citation StylesEndnote
This is the "Databases" page of the "History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History  

Subject guide to History resources for study or research of the subject
Last Updated: Sep 29, 2016 URL: http://libguides.lib.hku.hk/history Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Quick Links

To view complete list of materials related to History, please select from below:

 

Major Databases

Academic Search Premier Provides abstracts and indexing for over 3,200 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education and more. Also offers full text for over 1,000 journals with many dating back to1990. Includes coverage of over 1,700 peer-reviewed journals.

America, history and life A bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. The coverage of the database includes all key English-language historical journals, selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Also includes in-process English-language article entries prior to their completion and inclusion in the print and CD-ROM versions.

British humanities index An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, BHI indexes over 320 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK and the United States.

Early English Books Online This database reproduces works listed in : Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection. Additionally, the Early English Books Tract Supplement provides an exceptional perspective on many aspects of 16th and 17th-century British life. It is useful for most research requirements of graduate scholars in the areas of English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, and the fine arts.

Historical abstracts Contains annotated bibliographic references to books, articles, and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Indexes the world's literature in history and the related topics, social sciences and humanities.

ISI web of science Citation indexes covering all disciplines in the arts and humanities.

JSTOR Provides fulltext online access to electronic archive of scholarly journal literature, with an emphasis on the retrospective conversion of selected journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.

LEXIS-NEXIS academic universe It is a web-based version of the Lexis-Nexis service providing access to the over a billion fulltext news, magazine, legal, and business articles and reports. The sources include newspapers, magazines and government documents, state and federal laws and regulations, case law, newsletters, company and industry information. There are also some useful reference and biographical sources included. The database contains more than one billion documents, with more than 9.5 million added per week.

OmniFile full text mega Contains abstracts and indexes over 1,600 periodicals and provides the full text of some 594 periodicals. Coverage includes science, the humanities, the social sciences, general interest topics, as well as business.

ProQuest The database includes periodicals and newspapers articles from over 5,000 publications, with many in full text. It comprises of various databases: ABI/Inform complete, Academic research library, Accounting & tax, Banking information source, Career and technical education, ERIC PlusText, GenderWatch, Pharmaceutical news index, ProQuest Asian business, ProQuest computing, ProQuest education journals, ProQuest European business, ProQuest medical library, ProQuest newspapers, ProQuest telecommunications, ProQuest religion, Research library newspapers, ProQuest research library, ProQuest science journals, ProQuest science journals, ProQuest social science journals, ProQuest telecommunications, U.S. national newspaper abstracts.

To view a complete list of databases, please click here.

Arts and Architecture Faculties Librarian

Profile Image
Diana Tsui
Contact Info
5/F, Main Library, University of Hong Kong, Pokfulam Road, Hong Kong
Tel: (852) 2219-4747
Fax: (852) 2549-0405
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip