Music Collection has collected Beethoven facsimile editions containing sketchbooks and autographs, which range from a few bar sketches to works of String Quartets or the finale of a symphony. In addition to the bibliography, online access to a Review of the facsimile edition is included, when available. Selected readings of Scholarly Studies on Beethoven sketches and facsimiles & Online Resource provide in-depth analysis of the works and further information respectively.
|
|
Ein Skizzenbuch zu den Diabelli-Variationen und zur Missa solemnis, SV 154. [A sketch book of 33 Variations on a waltz by Anton Diabelli, op120 and Missa solemnis] Bonn: Beethovenhaus, 1968. Call Number: MuR 780.262 B41 v5 I/33 2 Volumes Volume 1: Transcription by Joseph Schmidt-Görg Volume 2: Facsimile Review by Robert Winter Journal of the American Musicological Society, Vol. 28, No. 1 (Spring, 1975), pp. 135-138. |
|
|
|
An die ferne Geliebte. [To the Distant Beloved] Song Cycle Liederkreis von Alois Jeitteles Op. 98 Faksimile nach dem im besitz des Bonner Beethovenhauses Befindlichen original Munchen: G. Henle, 1970. Call Number: MuR 784.3 B41 a5 score
|
|
|
|
Autograph miscellany from circa 1786 to 1799: British Museum Additional Manuscript 29801, ff. 39-162 (The Kafka sketchbook). Edited by Joseph Kerman London: British Museum, 1970. Call Number: MuR 780.81 B41 K3 Volume 1: Facsimile Volume 2: Transcription
|
|
|
|
Sinfonie Nr. 9, d-Moll, op. 125. [Symphony No. 9, D Minor, op. 125] Leipzig: Peters, 1975. Call Number: MuR 785.1 B41 no9 P score
|
|
|
|
Sonate für Klavier und Violine: G-dur, opus 96. [Violin Sonata, G Major, opus 96] München: G. Henle Verlag, 1977. With a Final Note by Martin Staehelin Call Number: MuR 787.1 B41 s6 no10 score
|
|
|
|
Kesslersches Skizzenbuch: vollständiges Faksimile des Autographs. [Kessler Sketchbooks] Bonn: Beethovenhaus, 1978. Call Number: MuR 780.262 B41 v5 I/5 2 Volumes Volume 1: Transcription by Sieghard Brandenburg Volume 2: Facsimile Reviewed by Richard Kramer, Journal of the American Musicological Society, Vol. 33, No. 3 (Autumn, 1980), pp. 596-601
|
|
|
|
Sämtliche Kadenzen = The complete cadenzas. Zürich: Eulenburg, 1979. Edited by Willy Hess Call Number: MuR 785.6 B41 c7 score Works include Concerto in C op.15, Concerto in B flat op.19, Concerto in C minor op.37, Concerto in G op.58,
Piano arrangement of the Violin Concerto op.61, and Mozart's Piano Concerto in D minor KV 466.
|
|
|
|
String quartet opus 59 no. 1: first “Razumovsky” quartet, in F major.
London: Scolar Press, 1980.
General Editor: Alan Tyson
Call Number: MuR 785.724 B41 op59 no1 score Review by: Richard Kramer, 19th-Century Music, Vol. 6, No. 1 (Summer, 1982), pp. 76-81
|
|
|
|
String quartet opus 59 no. 2: Second “Razumovsky” quartet, in E minor. London: Scolar Press, 1980. Introduction by Alan Tyson Call Number: MuR 785.724 B41 op59 no2 score Review by: Richard Kramer, 19th-Century Music, Vol. 6, No. 1 (Summer, 1982), pp. 76-81
|
|
|
|
Violin sonata in G major, op. 30, no. 3. London: British Library, 1980. With an introduction by Alan Tyson Call Number: MuR 787.1 B41 s6 op30/3 score Review by Richard Kramer, 19th-Century Music, Vol. 6, No. 1 (Summer, 1982), pp. 76-81
|
|
|
|
9. Symphonie, Op. 125: Skizzen zum Finale, “Freude schöner Götterfunken,” “Alle Menschen werden Brüder”:Faksimile des Autographs
[Symphony No.9, Op. 125: Sketches of Finale “Joy, Beautiful divine spark”, “What fashion has rigidly sundered”] Wien: Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde, 1983. Call Number: MuR 784.1840262 B41 s9 op125 score
|
|
|
|
Klaviersonate in C-dur op. 53 (Waldstein-sonate): Faksimile-Ausgabe des im Beethoven-Haus Bonn befindlichen
Autographs; mit einem Vorwort ... in Neuauflage hrsg. von Martin Staehelin. [Piano Sonata in C Major op. 53 (Waldstein)] Bonn: Beethovenhaus, 1984. With an Introduction by Martin Staehelin Call Number: MuR 786.41 B41 op53 score
|
|
|
|
Sechs Bagatellen für Klavier op. 126: Faksimile der Handschriften und der Originalausgabe mit einem Kommentar. [6 Bagatelles for Piano op. 126] Bonn: Beethovenhaus, 1984. Call Number: MuR 786.41 B41 op126 2 volumes Volume 1: Autograph and sketches Volume 2: Original version, Transcription, Commentary Review by David B. Levy, Notes Second Series, Vol. 44, No. 3 (Mar., 1988), pp. 555-557 |
