Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Speech & Hearing Sciences

This guide highlights the library resources available in the field of Speech and Hearing Sciences.

Find Articles

The databases listed below can be used to find journal articles and other research sources related to different aspects of Speech & Hearing Sciences. You will often need to look in more than one database. The full list of databases can be accessed here.

Biomedical/Health science

  • Biological Abstract (biosis)
  • CINAHL Plus - Find articles related to nursing & allied health.
  • Cochrane Library - A collection of databases that contain evidence based research, including systematic reviews, to inform healthcare decision-making for clinical treatment decisions.
  • ComDisDome - Bibliographic indexing and abstracting tool covering the communications disorders literature, with focus on speech-language pathology and audiology.
  • MEDLINE
  • PubMed

Linguistics/Language

Education

Psychology

Multi-disciplinary

Others

If you are looking for journal articles but you are not sure which database to start your research, try Find@HKUL, it searches the majority of the library databases at once.

Follow the steps below to find journal articles in Find@HKUL.

 Step 1. Go to Find@HKUL and type in keywords or the article title e.g. Curriculum Inquiry

 Step 2.  Select the search scope “Articles+”


 Step 3. On the right panel of the page, refine results to “Peer-reviewed Journals”. You may also refine results by publication year range in the box “Year”

 Step 4.

Click Download PDF” which gives a direct PDF download to the article (This option is only displayed given that a direct path to PDF is available)

Click “Full text available” to view the full text of the article

Click “View Issue Contents” which links to the table of contents of the issue where the article was published.


 Step 5. Click the article title to view the Altmetrics information of the article (if available). "An approach called altmetrics—short for alternative metrics—aims to measure Web-driven scholarly interactions, such as how often research is tweeted, blogged about, or bookmarked." Chronicle of Higher Education

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Search results from Google Scholar do not always come with full-text but you can change the setting in your Google Scholar to link the search results to the Library’s subscribed databases.  If the resources are available within the Library's subscriptions, the icon "View It@HKUL" will allow you to access the full text from the databases.

Follow the steps below to configure your Google Scholar settings:

 Step 1. Go to http://scholar.google.com and click on “Settings”

 Step 2. Click on "Library Links" on the left

 Step 3. Enter "HKU" in search box

 Step 4. Select "The University of Hong Kong - View It@HKUL"

 Step 5. “Save” the settings

Find Journals

AAC: Augmentative and Alternative Communication

It publishes scientific articles related to the field of augmentative and alternative communication.
American Journal of Speech Language Pathology

It is a quarterly, peer-reviewed journal of clinical practice for speech-language pathologists and speech and language researchers.
Annals of Dyslexia

It is dedicated to the scientific study of dyslexia, its comorbid conditions; and theory-based practices on remediation, and intervention of dyslexia and related areas of written language disorders, including spelling, composing and mathematics.
Aphasiology

It provides a forum for the exchange of knowledge and the dissemination of current research and expertise in all aspects of aphasia and related topics, from all disciplinary perspectives.
ASHA Leader

It provides news you can use and showcases the latest research and practice advances in communication sciences and disorders.
Brain and language

It covers the large variety of modern techniques in cognitive neuroscience, including lesion-based approaches as well as functional and structural brain imaging, electrophysiology, cellular and molecular neurobiology, genetics, and computational modeling.

Brain Impairment

It addresses topics related to the aetiology, epidemiology, treatment and outcomes of brain impairment with a particular focus on the implications for functional status, participation, rehabilitation and quality of life.
Clinical Linguistics & Phonetics 

It encompasses topics related to different areas, such as linguistics and phonetics of disorders of speech and language, contribution of data from communication disorders to theories of speech production and perception, and clinical dialectology and sociolinguistics.
Contemporary Issues in Communication Science and Disorders

It was the biannual, peer-reviewed journal of National Student Speech Language Hearing Association (NSSLHA).
Dyslexia

It provides reviews and reports of research, assessment and intervention practice in the field of dyslexia.
Dysphagia

It provides an international source of information to physicians and other health professionals interested in this emerging field.
IEEE/ACM Transactions on Audio, Speech and Language Processing

It covers audio, speech and language processing and the sciences that support them.
International Journal of Language & Communication Disorders

It provides a forum for the exchange of information and discussion of issues of clinical or theoretical relevance on all aspects of speech, language, communication disorders and speech and language therapy.
International Journal of Speech-Language Pathology

It is an international journal which promotes discussion on a broad range of current clinical and theoretical issues.
Journal of Child Language

It publishes articles on all aspects of the scientific study of language behaviour in children, the principles which underlie it, and the theories which may account for it.
Journal of Communication Disorders

It publishes original articles on topics related to disorders of speech, language and hearing.
Journal of Fluency Disorders

It provides comprehensive coverage of clinical, experimental, and theoretical aspects of stuttering, including the latest remediation techniques.
Journal of Medical Speech-Language Pathology

It publishes peer-reviewed clinical and research articles, clinical notes, tutorials, dialog, and letters that are relevant to clinicians and researchers interested in human communication and its disorders as it is studies and practiced in a health care or medical orientation.
Journal of Neurolinguistics

It is an international forum for the integration of the neurosciences and language sciences.
Journal of Phonetics

It publishes papers of an experimental or theoretical nature that deal with phonetic aspects of language and linguistic communication processes.
Journal of Speech, Language and Hearing Research

It publishes peer-reviewed research and other scholarly articles on the normal and disordered processes in speech, language, hearing, and related areas such as cognition, oral-motor function, and swallowing.
Journal of the Acoustical Society of America

It is the leading source of theoretical and experimental research results in the broad interdisciplinary subject of sound.
Journal of Voice

It is widely regarded as the world's premiere journal for voice medicine and research.
Language and Cognitive Processes

It publishes both high quality, theoretically-motivated cognitive behavioural studies of language function, and papers which integrate cognitive theoretical accounts of language with its neurobiological foundations.
Language, Speech, and Hearing Services in Schools

It publishes peer-reviewed research and other scholarly articles pertaining to the practice of audiology and speech-language pathology in the schools, focusing on children and adolescents.
Quarterly Journal of Speech

It publishes original scholarship and book reviews that take a rhetorical approach to diverse texts, discourses, and cultural practices through which public beliefs, norms, identities, institutions, affects, and actions are constituted, empowered, enacted, and circulated.
Seminars in Speech and Language

It is a topic driven review journal that covers the entire spectrum of speech language pathology.
Topics in Language Disorders

It is a double-blind peer-reviewed journal that has as its major purposes to bring together professionals who have a clinical interest in language and its disorders, and clarify the application of theory to practices in the treatment, rehabilitation, and education of individuals with language disorders.

Follow the steps below to search for a known journal title in Find@HKUL.

 Step 1. Go to Find@HKUL and type in the journal title e.g. Action in Teacher Education. Select the search scope “Books+”.


 Step 2.

Click “Online access” to view the full-text at the database

Click “View Journal Contents” which shows the table of contents of the current issue of the journal