Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Geography

Subject Specific Databases

Databases User Guide
Agricultural & environmental science database - Abstracts and citations for environmental sciences from over 10,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. User guide
Geobase - Bibliographic information and abstracts for development studies, earth sciences, ecology, geomechanics, human geography, and oceanography from almost 2,000 international journals, including both peer-reviewed titles and trade publications. The years cover from 1994 to present. It is part of Engineering village. Access and Use Support Center
GeoRef - the American Geological Institute's geoscience database containing over 3.6 million records of North America since 1666, and other areas of the world since 1933. EBSCOhost online tutorials
ICPSR data - Managing a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences, and holding 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.  
JSTOR sustainability - Including a wide range of journals, E-books, and research reports in the field of sustainability, and exploring broadly on the subjects of resilience and sustainability, and cover research on environmental stresses and their impact on society. JSTOR Support
Social explorerIt is an online research tool which designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The user-friendly interface allows users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change. It also offers features and tools to meet the needs of both demography experts and novices. Help Center
Waters & oceans worldwide - produced by NISC, combines databases on all facets of international and African water
 research. Included in the aggregation are six of the world's major water resource databases: WATERLIT, The Freshwater Biological Association Catalogue (FBA), The International Water Management Institute Database (IWMI), AQUAREF, AQUIRE, and Delft Hydro Database.
EBSCOhost online tutorials

To view more databases on Geography, please click here.

 

E-News Databases

Databases User guide
Factiva - Worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data. User guide
ProQuest newspapers, International newsstand - A collection of more than 660 of the world's top newspapers and wire feeds. User guide
WiseNews - A database of full-text newspaper clippings with search capabilities. Hong Kong newspapers cover 1998 onwards. China, Taiwan and Macau's newspapers cover from 2000. WiseSearch User guide
中國重要報紙全文數據庫 Includes full text of 400 China newspapers.  
台灣新聞智慧網 - Provides article searching for Lian he bao, Lian he wan bao, Jing ji ri bao, Min Shang bao, Zhongguo Shi bao, Zhong yang ri bao, Gond Shang shi bao, Ren jian fu bao, Zhonghua ri bao, Ping duo ri bao, Zhi you shi bao, Xing bao.Provides article searching for 聯合報,聯合晚報, 經濟日報, 民生報, 中國時報, 中央日報, 工商時報, 人間福報, 中華日報,蘋果日報, 自由時報, 星報. User guide

To view more e-news databases, please click here.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Databases User guide
EBSCOhost - The site includes databases available from EBSCOhost, such as Academic Search premier, ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials, Business Source Complete, CIHAHL Plus, Communication & Mass Media Complete, MAS Ultra-School Edition, Primary search, ERIC, Serials directory, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia and EBSCO Animals. Online tutorials
ProQuest - Periodicals and newspapers articles from over 5,000 publications in various subject disciplines, with many in full text. User guide
ScienceDirect - A database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1,000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet. It also contains abstracts from the core journals in the major scientific disciplines. Support Center
ScopusThe database offers access to 14,200 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 international publishers. Support Center
Web of science - Composed of Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. It provides access to over 12,000 leading journals. Some of the articles have direct links to full text. Help
中國知​網 - 此數據庫是一個大型動態知識總庫,目前擁有中國大陸8200多種期刊、700多種報紙、600多家博士培養單位優秀博碩士學位論文等等各類知識資源。  

To view more key databases, please click here.