Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Social Science Education

This guide highlights the library resources available in the field of Social Science Education.

Find Articles

The databases listed below can be used to find journal articles and other research sources related to different aspects of Social Science Education. You will often need to look in more than one database. The full list of databases can be accessed here.

If you are looking for journal articles but you are not sure which database to start your research, try Find@HKUL, it searches the majority of the library databases at once.

Follow the steps below to find journal articles in Find@HKUL.

 Step 1. Go to Find@HKUL and type in keywords or the article title e.g. Curriculum Inquiry

 Step 2.  Select the search scope “Articles+”


 Step 3. On the right panel of the page, refine results to “Peer-reviewed Journals”. You may also refine results by publication year range in the box “Year”

 Step 4.

Click Download PDF” which gives a direct PDF download to the article (This option is only displayed given that a direct path to PDF is available)

Click “Full text available” to view the full text of the article

Click “View Issue Contents” which links to the table of contents of the issue where the article was published.


 Step 5. Click the article title to view the Altmetrics information of the article (if available). "An approach called altmetrics—short for alternative metrics—aims to measure Web-driven scholarly interactions, such as how often research is tweeted, blogged about, or bookmarked." Chronicle of Higher Education

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Search results from Google Scholar do not always come with full-text but you can change the setting in your Google Scholar to link the search results to the Library’s subscribed databases.  If the resources are available within the Library's subscriptions, the icon "View It@HKUL" will allow you to access the full text from the databases.

Follow the steps below to configure your Google Scholar settings:

 Step 1. Go to http://scholar.google.com and click on “Settings”

 Step 2. Click on "Library Links" on the left

 Step 3. Enter "HKU" in search box

 Step 4. Select "The University of Hong Kong - View It@HKUL"

 Step 5. “Save” the settings

Find Journals

British Journal of Sociology of Education

It publishes high quality original, theoretically informed analyses of the relationship between education and society, and has an outstanding record of addressing major global debates about the social significance and impact of educational policy, provision, processes and practice in many countries.
Chinese Education & Society

It identifies important studies and reflects the state of empirical research on education policies and practices within China's changing society.
International Sociology

It is a peer-reviewed journal publishes contributions from diverse areas of sociology, with a focus on international and comparative approaches.
International Studies in Sociology of Education

It publishes original papers of international significance which present creative, rigorous research and critical perspectives in the sociology of education.
Journal of Applied Social Science

It publishes research articles, essays, research reports, teaching notes, and book reviews on a wide range of topics of interest to the social science practitioner.
Journal of Social Science Education

It is an international peer-reviewed academic open access journal in the area of research on teaching and learning in the field of social science education.
Pedagogy, Culture & Society

It is a fully-refereed international journal that seeks to provide an international forum for pedagogy discussion and debate.
Social Education

It is a peer-reviewed, flagship journal that contains a balance of theoretical content and practical teaching ideas.
Social Science Research

It publishes articles that illustrate the use of quantitative methods to empirically test social science theory.
Sociology of Education

It publishes research that examines how social institutions and individuals' experiences within these institutions affect educational processes and social development.
Teaching Sociology

It publishes articles range from experimental studies of teaching and learning to broad, synthetic essays on pedagogically important issues.

Follow the steps below to search for a known journal title in Find@HKUL.

 Step 1. Go to Find@HKUL and type in the journal title e.g. Action in Teacher Education. Select the search scope “Books+”.


 Step 2.

Click “Online access” to view the full-text at the database

Click “View Journal Contents” which shows the table of contents of the current issue of the journal