Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Science & Information Management

This guide highlights the library resources available in the field of Library Science & Information Management.

Find Articles

The databases listed below can be used to find journal articles and other research sources related to different aspects of Library Science & Information Management. You will often need to look in more than one database. The full list of databases for finding Library & Information Science materials can be accessed here.

If you are looking for journal articles but you are not sure which database to start your research, try Find@HKUL, it searches the majority of the library databases at once.

Follow the steps below to find journal articles in Find@HKUL.

 Step 1. Go to Find@HKUL and type in keywords or the article title e.g. Curriculum Inquiry

 Step 2.  Select the search scope “Articles+”


 Step 3. On the right panel of the page, refine results to “Peer-reviewed Journals”. You may also refine results by publication year range in the box “Year”

 Step 4.

Click Download PDF” which gives a direct PDF download to the article (This option is only displayed given that a direct path to PDF is available)

Click “Full text available” to view the full text of the article

Click “View Issue Contents” which links to the table of contents of the issue where the article was published.


 Step 5. Click the article title to view the Altmetrics information of the article (if available). "An approach called altmetrics—short for alternative metrics—aims to measure Web-driven scholarly interactions, such as how often research is tweeted, blogged about, or bookmarked." Chronicle of Higher Education

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Search results from Google Scholar do not always come with full-text but you can change the setting in your Google Scholar to link the search results to the Library’s subscribed databases.  If the resources are available within the Library's subscriptions, the icon "View It@HKUL" will allow you to access the full text from the databases.

Follow the steps below to configure your Google Scholar settings:

 Step 1. Go to http://scholar.google.com and click on “Settings”

 Step 2. Click on "Library Links" on the left

 Step 3. Enter "HKU" in search box

 Step 4. Select "The University of Hong Kong - View It@HKUL"

 Step 5. “Save” the settings

Find Journals

College and Research Libraries

It is the official scholarly research journal of the Association of College & Research Libraries, and it highlights a new College and Research Libraries study with a free, live, expert panel comprised of the study's authors and additional subject experts.
Ethics and Information Technology

It is a peer-reviewed journal dedicated to advancing the dialogue between moral philosophy and the field of information and communication technology.
European Journal of Information Systems

It provides a distinctive European perspective on the theory and practice of information systems, benefiting a global audience.
Information and Organization

It publishes original scholarly articles on the relationships between information technologies and social organization.
Information Processing & Management

It is a leading international journal focusing on publishing peer-reviewed original research concerning theory, methods, or application in the field of information science.
Information Retrieval

It provides an international forum for the publication of theory, algorithms, and experiments across the broad area of information retrieval.

Information Systems Research

It is a leading peer-reviewed, international journal focusing on theory, research, and intellectual development for information systems in organizations, institutions, the economy, and society.
Information Technology and Libraries 

It publishes material related to all aspects of information technology in all types of libraries.
Information Technology and People

It is a source for emerging ideas which broadens the understanding of information technology and its relation to people.
Informing Science

It is a peer-reviewed journal that publishes scholarly articles that provide an understanding of the complexities in informing clientele.
International Journal of Digital Library Services

It is an open access International peer-reviewed online indexed journal in the field of Library and Information Science.
International Journal on Digital Libraries

It examines the theory and practice of acquisition, definition, organization, management, and dissemination of digital information via global networking.
Journal of Academic Librarianship

It is an international and refereed journal, publishes articles that focus on problems and issues germane to college and university libraries.
Journal of Education for Library and Information Science

It supports scholarly inquiry in library and information science (LIS) education by serving as the primary venue for the publication of research articles, reviews, and brief communications about issues of interest to LIS educators.
Journal of Information Literacy

It is an international, peer-reviewed journal that aims to investigate information literacy in all its forms to address the interests of diverse information literacy communities of practice.
Journal of Information Science

It is an international journal of high repute covering topics of interest to all those researching and working in the sciences of information and knowledge management.
Journal of Information Technology

It is a top-ranked journal in its field, focused on new research addressing technology and the management of information technology.
Journal of Informetrics

It publishes rigorous high-quality research on quantitative aspects of information science.
Journal of Librarianship and Information Science

It is the peer-reviewed international quarterly journal for librarians, information scientists, specialists, managers and educators interested in keeping up to date with the most recent issues and developments in the field.
Journal of Library Administration

It informs readers on research, current developments, and trends related to the leadership and management of libraries.
Journal of Library Metadata

It is a forum for the latest research, innovations, news, and expert views about all aspects of metadata applications and about the role of metadata in information retrieval.
Journal of the Association for Information Science and Technology

It publishes original research that focuses on the production, discovery, recording, storage, representation, retrieval, presentation, manipulation, dissemination, use, and evaluation of information and on the tools and techniques associated with these processes.
Knowledge Management Research & Practice

It is a vehicle for high-quality, peer-reviewed articles addressing all aspects of managing knowledge, from the individual to the organizational levels, from the profession to the nation.
Library & Information Science Research

It is a cross-disciplinary and refereed journal, focuses on the research process in library and information science as well as research findings and, where applicable, their practical applications and significance.
Library Hi Tech

It is concerned with technology-assisted information systems that support libraries & cultural memory, education & the academy, health & medicine, and government & citizenship.
Library Quarterly

It embraces a wide array of original research perspectives, approaches, and quantitative, qualitative, evaluative, analytic, and mixed methodology to assess the role of libraries in communities and in society.
MIS Quarterly : Management Information Systems

It is concerned with the development of IT-based services, the management of IT resources, and the use, impact, and economics of IT with managerial, organizational, and societal implications.
OCLC Systems and Services

It publishes research related to the curation and web-based delivery of digital objects collected for the advancement of scholarship, teaching and learning.
Performance Measurement and Metrics

It is a leading double-blind refereed, international journal, charting new qualitative and quantitative developments and techniques for measurement and metrics in information environments.
Records Management Journal

It provides research and contemporary practice on the people, process and systems/technology aspects of managing records and information in organizations.
Research Evaluation

It is an interdisciplinary peer-reviewed, international journal, and its subject matter is the evaluation of activities concerned with scientific research, technological development and innovation.

Follow the steps below to search for a known journal title in Find@HKUL.

 Step 1. Go to Find@HKUL and type in the journal title e.g. Action in Teacher Education. Select the search scope “Books+”.


 Step 2.

Click “Online access” to view the full-text at the database

Click “View Journal Contents” which shows the table of contents of the current issue of the journal