|
 |
Klaviersonate A-dur opus 101: Faksimile nach dem Autograph im Besitz des Beethoven-Hauses Bonn [Piano sonata A major, op. 101] München: Henle, 1998 Call no.: MuR 786.2183 B41 s6 op.101 score Commentary by Sieghard Brandenburg in German and English
|
|
|
|
Fünfte Symphonie, c-Moll, Opus 67: Faksimile nach dem Autograph in der Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin Preussischer
Kulturbesitz. [Symphony No. 5, C Minor, Opus 67] Laaber: Laaber-Verlag, 2002. Mit einem Kommentar herausgegeben von Rainer Cadenbach Call Number: MuR 784.2184 B41 no.5 M score
|
|
|
|
Artaria 195: Beethoven's sketchbook for the Missa solemnis and the Piano sonata in E major, opus 109. Transcribed, edited, and with a commentary by William Kinderman Urbana, Ill: University of Illinois Press, 2003. Call Number: MuR 780.262 B41 a7 3 Volumes Volume 1: Commentary Volume 2: Facsimile Volume 3: Transcription |
|
|
|
A sketchbook from the year 1821 (Artaria 197): sketches for the Agnus Dei and other movements of the Missa solemnis, the piano sonatas op. 110 and op. 111, and the canon WoO 182. Edited by William Drabkin Bonn: Verlag Beethoven-Haus, 2010. Call Number: MuR 780.262 B41 s4 Bd.8 score Volume 1: Facsimile Volume 2: Transcription and commentary Reviewed by Nicholas Marston, Nineteenth-Century Music Review, 10, (2013), pp. 174-178
|
|
|
|
Sinfonie no. 9, op. 125 : autograph, Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, Preussischer Kulturbesitz, Beethoven- Haus Bonn, Bibliothèque nationale de France [Symphonies, no. 9, op. 125, D minor] Kassel : Bärenreiter, 2010 Call Number: MuR 784.2184 B41 s9 no.9 L8 score Commentary 'The Ninth: Past and Present' by Lewis Lockwood 'Composing the Ninth' by Jonathan Del Mar 'The Checkered History of a Manuscript' by Martina Rebmann (in English, German and Japanese) |
|
|
|
Streichquartett a-Moll, op. 132 : Vollständige Faksimileausgabe der Handschrift Mus.ms.autogr. Beethoven Mend.-Stift. 11 der Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin-Preussischer Kulturbesitz [String Quartet A minor op. 132] München: Henle, 2011 Call no.: MuR 785.7194 B41 q1s op.132 S Preface by András Schiff Introduction by Ernst Herttrich in German and English |
|
|
|
Missa solemnis: op.123: Autograph Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin Preussischer Kulturbesitz Kassel: Bärenreiter, 2016. Call Number: MuR 782.5323 B41 m6 score In English and German Commentary
|
|
|
|
Streichquartett B-Dur op. 130 ; Grande Fugue : B-Dur op. 133 Kassel: Bärenreiter, 2019. Call Number: MuR 785.7194 B41 q1s op.130 K score In English and German Commentary |
|
|
|
Konzert für Klavier und Orchester, Nr. 3 c-Moll, opus 37 Laaber : Figaro-Verlag 2018 Call Number: MuR 784.262186 B41 c7 op.37 S3 score Preface and commentary in German and English. |
|
|
|
Sinfonie Nr. 7, A-Dur, op. 92 Laaber : Figaro-Verlag 2017 Call Number: MuR 784.2184 B41 no.7 K8 score Foreword and introduction in German and English. |
|
|
|
33 Veränderungen C-Dur über einen Walzer von Anton Diabelli : für Klavier op. 120 = 33 variations in C major on a waltz by Anton Diabelli : for piano op. 120 Bonn : [Stuttgart] : Verlag Beethoven-Haus ; Carus 2010 Call Number: MuR 786.21825 B41 v4 V score Part 1: Facsimile of the Autograph Part 2: Facsimile of the Original Edition (Dedication copy) and Commentaries Commentary in German and English. |
|
 |
Klaviersonate cis-Moll op. 27 Nr. 2 : "Mondschein-Sonate"
Bonn: Verlag Beethoven Haus Call Number: MuR 786.2183 B41 s6 op.27 no.2 score Facsimiles of autograph BH 60 in the Beethoven-Haus, surviving sketches, and original edition. |
|
 |
Sonate für Violoncello und Klavier op. 69. 1. Satz : Faksimile des Autographs NE 179 im Beethoven-Haus Bonn = Sonata for violoncello and piano op. 69. 1. movement : facsimile of autograph NE 179 in the Beethoven-Haus Bonn
Bonn: Verlag Beethoven Haus Call Number: MuR 787.4183 B41 s6 no.3 score New critical edition, with commentary in German and English. |
Selected Monographs/ Book chapters
Cooper, Barry.
