Class PageCourse Reserve MaterialsPast Exam Papers
DatabasesElectronic BooksElectronic JournalsReference MaterialsTheses
Citation StylesEndnote
This is the "Internet Resources" page of the "American Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

American Studies  

Subject guide to American Studies resources for study or research of the subject
Last Updated: Oct 26, 2017 URL: http://libguides.lib.hku.hk/americanstudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Internet Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Google Scholar

 

Internet Resources

The literature & culture of the American 1950 Provides links to a reading list and research tools for studying the American 1950s.

American memory : historical collections for the National Digital Library Introduces the American Memory Collection of archival and primary source materials pertinent to American culture and history. Notes that this historical collection is the Library of Congress' key contribution to the National Digital Library. Outlines various aspects of the collection, including digital reproductions, a finding aid in the form of a catalog or register, and other accompaniments. Notes that there are three photographic collections, one recorded sound collection, three early motion picture collections, one manuscript collection (which is now being completed), and three early motion picture collections available on the Internet, with more materials becoming available over time. Notes that some materials are protected by copyright. Also offers technical information about American Memory and on future collections.

The Library of Congress Presents the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. Includes a search engine for use at the Web site. Provides access to Library publications, the Law Library, the Library's Gopher (LC MARVEL), databases and online catalog, the Library of Congress Online System (LOCIS), and historical collections for the National Digital Library. Includes information on the U.S. Copyright Office.

Making of America – Cornell University It is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction contributed by Cornell University and the University of Michigan. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The project represents a major collaborative endeavor in preservation and electronic access to historical texts.

Making of America – University of Michigan It is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction contributed by Cornell University and the University of Michigan. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The project represents a major collaborative endeavor in preservation and electronic access to historical texts.

U.S. Department of State U.S. State Department website provides information about the State Department. It includes phone numbers, FAQ, and "Hot Topics." It also has information about U.S. foreign policy and a number of other State Department activities.

WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources This is a a cost-free website directory that is part of the WWW Virtual Library System and has over 2000 carefully selected, annotated links in 37 international affairs categories.

To view a complete list of free internet resources, please click here.

Arts and Architecture Faculties Librarian

Profile Image
Diana Tsui
Contact Info
5/F, Main Library, University of Hong Kong, Pokfulam Road, Hong Kong
Tel: (852) 2219-4747
Fax: (852) 2549-0405
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip