Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Philosophy: Databases

Subject guide to Philosophy resources for study or research of the subject

Quick Links

To view complete list of materials related to Philosophy, please select from below:

Core Databases

Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. It provides access to current information and retrospective data from 1975 forward.

Cambridge companions online contains The Cambridge companions to literature and classics,The Cambridge companions to philosophy, religion and culture and The Cambridge companions to music.

Electronic enlightenment is a searchable and browseable database offering extensive access to the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the long eighteenth century and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers. Coverage includes letters and documents, document sources such as manuscripts and early printed editions, scholarly annotations, and links to biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, newspapers, and other online resources.

Humanities index is an international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, covering over internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.

Oxford bibliographies. Philosophy offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on philosophy. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.

Oxford scholarship online contains the full text of over 1,150 Oxford books in the areas of Economics and Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion.

Past masters includes scholarly complete editions or selections from classics in philosophy, political science, and economics.

Philosopher's index offers informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology and book reviews.

POIESIS : philosophy online serials provides full-text online access to a growing number of philosophy journals, including articles, book reviews, footnotes, announcements, and notices. More than 60 journals have been licensed for the project and the database will ultimately contain 100 philosophy journals and UMI's collection of philosophy dissertation abstracts.

漢達文庫: CHANT (CHinese ANcient Texts) is a browsable and searchable database of Chinese classical works and excavated ancient documents. 漢達文庫收錄中國傳世文獻 (包括先秦兩漢, 魏晉南北朝)及出土文獻 (包括甲骨文,金文,竹簡帛書).

 

To view a complete list of databases, please click here.