HKU Libraries Blog

Scheduled Journals Maintenance

On 29 July 2022 starting at 12 noon HKT, the journals platform will be unavailable for around 45 minutes due to maintenance work. We will do everything we can to minimize any downtime.

Feel free to contact Customer Support with any questions by sending an email to support@ovid.com.

華藝系統停機公告

華藝電子書服務站台預計於：2022/07/30 (六) 00:00 - 2022/07/31 (日) 23:59，進行機房不斷電系統線路年度更換作業，屆時將暫停前台網頁及APP的連線及服務，造成不便之處，敬請見諒！暫停服務期間，若您有任何使用問題，請與客服人員聯繫，我們將儘快回覆處理。

客服信箱：service@airiti.com

We wanted to alert you of planned maintenance that will include some downtime on 23 and 30 July 2022. During the hours of 9PM and 1AM (HKT) on each of the dates, users will experience approximately two hours of downtime and will be unable to access the IEEE Xplore Digital Library platform.

We apologize for any inconvenience. Please contact us if you have any questions at onlinesupport@ieee.org

The Libraries is pleased to introduce a newly subscribed resource, Wiley Digital Textbooks, to our staff and students.

What is Wiley Digital Textbooks?

It is a flexible digital content library solution with access to over 20,000 industry-leading titles and exclusive academic textbooks curated.

How does Wiley Digital Textbooks support your teaching?

Teaching faculty may:

1. Check if your course textbooks or readings are found in the platform.
2. Add the item in your ReadingList or inform your students with the URL of the textbook, e.g. Global Marketing Management.
3. Students will be able to access the e-textbook via the platform accordingly.

Note: Only selected titles will be available after 1st Jan 2023. Inform your subject librarian of the selected titles for your courses if you wish to use them in the second semester.

How to access Wiley Digital Textbooks?

1. Access via this library record: http://find.lib.hku.hk/record=alma991044516610503414
2. Register a user account. Refer to the image below for a quick guide.
3. Check this PDF guide to learn the platform features.

Training session:

Topic: Wiley Digital Textbooks: Platform Training for Instructors
Date: 3 August 2022 (Wednesday)
Time: 1-2pm
Venue: Zoom
Speaker: Ms. Yen Sing Tan, Customer Success Specialist, Wiley
Registration: https://lib.hku.hk/cgi-bin/course/list_gp_m.cgi?category=08
Agenda:

• Introduction
• Live Demo

1. Account registration
2. Platform walkthrough

• Q&A

For enquiries, please contact Learning and Research Services at libis@hku.hk.

Learning and Research Services
HKU Libraries

MSSO Servers Scheduled Downtime

The MedDRA WebCR application will be unavailable for eight hours from Saturday, 16 July, 9:00 PM to 5:00 AM, 17 July Hong Kong Time due to maintenance.

Dialog Scheduled Maintenance: July 2022

A routine maintenance is scheduled for the Dialog Platform in July.

The Dialog maintenance window will be from 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. on Sunday, July 17th, 2022 (HKT). During this period Dialog will not be available to search and new content loading will be paused.

Alerts scheduled during this time period will be delayed. However, new content loading will resume immediately after the maintenance window. All content not delivered during the maintenance window will arrive in your next alert after the downtime concludes.

The Libraries is promoting featured resources, such as subject-specific databases or digitized collections which may be suitable for research and study, on a monthly basis. The database of this month is about science and technology.

Try SciTech Premium Collection (http://find.lib.hku.hk/record=HKU_IZ61543250870003414) to discover comprehensive scholarly research and technical literature in science and technology subjects.

The SciTech Premium Collection in ProQuest databases includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases. It provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more.

Click here to view the past database of the month.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Extra:

Learn the tips and tricks for using other key engineering databases. Check out the videos below:

• IEEE Xplore: Search Strategies to Maximize Your Research Experience
• Inspec Indexing Search and Inspec Analytics for Your Research Advancement

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

For enquiries, please contact Learning and Research Services at libis@hku.hk.

Learning and Research Services

HKU Libraries