Beethoven and the creative process.
Oxford [England]: Clarendon Press, 1990.
Call Number: Music 780.92 B41 C77
Drabkin, William.
Beethoven, Missa solemnis.
Cambridge [England]: Cambridge University Press, 1991.
Call Number: X 782.3232 B41 m6 D7
Drabkin, William.
Kinderman, 14-19.
San Jose State University, 1991.
Call Number: Music 780.92 B41 K5
Isham Library Conference, Christoph Wolff, and Robert Riggs.
1979.
Cambridge, Mass: Dept. of Music, Harvard University, 1980.
Call Number: Music 785.70471 W8
Johnson, Douglas Porter.
“The Artaria Collection of Beethoven Manuscripts: A New Source,” In Beethoven Studies, edited by Alan Tyson, 174-236.
New York: W.W. Norton, 1973.
Call Number: Music 780.92 B41 T
Johnson, Douglas Porter.
Beethoven’s Early Sketches in the ‘Fischhof Miscellany’: Berlin Autography 28. (Volumes I and II). Ph.D. diss., University of California, Berkeley. 1978.
Ann Arbor, Mich. : UMI Research Press, 1980.
Call Number: X 780.943B B41 J66 v.1-2
Johnson, Douglas Porte.
Tyson, edited by Alan Tyson and Sieghard Brandenburg, 225-35.
Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1998.
Call Number: Music 780.9033 H41 B8
Johnson, Douglas Porter, Alan Tyson, and Robert Winter.
The Beethoven sketchbooks: history, reconstruction, inventory.
Berkeley: University of California Press, 1985.
Call Number: X 780.943B B41 J
Kramer, Richard.
“The Sketch Itself” In Beethoven's compositional process, edited by William Kinderman, 3-5.
Jose State University, 1991.
Call Number: Music 780.92 B41 K5
Nottebohm, Gustav, and Gustav Nottebohm.
Two Beethoven sketchbooks: a description with musical extracts.
London: Gollancz, 1979.
Call Number: X 780.943B B41 N9
Winter, Robert.
Forbes, Lewis Lockwood, and Phyllis Benjamin, 217-250.
Cambridge, Mass: Harvard University Department of Music, 1984.
Call Number: Music 780.92 B41 L
Selected Journal Articles
Drabkin, William. 1972. “Some relationships between the autographs of Beethoven's sonata in C minor, opus 111.” Current Musicology 13: 38-47.
Drabkin, William. 1993. “The Sketches and Autographs for the Later Movements of Beethoven’s Missa solemnis.”Beethoven Forum 2, no. 1: 97-132.
Drabkin, William. 2007. “The Songs and the Sketches for the Allegro molto from Beethoven’s Op. 110.” Beethoven Forum 14, no. 1:44-72.
Elliot, Patricia. 1990. “Studies in Beethoven Bibliography: A History and List of the ‘Lost Berlin’ Beethoven Music Manuscripts.” Beethoven Newsletter 5: 1-7.
References
Klein, Hans-Günter.
Ludwig van Beethoven: Autographe und Abschriften: Katalog.
Berlin: Merseburger, 1975.
Call Number: MuR 016.78092 B41 K
Dorfmüller, Kurt, and Georg Kinsky.
Beiträge zur Beethoven-Bibliographie: Studien und Materialien zum Werkverzeichnis von Kinsky-Halm.
München: Henle, 1978.
Call Number: MuR 016.78092 B41 D6
The Beethoven bibliography database is an open source and a fully-indexed bibliography of published (and selected unpublished) materials relating to Ludwig van Beethoven. It contains over 10,000 records and much indispensable information on Beethoven. Materials included in the Database come from the Center's own rich collection of books, first and early editions of scores, manuscripts (originals and facsimiles), and periodical articles.
