Skip to Main Content

European Studies: Databases

Subject guide to European Studies resources for study or research of the subject

Quick Links

To view complete list of materials related to European Studies, please select from below:

Core Databases

CIAO : Columbia International Affairs Online The Columbia University Press provides information about its online database entitled Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO). CIAO is a regularly-updated database consisting of scholarly papers of university research institutes, papers of non-governmental organizations, and proceedings from conferences.

EBSCOhost research databases The site includes databases available from EBSCOhost, such as Academic Search premier, ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials, Business Source Complete, CIHAHL Plus, Communication & Mass Media Complete, MAS Ultra-School Edition, Primary search, ERIC, Serials directory, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia and EBSCO Animals.

Eighteenth century collections online A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. When completed, the full collection will include nearly 150,000 titles and more than 33,000,000 pages of searchable material.

EUR-Lex EU law database. Parliamentary questions The PARLQ file, as provided through the CELEX database, contains references to written and oral questions submitted by Member of the European Parliament members to the Council and Commission at question time.

European research papers archive Provides a common access point for online working paper series from the: Online publications on european research of the European University Institute ; Harvard Jean Monnet working paper series; Discussion papers and working papers of the Max Planck Institute for the study of societies; European integration online papers (EIoP); and Working papers of ARENA (Advanced research on the eruopeanisation of the nation-state). Papers included from these series are limited to those dealing with aspects of European integration.

Humanities index This database is an international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, covering over internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.

‚ÄčJSTOR Provides fulltext online access to electronic archive of scholarly journal literature, with an emphasis on the retrospective conversion of selected journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. The site also provides access to selected ebooks.

MLA international bibliography This database is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926. The electronic version includes the Bibliography's entire print run and currently contains more than 2 million records.

Oxford reference online The database brings together 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works published by the Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource.

To view a complete list of databases, please click here.