Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Support@HKU Libraries

The HKU Libraries provides support in different stages of your research cycle.

Research Methods

Designing an appropriate research methodology to collect and analyze data is an important component of your research cycle.  Some HKUL resources include:

1. SAGE Research Methods     

SAGE Research Methods is a tool created to help researchers, faculty, and students with their research projects. Users can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and other areas of research.


2. Cochrane Library      

Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases. The databases are: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (Methodology Reviews), Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA), NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED).


3. Covidence       

Covidence is a web-based tool that helps streamline and speeds up the primary screening and data extraction processes when conducting systematic reviews.  It was selected by Cochrane to become the standard production platform for Cochrane Reviews.

Download the library course material of Covidence to explore how this online tool streamlines the production of systematic reviews.


4. Springer Protocols    

Springer protocols is a database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the life and biomedical sciences offering researchers access to nearly thirty years worth of time-tested, easily reproducible, step-by-step protocols for immediate use in their lab. Includes protocols from the Humana Press series, Methods in molecular biology, Methods in molecular medicine, Methods in biotechnology, Methods in pharmacology and toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a vast number of laboratory handbooks, such as the Biomethods handbook, the Proteomics handbook, and the Springer laboratory manuals.


5. Cold Spring Harbor Protocols    

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is an interdisciplinary journal providing a definitive source of research methods in cell, developmental and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, computational biology, immunology, neuroscience, and imaging.


6. Data analysis

To familiarize yourselves with the quantitative and qualitative analysis tools, please explore the book list available in HKUL.  SPSS and Nvivo are also installed on some PCs in the Main Library. Explore the libguide on NVivo to learn more.