Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections: Western Sinology

Internet Resources

China Studies (Western languages)

Southeast Asia Visions a collection of European travel accounts of pre-modern Southeast Asian from Cornell University Library’s John M. Echols Collection

e-Asia provided by the University of Oregon Libraries, it contains a collection of digitized e-books and full-text database for the research and scholarship of East Asia

World Digital Library developed by the U.S. Library of Congress, it provides cultural treasures from around the world

NewspaperSG provided by the National Library of Singapore, it is an online resource of current and historic English newspapers published in Singapore and Malaya between 1831-2006. News coverage includes China and Hong Kong

Chinese Maritime Customs resources being part of the Chinese Maritime Customs Project run by Department of Historical Studies of the University of Bristol, it contains useful datasets and resources for studying the Chinese Maritime Customs Service

An authentic account of an embassy from the King of Great Britain to the Emperor of China / George Staunton, 2nd ed., corr. [extra-illustrated] 1798 [by HKU Libraries]

Old photos of China, these are the images taken from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office Photographic Collection (CO 1069)

Google Books Search

Google Book Search