The databases listed below can be used to find journal articles and other research sources for Chinese language education and China studies.You will often need to look in more than one database.
If you are looking for journal articles but you are not sure using which database to start your research, try Find@HKUL. It can search the major library databases at once.
Follow the steps below to find journal articles in Find@HKUL.
► Step 1.
Go to Find@HKUL and type in keywords or the article title e.g. Curriculum Inquiry
► Step 2.
Select the search scope “Articles+”
► Step 3.
On the right panel of the page, refine results to “Peer-reviewed Journals”. You may also refine results by publication year range in the box “Year”
► Step 4.
Click “Download PDF” which gives a direct PDF download to the article (This option is only displayed given that a direct path to PDF is available)
Click “Full text available” to view the full text of the article
Click “View Issue Contents” which links to the table of contents of the issue where the article was published.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Search results from Google Scholar do not always come with full-text but you can change the setting in your Google Scholar to link the search results to the Library’s subscribed databases. If the resources are available within the Library's subscriptions, the icon "View It@HKUL" will allow you to access the full text from the databases.
Follow the steps below to configure your Google Scholar settings:
► Step 1. Go to http://scholar.google.com and click on “Settings”
► Step 2. Click on "Library Links" on the left
► Step 3. Enter "HKU" in search box
► Step 4. Select "The University of Hong Kong - View It@HKUL"
► Step 5. “Save” the settings
When you retrieve articles directly from the publishers’ websites, you may be asked to pay for access as they do not recognize that you are affiliated with HKU Libraries.
Two handy tools HKUL Search Assistant plugin (browser extension) and Reload via HKUL (bookmarklet) help you to reload the publishers’ websites and retrieve resources via Libraries’ subscription. Check the below criteria to add the tools on your browsers:
| HKU Library Search Assistant | Reload via HKUL | |
| Get access to e-resources from non-HKUL websites | Yes | Yes |
| Perform Searching | Yes | No |
| Supporting Devices | Computer | Computer iPhone, iPad (iOS devices) |
| Supporting Browsers (Click to check the installation guides) |
Chrome Firefox Microsoft Edge |
Safari (Computer) Safari on iPad Safari on iPhone Chrome on iPad Chrome on iPhone |
►An online collection of videos available for the study of teaching methods and education theory
►You will find teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms
 |
It offers both unabridged translations of scholarship on education and society from China, as well as commissioned research articles on topics of contemporary interest. |
||
 |
International Journal of Chinese Education
|
||
 |
To further the exchange and discussions on research and application of educational technology in Chinese language learning and teaching. |
||
 |
|
||
 |
|
||
 |
|
||
 |
|
||
 |
發表漢語作為第二語言的教學與習得研究、漢語本體研究和語言應用研究等方面的文章。 |
||
 |
|
||
 |
漢字文化 |
Follow the steps below to search for a known journal title in Find@HKUL.
► Step 1.
Go to Find@HKUL and type in the journal title e.g. Action in Teacher Education. Select the search scope “Books+”.
► Step 2.
Click “Online access” to view the full-text at the database.
Click “View Journal Contents” which shows the table of contents of the current issue of the journal.
