Course Reserve & Past Papers
DatabasesDissertations & ThesesElectronic BooksElectronic JournalsReference MaterialsStandards & Patent
EndNote & TurnitinStyle & Writing GuidesPublishing
This is the "Databases" page of the "Medical Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Medical Engineering   Tags: biomedical engineering, engineering, medical engineering  

Subject guide to Engineering resources for study or research of the subject
Last Updated: May 31, 2017 URL: http://libguides.lib.hku.hk/mede Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Quick Links

Medical Engineering is an interdisciplinary subject , resources of related subjects can be found from:  

For federated search of multiple platforms:  

Major Databases

  • Biological sciences
    Provides citations and abstracts to research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. The citations describe journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
  • BioOne
    A searchable collection of the full-texts of high impact bioscience research journals covering the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. The Libraries also support the access of BioOne via the CSA internet database service.
  • BIOSIS Previews
    BIOSIS Previews on Compact Disc contains the references to journal literature from Biological Abstracts, the references to meetings, reports, review articles, books and monographs from Biological Abstracts/RRM, as well as some unique references.
  • Cochrane library
    Systematic reviews and other information that will assist in making diagnostic, treatment and other health care decisions.
  • Compendex
    This comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database is accessible through Engineering Village 2. Compendex provides worldwide coverage of approximately 4,500 journals and selected government reports and books in all areas of engineering and applied science. Also includes significant published engineering and technical conference proceedings.
  • INSPEC
    The coverage of this database includes physics, electrical engineering, electronics, telecommunications, computers, control technology, and information technology.
  • ISI Web of Knowledge
    The ISI Web of Knowledge is a Web-based platform that integrates several databases with additional sources of influential content. This database extends and deepens the research coverage available through one resource by integrating journal, patent, proceedings, and life sciences literature with Web resources and other scholarly data. It also supports citation research.
  • Medline (PubMed)
    Medicine, nursing, the health care system, preclinical sciences.
  • NetLibrary
    Several biomedical and engineering electronics books are available.
  • PubMed
    The PubMed search system provides access to the PubMed database of bibliographic information, which is drawn primarily from MEDLINE and PREMEDLINE. PubMed also includes all articles from from participating journals that are indexed selectively for MEDLINE. In addition, PubMed provides access to the molecular biology databases included in NCBI's Entrez retrieval system.
 

Get Citations

Web of Science

  • Connect to the database Web of Knowledge
  • Once you are in Web of Knowledge, click on the tab for "Web of Science"
  • In the middle of the search template, you will see a hyperlink for "Author Finder". Please click on it. You will then need to go through several steps:
  1. Enter author name: E.g. enter "Ho" as last name, "J" as first initial and "CM" as middle initials. Click on the "Next" button.
  2. Select author variant, and then click on the "Next" button.
  3. Select subject category: If the author's publications might fall under different subject disciplines, select all. And then, click on the Next button.
  4. Select institution: Tick those institutions which the author is or have been affiliated with. And then click on the "Finish Now" button.
  • Click on the "Create Citation Report" hyperlink. You will then get data such as number of publications, times cited and the h-index.

 

Scopus 

  1. Access Scopus
  2. Click on the "Author Search" tab.
  3. Enter the last name and the initials. E.g. "Ho" as last name, "J.C.M." as initial. Please also tick the checkbox for "Show exact matches".
  4. You may then see a list of authors with variant name formats. For the above example, you will find two author records. If you refer to the record which belongs to this author, and click on the "Details" link, you will find the citation analysis data, including the number of publications, times cited, h-index. E.g. For this author, there are 28 publications receiving 191 citations and the h-index is 9.

Note: As there may be publications by other authors with the same name, or variant forms of the same name, perhaps there are two things that you may wish to do at this stage:

  • To make sure that entries under variant author names are included in the analysis: Click open "Find unmatched authors" and check if there are other forms of this name. If there are entries that refer to this author, tick the checkbox against the entry. Then, click on the "Group with author" button. These publications will then be added to perform an aggregate analysis.
  • To make sure that all documents included have been written by this author and not by someone else under the same name: Click on the number against "Document". Go through the list and mark those which belong to this author. After this, click on the "Citation Tracker" button. A new analysis will be performed, and you will get a new figure for "Cited By' and h-index.

For more information, please contact your Faculty Librarian.

Your Science and Engineering Faculties Librarian

Profile Image
Nancy Chan
Contact Info
5/F, Main Library, University of Hong Kong,
Pokfulam Road, Hong Kong.
Phone: (852) 2219-4748
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip