Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Find@HKUL: FAQ

Learn a few tips and tricks to help you easily find information on Find@HKUL.

FAQ

Q: What is meant by Peer-reviewed Journals?

A: Please look at this book chapter.


Q: Can I search for everything that are available in the databases subscribed by the library by Find@HKUL?

A: FIND@HKUL is a tool for discovering indexed information, it does not guarantee access to all full text articles retrieved.

In fact, full text accessibility depends on a number of contributing factors such as subscription coverage, source of the article, and occasional changes to the subscription platform and configuration on the vendor’s side.

In many cases, the external changes are beyond the Libraries’ knowledge and control.


Q: Can I have remote access to the ebooks and online articles subscribed by other local university libraries via Find@HKUL?

A: No. Remote access to non-HKUL electronic resources is restricted to the eligible users of the hosting libraries due to licensing agreement. Access to these electronic resources may be available within those libraries. You may apply for a JULAC card to visit and use the resources on-site.


Q: I am trying to access this article in the journal Asian Affairs - Maung Htin Aung, ‘Orwell of the Burma Police’, Asian Affairs (Routledge) 1973, vol. 4 no. 2, 181-186. I need a PDF of the article if possible, but so far I have not been able to find it.

A: HKUL does not subscribe to all online issues. Some old issues are available in print version only and you will not be able to discover the full text of these old issues at FIND@HKUL. 

You should perform a journal title search (scope ‘Books+’) and check the availability of bound journals.

 

The online subscription of HKUL does not cover the volumes published in 1973.

 

You should check the print copy i.e. the bound volumes for the article.


Q:  I cannot get a full text after clicking the 'Recent Findings from University of Hong Kong Provides New Insights into COVID-19 (Dominate Others, Hurt Self: Social Dominance Orientation Predicts Depression During the Covid-19 Pandemic)' in a Find@HKUL record.

A:  This record is a news article from an e-news database. Some of the databases do not provide direct link to the individual articles. You can search in the database by the article title to get the full text. 


Q: A journal I read often is called 'Area' which is hard to find because the word is so common? How can I find it?
A: Search  'Area' in Advanced Search and restrict material type to 'Journals'.