To view complete list of materials related to American Studies, please select from below:
America's historical newspapers Early American newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 present states. Its first series (1690-1875) "based largely on Clarence Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers,1690-1820".
American broadsides and ephemera. Series I Based on the American Antiquarian Society's landmark collection. American Broadsides and Ephemera offers fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. The remarkably diverse subjects of these broadsides range from contemporary accounts of the Civil War, unusual occurrences and natural disasters to official government proclamations, tax bills and town meeting reports. Featuring many rare items, the pieces of ephemera include clipper ship sailing cards, early trade cards, bill heads, theater and music programs, stock certificates, menus and invitations documenting civic, political and private celebrations.
American memory : historical collections for the National Digital Library Introduces the American Memory Collection of archival and primary source materials pertinent to American culture and history.
American state papers, 1789-1838 Search or browse U.S. congressional materials originating from 1789 and covering through 1838, including 1st Congress, 1st Session through 25th Congress, 2nd Session.
Digital National Security Archive The Digital National Security Archive contains more than 35,000 of the most important declassified documents that led to policy decisions. There are 15 collections : Afghanistan, Berlin Crisis 1958-1962, Cuban Missile Crisis, El Salvador, Iran-Contra Affair, Intelligence Community, Iran Revolution, Military Uses of Space, Nicaragua, Nuclear Non-Proliferation, Philippines, and South Africa. The National Security Archive is an independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University in Washington, D.C. The Archive collects and publishes declassified documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).
Early American imprints. 1st series Collection of digitized text and images from 17th and 18th century America based on the renowned American bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American bibliography. Users may search and browse various types of documents on topics related to government, history, politics, health, philosophy, labor, economics and trade, languages, military, literature, law and crime, people, science, theology, and society, customs, and manners.
Early American imprints. 2nd series Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819) provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century. Based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph B. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker and supplemented by thousands of new items. Offers fully searchable text and a browse feature with topical indexes. Bibliographic records created by the AAS are integrated into the database, providing additional access points.
Making of America A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8500+ books and journal volumes with 19th century imprints.
Military & government collection Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. It provides cover-to-cover full text to nearly 300 journals and periodicals and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.
Newspapers.com (Library Edition) is an extensive database that provides online access to 4,000+ historical newspapers. Dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s, Newspapers.com Library Edition contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States and other countries.
Newspaper source Provides full text for 25 U.S. national and international newspapers as well as selected full text for more than 260 U.S. regional newspapers. It also contains full text television & radio news transcripts.
Oxford bibliographies. Atlantic history provides access to information related to Atlantic history for students and scholars.
ProQuest historical newspapers. The New York times This database offers full-page images and article images from the New York Times dating back to 1851 (called New York daily times, 1851-1857). Digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files. It provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Readex digital collections. Archive of Americana
U.S. declassified documents online offers an archive of U.S. documents from a range of political sources which have recently been declassified.
To view a complete list of databases, please click here.