Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

IT in Education

This guide highlights the library resources available for Educational Technology and IT in Education.

Find Articles

The databases listed below can be used to find journal articles and other research sources related to different aspects of Educational Technology and IT in Education. You will often need to look in more than one database.The full list of databases for finding Library & Information Science materials can be accessed here.

If you are looking for journal articles but you are not sure which database to start your research, try Find@HKUL, it searches the majority of the library databases at once.

Follow the steps below to find journal articles in Find@HKUL.

 Step 1. Go to Find@HKUL and type in keywords or the article title e.g. Curriculum Inquiry

 Step 2.  Select the search scope “Articles+”


 Step 3. On the right panel of the page, refine results to “Peer-reviewed Journals”. You may also refine results by publication year range in the box “Year”

 Step 4.

Click Download PDF” which gives a direct PDF download to the article (This option is only displayed given that a direct path to PDF is available)

Click “Full text available” to view the full text of the article

Click “View Issue Contents” which links to the table of contents of the issue where the article was published.


 Step 5. Click the article title to view the Altmetrics information of the article (if available). "An approach called altmetrics—short for alternative metrics—aims to measure Web-driven scholarly interactions, such as how often research is tweeted, blogged about, or bookmarked." Chronicle of Higher Education

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Search results from Google Scholar do not always come with full-text but you can change the setting in your Google Scholar to link the search results to the Library’s subscribed databases.  If the resources are available within the Library's subscriptions, the icon "View It@HKUL" will allow you to access the full text from the databases.

Follow the steps below to configure your Google Scholar settings:

 Step 1. Go to http://scholar.google.com and click on “Settings”

 Step 2. Click on "Library Links" on the left

 Step 3. Enter "HKU" in search box

 Step 4. Select "The University of Hong Kong - View It@HKUL"

 Step 5. “Save” the settings

Find Journals

ACM Transactions on Computing Education

It covers diverse aspects of computing education: traditional computer science, computer engineering, information technology, and informatics; emerging aspects of computing; and applications of computing to other disciplines.
Australasian Journal of Educational Technology

It promotes research and scholarship on the integration of technology in tertiary education, promotes effective practice, and informs policy.
Computers & Education

It aims to increase knowledge and understanding of ways in which digital technology can enhance education, through the publication of high quality research, which extends theory and practice.
Education and Information Technologies

It covers the complex relationships between information and communication technologies and education.
IEEE Transactions on Learning Technologies

It covers research on such topics as Innovative online learning systems, intelligent tutors, educational software applications and games, and Simulation systems for education and training.
Informatics in Education

It publishes original articles about theoretical, experimental and methodological studies in the fields of informatics (computer science) education and educational applications of information technology, ranging from primary to tertiary education.

Interactive Learning Environments

It publishes articles on all aspects of the design and use of interactive learning environments in the broadest sense, encompassing environments that support individual learners through to environments that support collaboration amongst groups of learners or co-workers.

International Journal of Artificial Intelligence in Education 

It publishes papers and other items concerned with the application of artificial intelligence techniques and concepts to the design of systems to support learning.
International Journal of Computer-Supported Collaborative Learning

It fosters a deep understanding of the nature, theory, and practice of computer-supported collaborative learning.
International Journal of Game-Based Learning

It publishes the multidisciplinary research from fields that explore the cognitive and psychological aspects that underpin successful educational video games.
International Journal of Gaming and Computer-Mediated Simulations

It is a peer-reviewed, international journal devoted to the theoretical and empirical understanding of electronic games and computer-mediated simulations.
Internet and Higher Education

It is a peer-reviewed journal intended to be a vehicle for scholarly presentation and dissemination of contributions, significantly addressing innovative deployments and reporting on research to demonstrate the effects of the Internet and information technology on instruction in various contexts in higher education.
Journal of Computer Assisted Learning

It is an international peer-reviewed journal which covers the whole range of uses of information and communication technology to support learning and knowledge exchange.
Journal of Computing in Higher Education

It provides perspectives on instructional technology' s role in improving access, affordability, and outcomes of postsecondary education.
Journal of Interactive Online Learning

It focuses on providing a venue for manuscripts, critical essays, and reviews that encompass disciplinary and interdisciplinary perspectives in regards to issues related to higher-level learning outcomes.
Journal of Research on Technology in Education

It publishes original research, literature reviews and syntheses, and methodological reviews, policy analyses, and theoretical or conceptual positions that relate to the efficacy of instructional uses of educational technology.
Journal of Technology and Teacher Education

It serves as a forum for the exchange of knowledge about the use of information technology in teacher education.
Learning, Media and Technology

It seeks to include submissions that take a critical approach towards all aspects of education and learning, digital media and digital technology - primarily from the perspective of the social sciences, humanities and arts.
Research in Learning Technology

It publishes papers concerning the use of technology in learning and teaching in all sectors of education, as well as in industry.

Follow the steps below to search for a known journal title in Find@HKUL.

 Step 1. Go to Find@HKUL and type in the journal title e.g. Action in Teacher Education. Select the search scope “Books+”.


 Step 2.

Click “Online access” to view the full-text at the database

Click “View Journal Contents” which shows the table of contents of the current issue of the journal