|
Learning and Research Services HKUL
|
Dear Students and Staff,
The HKU GLAM Collections program has launched! The new collaborative platform that empowers students to co-create transformative, innovative projects using GLAM collections — fostering creativity, cultural impact, and future-ready skills through interdisciplinary partnerships. To learn about the GLAM Collections, we have the digital copy from our kick-off session for details.
To become a GLAM Storyteller, we have designed Phase 1 workshops to equip participants with the essential skills in curation, pedagogy, and design that to create teaching objects in Phase 2. Workshops are open to all HKU students and staff.
To be eligible for Phase 2, you must complete two key steps:
Phase 1 Workshop Schedule and Registration
1. How do you make an ancient object tell its story? Learn how to curate object-based exhibitions to develop a 'curatorial voice' and communicate effectively with the public.
2. Preserving the Past, Inspiring the Future with Libraries Get exclusive, behind-the-scenes access to HKU's most treasured items and learn how preservation inspires new teaching opportunities. All participants will get a special souvenir of the latest library collection at the end of the workshop.
3. Design Thinking: Build Something People Want Discover how to apply the principles of design thinking to create innovative and user-centered educational projects.
4. Smarter Search with RAG: Enhancing Library Digital Repositories Learn how to build a custom chatbot that leverages your own specialized data with the power of large language models in our hands-on RAG workshop.
5. A rock that doesn’t belong there: A hands-on workshop on pedagogical design Learn the fundamentals of object-based learning and curriculum design in this creative, hands-on session.
Spaces for the confirmed workshops are limited, so please register early to secure your spot.
If you need help or guidance, feel free to reach out to The Project Clinic by emailing us at helloprojectclinic@gmail.com and we can support your journey in creating your teaching objects and projects. For general enquiries, please email the University Libraries at: libis@hku.hk
Best regards, |
Learning and Research Services HKUL
Dear Staff and Students,
Please find the training event by covidence in October 2025 below:
New to evidence synthesis? This webinar will introduce the most common review types – systematic literature reviews, scoping reviews, rapid reviews, umbrella reviews, narrative reviews and more. Learn when and why to use each, with practical tips to help you plan your review.
Webinar by covidence – Which Review Is Right for You? Understanding Review Types in Research
- Date: 02/10/2025
- Time: 11:00pm (HKT)
- Online via Zoom
- Registration: [https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/1617553069712/WN_3s8qDQDKQBmHlkiFN08IEQ#/registration]
For enquiries, please directly contact the respective publisher(s).
Learning and Research Services
HKU Libraries
Disclaimers:
The training session(s) or event(s) is/are organised by the corresponding publisher(s). Any enquiries should be directly addressed to the corresponding publisher(s) respectively.
Information collected by the publisher(s) for training session(s) or event(s) is NOT subject to the Privacy Policy of the HKU Libraries.
The HKU Libraries shall not be held responsible for any dispute, loss or damage which may arise as a result of using the information provided on this page.
Learning and Research Services HKUL
Message from Asahi Shimbun
Asahi Shimbun will be performing system maintenance during the following dates and times (Hong Kong time):
September 17, 2025 (Wednesday) 17:00-18:30 During this time, the search service for the optional "Historical Photo Archive" may be unavailable for up to about 10 minutes.
September 24, 2025 (Wednesday) 18:00-19:00 You can still access Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search during the maintenance, but the system might temporarily be unstable.
Learning and Research Services HKUL
Dear Staff and Students,
Please find the training event by Karger in September 2025 below:
Open research and data management are essential for building trust, enabling collaboration, and increasing the impact of your work. This free session offers practical tools to make your research more transparent, reproducible, and aligned with ethical and open science standards.
Campus by Karger – Data Sharing & Transparency: Best Practices for Reproducible Research
- Date: September 18, 2025
- Time: 9:00pm - 10:00pm (HKT)
- Online
- Registration: https://go.karger.com/Campus_Data_Sharing_and_Transparency
For enquiries, please directly contact the respective publisher(s).
Learning and Research Services
HKU Libraries
Disclaimers:
The training session(s) or event(s) is/are organised by the corresponding publisher(s). Any enquiries should be directly addressed to the corresponding publisher(s) respectively.
Information collected by the publisher(s) for training session(s) or event(s) is NOT subject to the Privacy Policy of the HKU Libraries.
The HKU Libraries shall not be held responsible for any dispute, loss or damage which may arise as a result of using the information provided on this page.
Message from Michigan Publishing
Beginning at 6:00pm HKT on Friday September 12, the Fulcrum platform will undergo scheduled maintenance of its database backend. The maintenance window is expected to last approximately 2 hours, but actual disruption of service is expected to last only a few minutes.
This outage will affect the following collections hosted on Fulcrum:
- ACLS Humanities Ebook (HEB)
- British Archaeological Reports Digital Collection (BAR)
- University of Michigan Ebook Collection (UMPEBC)
- Big Ten Open Books
- Lived Places Publishing
Thank you for your patience. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Message from MedDRA
The Web Change Request Tool (WebCR), Self-Service Application (SSA), and the Mapping Change Request tool (MapCR) applications will be unavailable for three hours from 9:00 PM on 20 Sep to 12:00 AM on 21 Sep (HKT) due to maintenance.
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Message from Turnitin
Turnitin will take a 6-hour maintenance from 23:00 HKT on 25 October to 05:00 HKT on 26 October, with the following services being impacted during these times: :
We regret any inconvenience this may cause.