Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special and Inclusive Education

This guide highlights the library resources available in the field of Special and Inclusive Education as well as Gifted Education.

Find Articles

If you are looking for journal articles but you are not sure which database to start your research, try Find@HKUL, it searches the majority of the library databases at once.

Follow the steps below to find journal articles in Find@HKUL.

 Step 1. Go to Find@HKUL and type in keywords or the article title e.g. Curriculum Inquiry

 Step 2.  Select the search scope “Articles+”


 Step 3. On the right panel of the page, refine results to “Peer-reviewed Journals”. You may also refine results by publication year range in the box “Year”

 Step 4.

Click Download PDF” which gives a direct PDF download to the article (This option is only displayed given that a direct path to PDF is available)

Click “Full text available” to view the full text of the article

Click “View Issue Contents” which links to the table of contents of the issue where the article was published.


 Step 5. Click the article title to view the Altmetrics information of the article (if available). "An approach called altmetrics—short for alternative metrics—aims to measure Web-driven scholarly interactions, such as how often research is tweeted, blogged about, or bookmarked." Chronicle of Higher Education

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Search results from Google Scholar do not always come with full-text but you can change the setting in your Google Scholar to link the search results to the Library’s subscribed databases.  If the resources are available within the Library's subscriptions, the icon "View It@HKUL" will allow you to access the full text from the databases.

Follow the steps below to configure your Google Scholar settings:

 Step 1. Go to http://scholar.google.com and click on “Settings”

 Step 2. Click on "Library Links" on the left

 Step 3. Enter "HKU" in search box

 Step 4. Select "The University of Hong Kong - View It@HKUL"

 Step 5. “Save” the settings

Core Journal Titles

Annals of Dyslexia

It publishes original empirical studies, significant review, and well-documented reports of evidence-based effective practices.
British Journal of Special Education

It covers the whole range of learning difficulties relating to children in mainstream and special schools.
Education and Training in Autism and Developmental Disabilities

It focuses on the education and welfare of persons with autism and developmental disabilities.
International Review of Research in Open and Distance Learning

It is a refereed, open access e-journal that disseminates original research, theory, and best practice in open and distributed learning worldwide.
Journal of Early Intervention

It offers articles related to research and practice in early intervention for infants and young children with special needs and their families.
Journal of Learning Disabilities

It provides specials series, feature articles, research articles, and intervention articles.
Journal of Research in Special Educational Needs

It is an established online forum for the dissemination of international research on special educational needs.
Journal of Special Education

It provides research articles and scholarly reviews on special education for individuals with mild to severe disabilities.
Remedial and Special Education

It offers interdisciplinary articles that bridge the gap between theory and practice involving the education of individuals for whom typical instruction is not effective.
Teaching Exceptional Children

It features research-to-practice information and materials for classroom use, as well as current issues in special education teaching and learning.
Exceptional Children

It publishes research, research reviews, methodological reviews of literature, data-based position papers, and policy analyses on the education and development of children and youth with exceptionalities

Gifted and Talented International

It publishes original research, theoretical studies, systematic literature review papers or accounts of practice.

 

Gifted Child Quarterly

It publishes original research and new and creative insights about giftedness and talent development in the context of the school, the home, and the wider society.

High Ability Studies

The journal is concerned with aspects of development, personality, cognition, social behaviour and cross-cultural issues in relation to high ability.

 
Journal for the Education of the Gifted

It offers information and research on the educational and psychological needs of gifted and talented children.

Follow the steps below to search for a known journal title in Find@HKUL.

 Step 1. Go to Find@HKUL and type in the journal title e.g. Action in Teacher Education. Select the search scope “Books+”.


 Step 2.

Click “Online access” to view the full-text at the database

Click “View Journal Contents” which shows the table of contents of the current issue of the journal