Subject guide to Engineering resources for study or research of the subject
Last Updated: Jun 6, 2017
To view complete list of materials related to Civil Engineering, please select from below:
For federated search of multiple platforms:
- ASCE Online Journals
contains full text of selected online journals of the American Society of Civil Engineers.
- Construction & building abstracts (CBA)
The total number of articles indexed is over 100,000, dating back to 1985, with about 7,000 articles added every year, covering a wide range of subjects including: civil, structural, mechanical and electrical engineering; architecture; planning; building and the built environment; materials and energy.
- Engineering Village 2
Engineering Village 2 includes 5 independently searchable databases: Compendex for journal abstracts and links to full-text, Website Abstracts for evaluated Web sites. Remote databases: US Patent Office for patent information, CRC Press Handbooks for technical engineering information (the database is known as ENGnetBase), and Industry Specs and Standards from Techstreet Standards.
- Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
This database offers abstracts to the worldwide literature of environmental sciences. It is comprised of twelve subfiles. They are Agricultural & Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts, ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality, Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B), Ecology Abstracts, EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements, Environmental Engineering Abstracts, Human Population & Natural Resource Management, Health & Safety Sciences Abstracts, Industrial & Applied Microbiology
A bibliographic database for physical and human geography, ecology, mineralogy, ecology and development studies. It provides invaluable coverage from over 2,000 primary journals in addition to books, monographs, reports, theses and it also includes unique records published in Elsevier's Geographical abstracts (both physical and human), Geological abstracts, Ecological abstracts and International development abstracts. Oceanographic literature review has been recently added to the database.
Emphasis on physics, electronics, and computers; significant coverage in other areas.
- ISI Web of Knowledge
The ISI Web of Knowledge is a Web-based platform that integrates several databases with additional sources of influential content. This database extends and deepens the research coverage available through one resource by integrating journal, patent, proceedings, and life sciences literature with Web resources and other scholarly data. It also supports citation research via its Citation Index.
The bibliographic database of the International Council for Building Research, Studies, and Documentation (CIB), covers the worldwide literature on all areas of building construction, civil engineering, architecture, and town planning.
- Knovel: scientific and engineering databases
knovel has a database of some of the leading engineering reference handbooks, databases, and conference proceedings.
- Polymer Library (Rapra Abstracts Database)
an online database dedicated exclusively to information on rubbers, plastics, adhesives and polymeric composites. There are over 820,000 records in the database, from 1972 to the present, covering commercial, marketing, technical and academic aspects of the rubber and plastics industries. The file is updated every two weeks with the addition of approx. 1400 new abstracts.
- Science Citation Index Expanded
is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes major journals across 150 scientific disciplines and includes all cited references captured from indexed articles. It provides access to current information and retrospective data from 1945 forward.
- Water Resources Abstracts
Provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. A subfile of the Environmental sciences and Pollution Management database.
Web of Science
- Connect to the database Web of Knowledge
- Once you are in Web of Knowledge, click on the tab for "Web of Science"
- In the middle of the search template, you will see a hyperlink for "Author Finder". Please click on it. You will then need to go through several steps:
- Enter author name: E.g. enter "Ho" as last name, "J" as first initial and "CM" as middle initials. Click on the "Next" button.
- Select author variant, and then click on the "Next" button.
- Select subject category: If the author's publications might fall under different subject disciplines, select all. And then, click on the Next button.
- Select institution: Tick those institutions which the author is or have been affiliated with. And then click on the "Finish Now" button.
- Click on the "Create Citation Report" hyperlink. You will then get data such as number of publications, times cited and the h-index.
- Access Scopus
- Click on the "Author Search" tab.
- Enter the last name and the initials. E.g. "Ho" as last name, "J.C.M." as initial. Please also tick the checkbox for "Show exact matches".
- You may then see a list of authors with variant name formats. For the above example, you will find two author records. If you refer to the record which belongs to this author, and click on the "Details" link, you will find the citation analysis data, including the number of publications, times cited, h-index. E.g. For this author, there are 28 publications receiving 191 citations and the h-index is 9.
Note: As there may be publications by other authors with the same name, or variant forms of the same name, perhaps there are two things that you may wish to do at this stage:
- To make sure that entries under variant author names are included in the analysis: Click open "Find unmatched authors" and check if there are other forms of this name. If there are entries that refer to this author, tick the checkbox against the entry. Then, click on the "Group with author" button. These publications will then be added to perform an aggregate analysis.
- To make sure that all documents included have been written by this author and not by someone else under the same name: Click on the number against "Document". Go through the list and mark those which belong to this author. After this, click on the "Citation Tracker" button. A new analysis will be performed, and you will get a new figure for "Cited By' and h-index.
For more information, please contact your Faculty Librarian.
5/F, Main Library, University of Hong Kong,
Pokfulam Road, Hong Kong.
Phone: (852) 2219-4748Send Email