Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English Language Education

This guide highlights the library resources available in the field of English Language Education.

Find Articles

The databases listed below can be used to find journal articles and other research sources related to English Language Education and English Literature. The full list of databases for Education Studies can be accessed here.

If you are looking for journal articles but you are not sure which database to start your research, try Find@HKUL, it searches the majority of the library databases at once.

Follow the steps below to find journal articles in Find@HKUL.

 Step 1. Go to Find@HKUL and type in keywords or the article title e.g. Curriculum Inquiry

 Step 2.  Select the search scope “Articles+”


 Step 3. On the right panel of the page, refine results to “Peer-reviewed Journals”. You may also refine results by publication year range in the box “Year”

 Step 4.

Click Download PDF” which gives a direct PDF download to the article (This option is only displayed given that a direct path to PDF is available)

Click “Full text available” to view the full text of the article

Click “View Issue Contents” which links to the table of contents of the issue where the article was published.


 Step 5. Click the article title to view the Altmetrics information of the article (if available). "An approach called altmetrics—short for alternative metrics—aims to measure Web-driven scholarly interactions, such as how often research is tweeted, blogged about, or bookmarked." Chronicle of Higher Education

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Search results from Google Scholar do not always come with full-text but you can change the setting in your Google Scholar to link the search results to the Library’s subscribed databases.  If the resources are available within the Library's subscriptions, the icon "View It@HKUL" will allow you to access the full text from the databases.

Follow the steps below to configure your Google Scholar settings:

 Step 1. Go to http://scholar.google.com and click on “Settings”

 Step 2. Click on "Library Links" on the left

 Step 3. Enter "HKU" in search box

 Step 4. Select "The University of Hong Kong - View It@HKUL"

 Step 5. “Save” the settings

Find Journals

Applied Linguistics

It aims to help make connections between fields, theories, research methods, and scholarly discourses, and welcomes contributions which critically reflect on current practices in applied linguistic research.
Bilingualism: Language and Cognition

It is an international peer-reviewed journal focusing on bilingualism from a linguistic, psycholinguistic, and neuroscientific perspective.
English For Specific Purposes

It is an international peer-reviewed journal that publishes researches on topics relevant to the teaching and learning of discourse for specific communities: academic, occupational, or otherwise specialized.
English Language and Linguistics

It is an international journal which focuses on the description of the English language within the framework of contemporary linguistics.
English Language Teaching Journal

A quarterly publication for all those involved in English Language Teaching (ELT), whether as a second, additional, or foreign language, or as an international Lingua Franca.
The Hong Kong Journal of Applied Linguistics

(has stopped publishing)

It is an international, blind-refereed journal which was active between 1996 and 2012 in publishing articles related to the learning and use of a second or foreign language, particularly English, by different first language background learners.

International Journal of Bilingual Education and Bilingualism

It is a multidisciplinary journal and focuses on all aspects of bilingualism and bilingual education around the world.
Journal of English for Academic Purposes

It provides a forum for the dissemination of information and views which enables practitioners of and researchers in EAP to keep current with developments in their field and to contribute to its continued updating.
Journal of English Linguistics

It provides in-depth research and analysis in a variety of areas, including history of English, English grammar, corpus linguistics, sociolinguistics, and dialectology.
Journal of Literacy Research

It is an interdisciplinary peer-reviewed journal that publishes research related to literacy and literacy education from preschool through adulthood.
Journal of Second Language Writing

It publishes theoretically grounded reports of research and discussions that represent a contribution to current understandings of central issues in second and foreign language writing and writing instruction.
Language and Education

It provides a forum for the discussion of recent topics and issues in language and literacy which have an immediate bearing upon thought and practice in education.
Language Learning

It is concerned with fundamental theoretical issues in language learning such as child, second, and foreign language acquisition, language education, bilingualism, literacy, language representation in mind and brain, culture, cognition, pragmatics, and intergroup relations.
Language learning and development

It serves as a vehicle for interaction among scholars and practitioners who investigate language learning, including language learning in infancy, childhood, and across the lifespan; language in both typical and atypical populations and in both native- and second-language learning
Language Resources and Evaluation

It is devoted to the acquisition, creation, annotation, and use of language resources, together with methods for evaluation of resources, technologies, and applications.
Language Teaching

It offers critical survey articles of recent research on specific topics, second and foreign languages and countries, and invites original research articles reporting on replication studies and meta-analyses.
Language Testing

It publishes original research on language testing and assessment. Since 1984 it has featured high impact papers covering theoretical issues, empirical studies, and reviews.
Linguistics and Education

It is concerned with the role played by language and other communicative/semiotic systems in mediating opportunities for learning and participation in a globalized world.
Literacy

It offers educators a forum for debate through scrutinising research evidence, reflecting on analysed accounts of innovative practice and examining recent policy developments.
Research in the Teaching of English

It is a broad-based, multidisciplinary journal composed of original research articles and short scholarly essays on a wide range of topics significant to those concerned with the teaching and learning of languages and literacies around the world, both in and beyond schools and universities.
Second Language Research

It publishes original theory-driven research concerned with second (and additional) language acquisition and second language performance.
Studies in Second Language Acquisition

It is a refereed journal of international scope devoted to the scientific discussion of acquisition or use of non-native and heritage languages.
Teachers and Teaching: Theory and Practice

It provides an international focal point for the publication of research on teachers and teaching, in particular on teacher thinking.
TESOL Quarterly

It encourages submission of previously unpublished articles on topics of significance to individuals concerned with English language teaching and learning and standard English as a second dialect.
The Modern Language Journal

It is dedicated to promoting scholarly exchange among researchers and teachers of all modern foreign languages and English as a second language.
World Englishes

It is an international journal committed to theoretical research on methodological and empirical study of English in global, social, cultural and linguistic contexts.
L1-Educational Studies in Language and Literature

It creates an international forum for research and discussion on the education in language and literature.

Follow the steps below to search for a known journal title in Find@HKUL.

 Step 1. Go to Find@HKUL and type in the journal title e.g. Action in Teacher Education. Select the search scope “Books+”.


 Step 2.

Click “Online access” to view the full-text at the database

Click “View Journal Contents” which shows the table of contents of the current issue of the journal