HKU Libraries Blog

Are you looking to enhance your research experience with generative AI?

HKU Libraries is excited to announce a trial for Scopus AI, a generative AI tool that helps you research more efficiently. Developed by Elsevier, Scopus AI is built into the Scopus database. In this blog post, we will introduce the key features of Scopus AI.

1. Trustworthy Summaries: Scopus AI synthesizes abstracts relevant to your research query from a vast collection of over 29,200 peer-reviewed journals, providing clear and digestible summaries. The tool always lists the references used to build your summary to minimize hallucinations (incorrect or fabricated answers).


2. Comprehensive Concept Maps: Utilizing keywords from research abstracts, Scopus AI generates a "Concept map" that provides a bird's-eye view of the topic space. This feature helps you gain a better understanding of your research question and its relation to other research areas, particularly when conducting interdisciplinary research or exploring new fields.


3. Expert Discovery: The "Topic experts" feature identifies top researchers in the selected research area and presents a summary of their work and, drawing from more than 19.6 million author profiles in Scopus. In line with the key GenAI development principles, Scopus AI explains why each individual was selected to ensure transparency.


4. Research Suggestions: Scopus AI goes a step further by proposing "Go deeper" questions, encouraging in-depth exploration and prompting new research inquiries. Moreover, the "Foundational papers" feature offers a list of high-impact papers, directing you to the core knowledge of any subject.

A demonstration to use Scopus AI

Don't miss the opportunity to explore Scopus AI during the trial period, which lasts until April 17, 2024.

Begin your trial today by visiting Scopus http://find.lib.hku.hk/record=alma991012748039703414 and share your feedback about this resource via Email-A-Librarian (To: Information Search).

Happy researching!

Message from Turnitin

Turnitin will take a 5 hour maintenance window on April 20 (Sat) 22:00 HKT to April 21 (Sun) 03:00 HKT with the following services being unavailable during these times:

• Originality (including all Integrations)
• SimCheck (including Integrations)
• Similarity (including Integrations)
• Turnitin Core API (including Integrations)
• Crossref Similarity Check
• Draft Coach
• Authorship
• iThenticate 2.0
• Canvas Plagiarism Framework
• Integrations through LTI 1.3

The following will be available but may have disruptions in service during the maintenance:

• Turnitin and TurnitinUK (including all Integrations)
• Roster Sync through Turnitin.com
• Feedback Studio for iOS
• iThenticate
• iThenticate (via API)
• Gradescope (Exporting Submissions, LTI 1.3 & Code Similarity Only)

We regret any inconvenience this may cause.

HKU Libraries (HKUL) has been trying to maintain subscription to the People's Daily online database (人民日報圖文數據庫) despite a significant price hike in 2023. Due to continuous budgetary constraints, HKUL may be unable to further renew the subscription to the database beyond 31 March 2024.

Library users are encouraged to retrieve your needed information from the affected database by 31 March 2024 which is the expiration date of our current subscription term. Please be reminded that excessive downloading is prohibited, among other prohibited uses, could lead to consequences according to the library policy.

Alternatively, users may access the People's Daily through other online electronic resources, such as:

- The People's Daily website, which provides free access to the latest issues of the newspaper.

- The China Core Newspapers Full-text Database, which provides clippings of the People's Daily from 2000 to present.

We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause and appreciate your understanding.

For enquiries, please Email-a-Librarian (To: Information Search)

HKU Libraries

可能暫停訂閱人民日報圖文數據庫

儘管2023年價格大幅上漲，香港大學圖書館一直努力維持對人民日報圖文數據庫的訂閱。但基於有限的預算及持續的價格上漲，香港大學圖書館難以維持自2024年4月1日以後的資料庫訂閱。

我們鼓勵圖書館使用者在 2024 年 3 月 31 日（我們目前訂閱期限的到期日）之前從受影響的資料庫中檢索所需資訊。 請注意，根據圖書館政策，禁止過度下載以及其他禁止使用，可能會導致後果。

使用者也可以透過其他線上電子資源存取《人民日報》，例如：

- 人民日報網站，免費提供最新一期報紙。

- 中國核心報紙全文資料庫，提供2000年至今人民日報剪報。

對於由此造成的任何不便，我們深表歉意，並感謝您的理解。

如有查詢，請向圖書館員發送電子郵件（至：資訊搜尋）

香港大學圖書館

 

Dear Colleagues and Students,

You are invited!

Under the Transformational Agreement between HKU Libraries and Wiley, HKU’s researchers can publish open access in Wiley and Hindawi journals at no cost to yourselves. Details can be found at: https://libguides.lib.hku.hk/openaccess/ta#s-lib-ctab-22053619-8

Join the webinar for an introduction of the benefits of open access and a walk-through of the Wiley Author Services workflows when submitting open access Article Publication Charge (APC) coverage requests.

Publishing Open Access in Wiley and Hindawi Journals under Wiley and JULAC’s Transformational Agreement

Date: 19 March 2024 (Tuesday)

Time: 12:30 – 1:30 pm

Venue: Online via GoToWebinar

Highlights:  

• Benefits of open access publishing

• Specifications of the transformational agreement and what these mean for authors

• Wiley Author Services workflows when submitting open access Article Publication Charge (APC) coverage requests

• Preparing your manuscript, selecting a journal and submitting a paper

• What the peer review and production processes entail

• Author resources we offer for support through the publication process

• Publication ethics

Register now: https://register.gotowebinar.com/register/6959264726329750624  

Don't miss out on this opportunity to explore how the transformational agreement empowers your publishing journey.

If you have questions, please Ask-a-Librarian: https://lib.hku.hk/check_form/ask_a_librarian-form/ (To: Library Training)

Best regards,

Learning and Research Services  
HKU Libraries

Dear Staff and Students,

Are you familiar with the library-subscribed online textbook platform known as Wiley Digital Textbooks?

Participate in this online quiz to assess your proficiency in using online textbooks in the Platform. By completing a few questions, you may have a chance to win a prize.

Eligible participants: Current HKU staff and students

Period: 4 – 17 March 2024 (until 23:59)

Prizes: USD $20 e-Gift Voucher

Follow the simple steps below to participate:

Step 1: Create a Wiley account

1. Visit the Libraries' homepage via https://lib.hku.hk/ and click on Electronic Resources
2. Click on the letter “W” to find "Wiley digital textbooks" and log in with your HKU Portal account.
3. At the Wiley digital textbooks platform, register a user account with your HKU email address.

Step 2: Check out a book on the platform and finish the online quiz via  https://bit.ly/QuizFeb24

For enquiries, please Email-A-Librarian: https://lib.hku.hk/infoservices/email.html (To: Library Training).

Best regards,
Learning and Research Services
HKU Libraries