Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Comparative literature: Journals and Databases

Subject guide to Comparative literature resources for study or research of the subject

Multi-disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of the most relevant full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it is the leading source of peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more. It includes more than 8800 full text journals.

Bibliography of Asian studies contains 787,165 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present... In addition to entries compiled since 1997, the online BAS includes the full data of all of the printed volumes of the BAS issued from the 1971 up to the 1991 volumes (published in 1997)... Through the 1991 printed volume, the BAS included citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Monographs published since 1992, however, have not been added to the database, and users seeking such monographs are urged to consult other general resources and databases such as WorldCat.

Historical abstracts contains annotated bibliographic references to books, articles, and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Indexes the world's literature in history and the related topics, social sciences and humanities. Also includes in-process English-language article entries prior to their completion and inclusion in the print and CD-ROM versions.

JSTOR provides fulltext online access to electronic archive of scholarly journal literature, with an emphasis on the retrospective conversion of selected journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. The site also provides access to selected ebooks.

MLA international bibliography is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926. The electronic version includes the Bibliography's entire print run and currently contains more than 2 million records.

Web of science covers over 12,000 journals from 256 categories from 1900 and has direct links to full text and library holdings information. It also includes over 148,000 proceedings from the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops and conventions worldwide.

Core Databases

Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of the most relevant full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it is the leading source of peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more. It includes more than 8800 full text journals.

Arts & humanities citation index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. It provides access to current information and retrospective data from 1975 forward.

Early English Books Online reproduces works listed in : Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection. Additionally, the Early English Books Tract Supplement provides an exceptional perspective on many aspects of 16th and 17th-century British life. It is useful for most research requirements of graduate scholars in the areas of English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, and the fine arts.

Eighteenth century collections online is a a comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. When completed, the full collection will include nearly 150,000 titles and more than 33,000,000 pages of searchable material.

Essay and general literature index is a bibliographic database that cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Essay and General Literature Index focuses on the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film.

JSTOR provides fulltext online access to electronic archive of scholarly journal literature, with an emphasis on the retrospective conversion of selected journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. The site also provides access to selected ebooks.

Literature online is a searchable database of more than 260,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key secondary sources. Offers a number of search methods, including searching by authors, works or keywords, browsing by authors and works, and searching secondary sources.

Literature resource center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. Scribner Writer's Series includes 15-20 page signed essays on more than 1,600 authors and literary genres drawn from 13 acclaimed Scribner print series. Twayne World, US, and English Authors each contains the full text of 200 frequently used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors, for a total of 600 full-text titles.

LitFinder contains Poems, an international collection of poetry featuring poems, poem citations, and excerpts from antiquity to the present; Stories, an online collection of short stories from the classic to the most contemporary, featuring thousands of full-text short stories, plus explanations of stories; Essays, a collection of full-text essays and discursive writing based on books published from 16th-20th centuries; Plays, a collection of over a 1,200 English and English translation complete plays; and: Speeches, a collection of oratory from antiquity to modern times. Each database contains biographies and pictures and offers multiple search options.

MLA international bibliography is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926. The electronic version includes the Bibliography's entire print run and currently contains more than 2 million records.

Oxford bibliographies. Cinema and media studies includes a dizzying array of subfields: film studies, television studies, media studies, visual arts, cultural studies, digital culture, game studies, film and media history, popular culture, and the study of the moving image.

Oxford bibliographies. Renaissance and reformation is an innovative online reference tool for doing online research on different aspects of the period of renaissance and Reformation.

Project Muse: scholarly journals online provides access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. A brief bibliographic description of each title is given.

To view a complete list of databases, please click here.

Internet Resources

AFI : American Film Institute presents the American Film Institute (AFI), located in Los Angeles, California. Highlights activities of the AFI's National Film Theater in Washington, D.C. Notes employment opportunities with AFI and offers access to press releases from AFI.

British Film Institute aims at developing greater understanding and appreciation of film, television and the moving image. It develops educational and cultural programs throughout the UK. Its site provides reviews, journal articles and features on many media topics as well as links to film and media resources. The Feature section includes the BFI 100, a selection of the best British films of the past 20 years. Provides a link to the book catalog of the BFI National Library.

Film literature index annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles. The FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001. You can search the citations or browse by subject headings, browse by person names, browse by production titles, or browse by corporate names.

The Internet movie database covers more than 100,000 movies and contains over a million and half filmography listings for actors, producers, directors and others associated with film making. It contains plot summaries, character names, movie ratings, years of release, movie trivia, quotes, goofs, soundtracks, production companies, distributors, special effects companies, languages, reviews, Academy Award information, plus loads of other information relating to the motion picture industry.

Library of CLCWeb is a comprehensive website of information and research tools for work in comparative literature and culture. Includes general and specialised bibliographies, international directory of comparatists, and listings of comparative literature oriented journals and ejournals.

Literary criticism databank : 文學批評資料館 is a bilingual site that aims to introduce local English departments' students ways of applying English literary theories to literary and cultural text criticisms, especially in the context of the Taiwanese society. It also serves as an open space for further studies by providing in-depth analyses of theoretical issues and by inviting discussions and paper contributions. Maintained by the English Department at Fu Jen University.

Project Gutenberg contains a collection of 194 public domain English language literature and historical documents from Project Gutenberg. This collection represents some of the most commonly used and referenced works of literature.