Skip to Main Content

Urban Design

This guide is created to support the Master of Urban Design programme

Core Databases

Avery index to architectural periodicals indexes more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide, focusing on subjects such as archaeology, city planning, interior design, historic preservation, and architecture.

JSTOR provides full-text online access to thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources across various disciplines, including urban design.

ProQuest offers access to a wide range of journals, newspapers, and dissertations, making it a valuable resource for urban design research.

RIBA Library Online Catalogue includes an extensive collection of resources related to architecture and urban design, including books, journals, and other materials. It also features a biographical database of British architects.

Sage journals online hosts a variety of journals publised by Sage, covering topics related to urban studies, planning, and design.

Taylor and Francis Online provides access to numerous academic journals, including those focused on urban studies and design making it sueful for locating both theoretical and practical articles in the field.

Web of Science encompasses a wide range of journals and allows users to track citations and impact factors, making it useful for identifying key articles in urban studies and design.

Wiley online library offers access to a broad selection of journals, including those on urban design, planning, and related disciplines.

To view a complete list of databases, please click here.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is available to search across worldwide publisher’s webpage, databases, and resources. However, the online resources in Google scholar may not come with full text. Follow the below steps to configure Google Scholar to HKUL:

► Step 1. Go to the settings page of Google Scholar
► Step 2. Click on Library links
► Step 3. Enter "HKU" into the search box
► Step 4. Choose "The University of Hong Kong: View It@HKUL"
► Step 5. Save the settings

Google scholar_step 1 - 5

► Step 6. When you search in Google Scholar, you will see the link View It@HKUL against each record. Click on this link to check for full text availability through HKU Libraries.

Guidelines for evaluation

CARE

  • Currency: Timeliness of the information and date of the publication
  • Accuracy and authority: reliability and correctness of the content
  • Relevance: Relatedness to your topic
  • Equitable and impartial: Whether it’s fact, opinion or propaganda